We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maison Lafitte was perfect for my needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Maison del Embajador
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Palm Springs, California
1 review
“Maison Lafitte was perfect for my needs”
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Just returned from Merida and spent a week and a half in the Maison Lafitte. The location was perfect--close to the Parques Santa Lucia and Santa Ana and the Central Plaza--where there was always something going on. The buses that I needed stopped right out front, and the staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. I can't say enough good about the staff. I will stay there again on my next trip in a few weeks. The rooms are simple and very clean. Water pressure is excellent. Excellent complimentary breakfast. The only drawback is the restaurant at night--the food is not very good. But then, I couldn't find a really good meal in Merida. My best meals were in the taquerias and coffee shops.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macfred92262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    65
    38
    16
    12
See reviews for
60
68
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Really loved our stay here at the Maison Lafitte. The grounds were beautiful, every staff member was friendly and helpful, and the location couldn't have been better.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, and there was a small minibar fridge. We also requested a roll away bed for one of our kids, and they brought up a whole extra bed at no charge! That was really above and beyond service, since we were only guaranteed regular quad occupancy with 2 beds..

The pool area was very nice and had comfortable loungers for reading and napping. At night the pool and gardens were lit up and had fountains running. Very pretty and peaceful.

The included breakfast was excellent- good selection of breads and pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, and cereals, and 3 hot dishes in the buffet. Plus coffee, tea, milk, and juices. You could also order off a menu at no charge- things like egg dishes and pancakes with bacon. Everything was very good quality.

The other great amenity was the business centre. Three desktop computers with internet access were available to guests. No hassles of signing in, or passwords- we could just pop in and use them whenever we wanted.

Merida was a wonderful city to explore on foot, and Hotel Maison Lafitte was the perfect place to use as a base.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcBEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Recently stayed here during the day of the dead and halloween celebrations Oct 31, Nov 1,& 2 . Hotel is very centrally located, just a short walk to the main plaza along calle 60.. Front desk people were very helpful and accomodating . The A/C in our room on the first night didn't work so they moved us to another room immediately. Breakfast is included and is very ample. Lots of choice both cold and cooked buffet. Beds comfortable. Only downside was the hot water for showers was a bit " touchy". Sometimes you have to run water for a long time to get it hot -better to have your shower in the evneing sometimes. Pool area clean and well kept.
All in all a good choice for those who don't want luxury but want comfort and a good price.;

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariannaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Maison Lafitte is a perfect hotel for those who are on a budget but not necessarily on a shoestring backpacker budget. It's in the perfect location, almost across from Parque Santa Lucia where they offer free concerts on Thursdays and a market on Sundays. Their restaurant offers something for everyone, and the service is great as well. They also have a bar with a happy hour. The hotel offers a pool, a nice outdoor patio, and free internet.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2010

This is my first review on Tripadvisor but we had just a wonderful stay in Merida that I have to simply write a few sentences. The hotel is located just a few blocks away from the town center yet it is peaceful and has an absolutely gorgeous garden with pool. Our room was great and the service was extraordinary. Among all the hotels on the Yucatan Peninsula we stayed during our trip this was by far the best! Thanks for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anmajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Hotel Maison Lafitte is conveniently located between the main plaza (the historic district) and Paseo de Montejo. We were able to easily walk to both. It's also across the street from Parque Santa Lucia where they have free traditional dancing on Thursday nights, and where they set up tables and chairs and live musicians and you can order drinks and food every night, as far as we could tell.

The free parking lot is small but we were always able to get a spot. The hotel has a business center with free computers/internet, a bar, a restaurant, 2 courtyards, a pool (cold), and a boutique.

Our room had two double beds, tv, a/c, toilet, shower, sink, closet with safe (but no key), iron, ironing board, and a minibar with drinks and snacks (for a fee).

The courtyards are beautiful with lush tropical vegitation and fountains. The free breakfast was the best free breakfast we had at any of the places we stayed. It was a buffet and had a good selection of fruit, cereal, granola, 3 hot dishes each day, pastries, juices, etc.

The clientele seemed to be upper middle class Mexicans, which suited us just fine. We enjoyed staying in a place where we weren't surrounded by other native English speakers. The staff was very friendly and always available.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2010

I recently spent a wonderful, 5 day family vacation in Mérida. This was my second time in the Yucatán and have to admit it always attracted me for its culture, music, food and history. Maison Lafitte was recommended by business colleagues of mine from Mexico city. I´d like to say I was very pleased with the hotels’ colonial architecture and style, it goes perfect with the rest of Merida´s down town and historical district. The well tended gardens and pool area offer an atmosphere of peace and relaxation, perfect with a beer in the lazy afternoons. The rooms, were clean, and comfortable. The fresh fruit, coffee and bread served at breakfast, plus the service were excellent. I would like to emphasize that I was impressed with the staff, who go out of their way to serve you. Eduardo at the front desk helped us with most of our needs, always sporting a smile. He arranged a tour to Chichen Itza, for us, which was one of the highlights of our trip.
Right across the street, Santa Lucia park offers weekly serenatas and live entertainment, for free. The main square was just two or three blocks away, with its magnificent cathedral and Sunday festival “Merida en Domingo.” In fact, one of the nicest things about MAison Lafitte is that you are within walking distance of the most interesting places, museums, churches, parks, colonial monuments, stores, theathers and restaurants.
I would definitely return to Maison Lafitte on my next visit to Merida, it is a little jewel in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcm09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#50 of 103 in Merida
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Real Yucatan
Gran Real Yucatan
#54 of 103 in Merida
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#42 of 103 in Merida
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Continental
Hotel Casa Continental
#47 of 103 in Merida
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maria del Carmen
Hotel Maria del Carmen
#51 of 103 in Merida
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maison del Embajador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison del Embajador

Property: Hotel Maison del Embajador
Address: Calle 60 -- 472 | 53st & 55 St, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Maison Lafitte)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maison del Embajador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old colonial house converted into a small luxury hotel. This beautiful hotel is located on 60th Street in the heart of the historic city center, just opposite the Santa Lucia Park, where every Thursday evening celebrated the traditional serenades. Only three blocks from the main square and close to theaters, museums, churches, the famous Paseo de Montejo and the and colonial buildings. This is the perfect place to stay while visiting the beautiful city of Merida, Yucatan place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Maison del Embajador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Lafitte Hotel
Maison Lafitte Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing