We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, low cost”
Review of Hotel San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Juan
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Nashvillle
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Great location, low cost”
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We were very pleased with Hotel San Juan. The rooms were sparse, but very clean and the front desk staff tried to accomodate any needs and answer any questions.

The location was very near all the restaurants, parks and clubs.

If we find ourselves in Merida again, we will definitely stay at this hotel and spend our savings elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    40
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
27
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We had to walk out of the Galeria, and were delighted to find this place.

Rooms very clean, ideal location, great staff.

Only complaint is that the are around the pool is not kept very clean (although the pool itself is fine).

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2009

In July of '09 we went to Merida and stayed the first four days in a dump (recommended by several people on this site) and had to move. We had seen the Hotel San Juan, walked in, looked at the rooms and decided to move there. Wise choice. The rooms are very reasonable ($US 35), clean, spacious, AC, excellent maid service, everything always clean, nice pool (morning buffet for those who are interested) friendly staff (don't know about their English because we are fluent in Spanish), just an overall good deal for anyone staying in Merida.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flojos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2008

I have stayed at the Hotel San Juan more than a dozen times in the last six months. They are an excellent value and above average in every department. The lobby with its big chairs and courtyard is a nice place to relax. The rooms are not luxurious but very, very adequate and clean. The staff is very helpful which you would expect after talking to the owner of this family owned business. The location is the best in Mérida as it is close to the square and just enough distance from the busiest street in the city to be quiet at night. You are also close to a beautiful old church and a plaza with entertainment especially on Sunday afternoon. There is no place more secure and brings consistent service and the best value in the city! The only reason I didn´t mark it excellent is that I too have stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Cancun which I would give an excellent rating and the price is several times higher. Again, you can´t beat the value.

  • Liked — Secure and the price is right
  • Disliked — No problems with anything as it more than meets my needs.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JoJaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Probably the best deal in town. Great location, low rates, clean, a/c, pool and really nice place and people. Right down town and just can't beat it

  • Liked — The price
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VanessaLSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2008

I called the hotel to make a reservation. They asked me to send an email with all the information and I did it. They forward me with the confirmation. When I arrive to the hotel they had cancelled my reservation without notice leaving me without hotel and without any help in a city that I did not know. I was traveling for a wedding and I missed half of it because of them.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank viajera000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merida hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

I had stayed the night before in the Hotel El Flamingo where I was plagued by bed bugs and was looking for an inexpensive but clean hotel nearby. I was happy to find the Hotel San Juan. It was very clean and comfortable. It is centrally located. I only stayed one night but felt very comfortable there. The room is air conditioned and had a ceiling fan as well. I did notice that around the doors and windows there were gaps where mosquitoes could enter although I did not have any problems with this and did not notice any mosquitoes in the room.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — possible mosquito entry
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#50 of 103 in Merida
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Jose, Merida, Mexico
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#42 of 103 in Merida
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maison del Embajador
0.0 mi away
Las Americas
Las Americas
#80 of 103 in Merida
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Juan

Property: Hotel San Juan
Address: Calle 55 # 497-A, Merida, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing