We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for your vacation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Santa Cruz
Ranked #41 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect place for your vacation!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stay there only 1 night in way to our vacation to Cancun, but it was excelent!! Very beautiful place wifhout tv & wifi, but with great interior in room & perfect garden/ swimming pool! Deeply recommend You this place!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krelle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
thank you very much for your commentary ....it is always a pleasure ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    25
    7
    3
    10
See reviews for
56
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

What a hidden treasure in Merida, Mexico!! Hacienda Santa Cruz was recommended by a local friend and I went there with some trepidation not knowing what to expect. Instead I encountered a Spanish colonial gem with a strong French influence thanks to the influence of its Parisian born owner Robert and manager Evelyne. The property is well maintained, not too large, and the rooms are immaculately furnished with coloured stucco with great attention to detail. A treat was my stay in a secluded room called "Violeta" that sported a private terrace and beautiful lavender decor. The smell of jasmine at night was intoxicating. Given that May was low season, Robert, the proprietor, allowed the guests to choose their favorite foods that the chef incorporated into the dinner menu. The hacienda will be my first choice on my next trip to Merida, away from the downtown hotels that seem more space constricted and less personal.

Room Tip: If a couple, choose a room with a private garden called Violeta. All rooms are beautiful though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
we are very happy that you enjoy your stay in the Hacienda santa cruz
the direction Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2012

If you want to have a lovely break during your trip in Yucatan, stay here!! Perfect set, perfect service, delicious restaurant... everything is done to make you feel comfortable, and the hacienda decoration brings you 2 centuries ago!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fertibob, Propietario at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
thanks a lot we apreciate your comentary ....muchas gracias Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Haciena Santa Cruz feels like it is out in the countryside despite being just a couple of kilometers from Merida's ring road so it is a great base for visiting many of the local attractions as well as the City of Merida itself.

We had imagined that the cuisine would be good based on the fact that it is owned by a French couple and it certainly lived up to our expectations. Carlos is the excellent chef and his evening meals were particularly memorable.

The entire place has a French feel while at the same time retaining aspects of a Yucatecan Hacienda that we enjoy so much. The rooms have a definite woman's touch and are very cozy and comfortable. Our bathroom was large with a very nice walk-in rain shower.

The grounds are spacious and there are two pool to enjoy as well as available massage services.

Mario was absolutely outstanding. He took our bags when we arrived, served us wonderful cocktails and was also the waiter. He even took a pair of shoes to be repaired in town and returned them as promised the very next day. He truly went above and beyond like so many of the local people we met on this trip.

On Mario's day off we met Raul who mixed the best mojitos we have ever sampled! Really superb and another example of incredibly warm, friendly local people.

There are many places to see and visit during your stay, but make sure you schedule some time to just enjoy the Hacienda and the wonderful hospitality of the owners, manager and staff.

We will be back!

Muchas gracias a todos por sus amables atenciones.

Room Tip: We only saw two rooms, both were quite different but also totally charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavedodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fertibob, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
thanks a lot ...it is true that we have a very good team and also the .....Best Mojito's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

The stay was great and I must say the property is beautiful and decorated with very good taste and charm. The french family that owns it is attentive to all details and makes you feel at home. It is also very well located close to Merida (20 min), so renting a car and driving is a perfect option. Points that could improve : the restaurant is a bit on the expensive side (but the food is great) and the breakfast could have more options.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and beautifully decorated
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank caiokugelmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fertibob, Owner at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, January 6, 2012
thank you for your review , it is always a pleasure to give satisfactions to our guests . we try to give you the best ....and more . happy new year for 2012 ( el año del mundo Maya)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2011

When we decided to go to Mexico for our Honeymoon, we wanted to start our trip by a beautiful and quiet place, where we could rest before starting siteseeing. The Hacienda Santa Cruz was the perfect choice. When you pass the front door, you enter in a little Heaven. It's beautiful, relaxing, magical. The swimming pools are gorgeous, the owners are very nice. We enjoyed early morning swim before a nice breakfast with fresh fruits everyday. The room was great, it was like having our own little house. The staff was very nice, smiling and helpful. Wifi was available, which is great when you wish to keep in touch with your family or business. The owners are very happy to advise on what to visit, which road to take, where to eat (and they are right, trust them and you'll discover great places). It was perfect, we loved it and will go back one day. My husband even left with a dream of having our own Hacienda ;-)
We definitely recommend

Room Tip: They are all great, but the casitas on the right side of the Hacienda are really perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berenicehermant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fertibob, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
thank you very much and I hope you will have your own hacienda in the future . take care Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2011

During the long, cold winter of 2010, my 91-year-old, globetrotting grandmother asked me if I would join her on warm weather holiday. Who can say no to that? Neither of us are Cancun types. We wanted to go somewhere we could explore a local scene. Grandglad had been to (and loved) Merida in younger days. Hacienda Santa Cruz beckoned with its lovely swimming pools, friendly French owners and beautifully appointed accommodations. We ended up staying two weeks--and Grandglad keeps talking about going back.

There's plenty to do. Merida itself has some interesting sights and great eats--we drove into town most days--it's not far by car. We enjoyed the Sunday dancing in the square so much that we went twice. One day, we drove out to a quite coastal village and had the most amazing ceviche. On another we hit Campeche for lunch and enjoyed seeing the colorful buildings. I visited the ruins Chichen Itza and Uxmal one day while Grandglad had an excellent massages from Anna. (She'd seen the ruins on previous visits and didn't have the stamina to walk that much.) We visited a museum that showed how haciendas like Santa Cruz actually worked.

The food at Hacienda Santa Cruz was always delicious. But the people really made our visit magical. Caroline, Robert (the owners) and their family were amazingly welcoming and generous--as was the entire staff. We feel in love with the whole crew.

One day when we were touring a local sight, Grandglad fell flat on her face, which required a somewhat harrowing trip to the hospital. Caroline met us there and helped navigate the medical system--a task to which my Spanish was not up. The doctor did a great job stitching Grandglad up, and though she looked like she had lost the fight, she was none the worse for the wear and ready for more adventure within a day or so. That night when we returned from the emergency room, we were greeted by the chef who had stayed late just so she could offer Grandglad a bowl of the house Chicken Tortilla soup.

The two rooms we stayed in were lovely and so well appointed. Charming, airy, colorful art painted by Caroline, splendid bathrooms. Grandglad is a longtime antiques dealer with an interest in modern design and french style. Caroline showed her a few open rooms. Grandglad gave them all a big thumbs up.

We both were so delighted by our stay that we want to share this place with everyone. It allows for a bit of everything. Retreat and adventure. Mexican culture and French style. Sweet people, all around. Grandglad and I will have to find a way to get back there. Our time there was magical. When you go, give a big hug to everyone from us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurencarpediem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fertibob, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
thank you very much for this kind commentary .....and long life to your grand ma
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merida
7.1 mi away
Hacienda Misne
Hacienda Misne
#25 of 103 in Merida
182 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
6.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
290 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Ticum
Hotel Hacienda Ticum
#2 of 2 in Tixkokob
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Santa Cruz

Property: Hacienda Santa Cruz
Address: Calle 86 s/n, Merida 97315, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Merida
#12 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#19 Luxury Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Santa Cruz 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1640, Hacienda Santa Cruz was formerly a Franciscan monastery, monks inhabited and ancient part of the hacienda "la casa principal". Nowadays Hacienda Santa Cruz is changed into a marvelous boutique hotel with its unique personality and well defined character. Well located , Hacienda Santa Cruz is within only 10km from the international airport , 12km from downtown and very close from the most important archeological and natural sites of the region "UXMAL; MAYAPAN and CHICHEN-ITZA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hacienda Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Santa Cruz Palomeque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing