We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive!!!”
Review of Habaneros

Habaneros
Ranked #24 of 777 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: HABANEROS is a restuaurante that gives you the best regional food in Merida Yucatan, as well as other dishes typical of the major culinary regions of Mexico.Amid a warm and intimate atmosphere, accompanied by excellent service, we invite you to enjoy an unforgettable culinary experience.
monterey,ca.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was my first time to the Yucatan and so many people recommended this restaurant! Took a taxi to this gem of a restaurant. We stayed in central Merida and the beautiful, historic drive was so worth it.....We arrived at Habaneros..... So clean.....the food was to die for!!! I normally don"t eat breakfast but OMG!!! After tasting this super, delicious chorizo omelette, smothered in a black bean sauce, I was convinced that true love exists!! Topped with avocado, tomatoes and queso fresco cheese, this breakfast started my day into something really great!!! It is a small restaurant; bathrooms super clean and I highly recommend this incredible gem!! Our waiter, Memo, was incredible and his English was much appreciated!! We would go out of our way, next time, to dine at this delicious, special restaurant......Until Next Time......Mark Goodman

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank montsalasmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    62
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really excellent food!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

One of the last to have an authentic tortilladora in from making authentic good tasting tortilladoras. Selection of beers and some liquor. The extensive menu is Mexicfan on one side and Yucatecan on the other to help ignorant gringos like me to learn more about the foods here. Everything was attractively served. The table salsa was some of the best I've had. Clean and with cloth towels in the restroom! Is that unusual or what? Nice ambiance but acoustics made it seem a bit noisy. Near the new museum and Siglo XXI. Definitely the place to go if you're on the north side of town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable price”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Happy to have stopped here for lunch. Great Yucatan cuisines at reasonable price. Very good and friendly service. The guests can see the tortillas being made.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very happy we found it”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Unfortunately this little gem of a restaurant is not easily driven by. You have to turn off of Prolongacion de Montejo just before the Siglo XXI convention center and movie theater and drive a little ways down the road. My husband and I had a long day of sightseeing and decided to pull out our City Passport coupon book to look for eating suggestions and followed the coupon trail to Habanero's. We were especially drawn by the coupons being for 35% off your entire bill! We were appreciative of the menu with vivid pictures to make ordering easy. The food is very authentic Yucatecan on one side of the menu while the other side of the menu is food from various other parts of Mexico. Our waitress spoke English which made our experience there that much more accommodating. The restaurant is very clean. It appears that there is a little window where Mayan women may sit to make homemade tortillas, but no one was doing that when we were there. If you are in the mood for Yucatecan or Mexican food, this is a real contender.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyLynn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This restaurant has excellent Mexican and Yucatan food (my preference), very good service, reasonable prices, and Is extremely clean with a modern look and feel on the inside. Outdoor seating is available under a cabana. You can custom-design your salsa and the beer is very cold. It is easily accessible and there's plenty of free parking across the street. My wife and I go for lunch almost every time we're in Merida and have yet to be disappointed. The menu is extensive and features many dishes not easily found elsewhere. This is an outstanding establishment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhrixusPrime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habaneros also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Habaneros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing