We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Merida Urban Marketplace”

Lucas de Galvez market
Ranked #32 of 113 things to do in Merida
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Merida Urban Marketplace”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We parked in a public lot for the day and walked toward the market. The neighborhood is full of stores selling every kind of merchandise and as we got closer it seemed more dense. Very dense marketplace consisting of stalls carrying every type of product and grocery from dried chilies and beans to just slaughtered chickens to shoes to live birds. We stopped at Taco Kanasin for people watching and good inexpensive tacos. It felt comfortable and safe but was crowded. If you find yourself claustrophobic in hot packed environments with narrow walkways, it won't be your favorite market experience. It's a nice example of the type of urban market one would want on a vacation from the US.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaelm90068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Colorful, chaotic, convivial; everything a mercado should be.”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We are market people and like nothing better than discovering local ingredients. This is a very large, very local market you really shouldn't miss. We discovered fruits we'd never heard of and the best and freshest salbutes (they would be called turkey gorditas in Texas) a local specialty in Merida. Bought some annato paste for cochinita pibil and a baseball cap to keep the sun off. We went twice. Markets are very photogenic so you'll want to bring your camera, general pictures of the market are fine, but if you want to get up close to a vendor you should smile big, complement their lovely display and ask permission first. If you buy something from them they will certainly have no problem, and men seem to be bigger hams than the women. If you are not used to markets, know these are crowded and you feel like you are getting lost in the stalls but somehow if you keep walking forward you will emerge onto a street that will get you back to the city center. So just smile, enjoy and keep moving forward.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RickandDanaTrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I admit, I like big busy market places. This one did not disappoint: lots of places to eat, meat market, fruits and vegetables, spices, clothing, leather, and much more. Though the place was busy it felt safe, and the vendors were friendly. We found a few good bargains in the process, too. If I were living in Merida this would be a regular place to shop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank djbpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely Must See”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We didn't find this until the final day in Merida and so wish we had started here. It's huge and almost all indoors. We found fish, beef, poultry, vegetables, fruit, animals, shoes, religious paraphernalia, hardware, medicinals and more. It's not exactly obvious where it is--it's at about 56 and 65 south of the main plaza. I somehow was envisioning it would be an open field with little stands, but it's in a couple big buildings with permanent stalls.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovetotravel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
752 reviews
291 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
“Good fun - eat, shop or just come have a look”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is really a must-see when you're in Merida. We've travelled through Mexico for a couple of weeks and this was one of the bigger and better Mercados we've seen.

There's lots of food options. Some stalls, counters and quite a bunch of sit-down places. We had lunch at a place with some outside seats even. Some pork skirt steak and a bunch of tacos. Don't be put off by strange smells or funny looks of some food. Just eat at a place with lots of people and high turnover. It's a nice experience to sit down between the locals and just grab simple, but good food.

There's a lot to shop too. From meats, to pastries, ice-cream and desserts, clothes and loads of fruits and veggies. Even if you're not planning on eating or shopping: It's fun to just walk around and take it all in. Ok, sometimes some odor might be a bit strong for western people, but isn't that part of the fun? To explore new and different things? I would say so.
There's also quite a lot of cell phone accessories, if you're into that. Many stalls have similar products, but it's good to compare prices. Some shops in the back have lower prices than the ones in front.
If you see a vendor with ice-cream or Flans...try them! We did...and enjoyed it. I know, you're not supposed to eat ice-cream and other dairy products in Mexico...but we travelled around a lot and never got problems. Like the food stalls...just purchase these kinds of food at busy counters/stalls/carts with high turnover to be sure the product is fresh.

This mercado is really great to have 2-3 hours of fun. If you don't like crowds, well then I guess it's not for you. But we loved it.
Wanna know more about my trips? Check my profile (where you'll also find my website with more info about my travels).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Bandit-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucas de Galvez market also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Lucas de Galvez market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing