We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice cheap hotel”
Review of Hotel San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Juan
Ranked #61 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice cheap hotel”
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Probably the best deal in town. Great location, low rates, clean, a/c, pool and really nice place and people. Right down town and just can't beat it

  • Liked — The price
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VanessaLSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    37
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
26
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2008

I called the hotel to make a reservation. They asked me to send an email with all the information and I did it. They forward me with the confirmation. When I arrive to the hotel they had cancelled my reservation without notice leaving me without hotel and without any help in a city that I did not know. I was traveling for a wedding and I missed half of it because of them.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank viajera000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merida hotels

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

I had stayed the night before in the Hotel El Flamingo where I was plagued by bed bugs and was looking for an inexpensive but clean hotel nearby. I was happy to find the Hotel San Juan. It was very clean and comfortable. It is centrally located. I only stayed one night but felt very comfortable there. The room is air conditioned and had a ceiling fan as well. I did notice that around the doors and windows there were gaps where mosquitoes could enter although I did not have any problems with this and did not notice any mosquitoes in the room.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — possible mosquito entry
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 10, 2006

I've read a review from last year on this hotel and have no idea what that person is talking about as this is a very clean hotel. I didn't see any trash by the pool or dirty sheets in our room. We had planned on staying next door at the Luz en Yucatan because we had stayed there before but they were full. The hotel San Juan had a great price, a/c, clean rooms and a nice pool. They are also close to the main plaza and there are a couple computers in the lobby with internet access. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2005

We stayed at the Hotel San Juan by chance, as we were evacuated from Isla Mujeres because of Hurricane Wilma. We did not plan on going to Merida, but were glad to be there. Hotel San Juan is in very close to the center of Merida where everything happens. The hotel was clean, had a pool, a place to eat breakfast and an internet connection (very impt. to us at the time) We stayed there a week during the Hurricane, then left and came back for a few more days. We ended up leaving because a large group of college students came and partied all night long. They then took over the pool area and it was like a frat party. We moved next door to Luz in Yucatan - a very different hotel than San Juan.
I would recommend staying at Hotel San Juan as long as a large group is not there. It is a great value. Ask for a discount if you are staying more than 2 days.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Retrodaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2005

We stayed at the Hotel San Juan for a slightly extended period during Hurricane Wilmer. The hotel was the best of our entire trip and great value. The room was clean, the shower was warm, the pool and patio area were a beautiful respite from the busy streets outside. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Our car was safe in a locked and guarded parking area. I can recomend Hotel San Juan without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thirdnormal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2005

Rooms dirty and full of mozzies....blood everywhere from previous guests squashing the little blighters!!
Not sure if they had changed the sheets as bed was full of hairs and stains.
Pool dirty....rubbish around pool area (empty bottles, toilet paper, paper,etc)
If they took more care in the cleaning department could be a nice to stay as it is central with a rather charming disposition.

Maybe we arrived on a bad day, but would advise to find another hotel .

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Dora7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#39 of 103 in Merida
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Jose, Merida, Mexico
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Suites Imperial
Suites Imperial
#89 of 103 in Merida
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Maya Yucatan
Best Western Maya Yucatan
#69 of 103 in Merida
177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#47 of 103 in Merida
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Juan

Property: Hotel San Juan
Address: Calle 55 # 497-A, Merida, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing