We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a little more Money!”
Review of Hacienda Xcanatun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Xcanatun
Ranked #31 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 20, 2014

It is worth every penny! The whole hacienda was restored very professionally! The rooms are beautiful and the food is perfect!
It will be a wonderful experience, located at the north part of town, closer than you think!

Room Tip: It looks like all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sunsetisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 227 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

It is the Third time we are going to this amazing place.. A true luxury but without the bling bling.
The place, the service, the rooms, the restaurant .. It is a tricky place as you feel like just staying there and enjoying It fully.
What else ...

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank stephane75009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This really was a great find and one of the very few places to which we would make en effort to return. Booking and welcome were efficient and graceful. Our Deluxe Suite was on the top floor of an elegant block set in gardens and overlooking one of the two swimming pools. It was enormous with elegant furniture, a wrap-around balcony, outside Jacuzzi, and all the amenities one could possibly want.

The entire grounds are well kept and relaxing, the food in the restaurant was consistently and utterly excellent with great service in a lovely setting. Although there was a wedding on one day that we were there the disruption was both forewarned and kept to a minimum, and the live music played by a small band at dinner was fantastic (what a great trumpeter!).

The reception staff (especially Sergio) were uniformly helpful and gracious, and the bellboy who fixed our parking and luggage equally so.

We could not fault this place save, perhaps, for one niggle: for those that are driving themselves a few signs from the main highway would be most helpful : this oasis of calm is tucked away behind a small village square and not at all easy to find. But well worth the search!

Room Tip: Get an upstairs Deluxe Suite if you can stretch to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for your kind review! It is important for us to receive feedback from guests regarding their experiences, and you covered a lot of ground. We will gladly take into consideration your suggestion for more signage on the road into the Hacienda. And please do make an effort to return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Hacienda Xcanatun has probably the best restaurant in Merida and is a must if you are at all interested in having at least one great meal in the Yucatan, with excellent, innovative menu choices, the best service in Merida (my pet peeve) and a gorgeous room.

If you decide, as you should, to stay, you will not want to leave, ever. The rooms are giant, luxurious and so aesthetically pleasing that you will feel horrible when you have to leave. The bathrooms in particular, with their custom made bathtubs big enough for two are so nice that you will want to lounge around in there for at least a couple of hours.

There is no TV in the room, so if watching television is your thing, don't stay in the room. The chapel, converted to a games and TV room, has the screen if you want to see a sporting event or something along those lines.

Room Tip: Don't go during the Xcanatun village festival if you are sleep-sensitive as it can be noisy but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillLawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for your glowing review...and for your return visit! Word of mouth is our very best recommendation. "Nuestra casa es su casa!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We called up in advance to see if we could come for lunch and a massage at the Hacienda as we fancied a day out of the city of Merida.
We organised both and turned up a little early but dressed respectably. We asked if we could maybe sit in the grounds before we had our meal and were told this would be impossible as they had to respect their guests. I guess fair enough, but there was literally no one around and we just wanted a quiet spot in the gardens to read a book for half an hour.
Food was really excellent, not cheap, but really really good and the waiters were very nice and attentive. We had a very average massage afterwards (I wouldn't bother if, its really NOT a Spa Hotel) I think as we were paying quite a lot to have lunch and massage treatments, they could have been a bit more accomodating. After all, business like this run on recommendations and who is to say that we might not have come back to stay in the hotel if they had been a little bit more friendly.
There was a woman on the front desk who spoke perfect English (as I heard her speak it later with an American accent) deliberately chose not to help us at the front desk and whispered to the other guy that maybe we could sit by the pool in Spanish) Had it been peak season and they were overrun with guests I might have understood. In any case it slightly spoilt what would otherwise been a perfectly lovely afternoon and would make me hesitate to recommend the Hacienda. Its also a bit run down, the pool area and furnishing are rather dated and 80's. I would imagine that the average customer there is in the older age group!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oscarlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel is absolutely fabulous, from service, to rooms (45m2 for a standard double), to delicious food in a beautiful and well-maintained garden landscape away from the noisy streets of Merida.

The 2 pools are very calm and relaxing, with plenty of sun and shade. Staff at reception, room service and the restaurant were flexible (for example, we asked to have breakfast by the pool and it arrived 5 minutes later) and helpful with directions and tourist information.

Restaurant staff are friendlier during the day than in the evening, and the wine stock was patchy (they only had our third choice of wine from the wine list in stock). All in all a great place if you want to relax in luxury.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the old part, they have build a new part that looks nice but not quite as nice as the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are always pleased when guests appreciate our property. I am sorry about the non-available wines, as we pride ourselves on our wine list, and will have the maitre'd look into it inmediately. Thank you again for your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We recently returned to NYC from a 7 night stay, our 4th we believe.
This hotel never disappoints us. Oh, one can always quibble, as they often do on Trip Advisor, but we would be hard pressed to do so here.
We relax once we arrive at the calm and beautiful environment of this property, that was converted handsomely to a hotel and wonderful restaurant 15 or so years ago by the present owners from an old Hacienda that once produced sisal.
It's a mere 15-20 minutes from the airport, if one is flying in, and about the same from downtown Merida by car. Most of our time was spend enjoying the quiet, the beauty and charm of the place, the handsome and various buildings on the property, the wandering through large and lovely gardens, and, after long naps, dining in the evening in the astoundingly beautiful restaurant (either indoors or outdoors) to which people drive many miles as it is considered by many the best restaurant in the Yucatan. The cuisine is wonderful, the quality high, and the prices reasonable for what you are getting.
Our room was exceedingly comfortable, the bed firm for good back support, and the staff is very willing to fill your needs with a phone call or a stop at the desk. The ac works very well, and there are also ceiling fans, both inside and outside on the verandas.
This IS the Yucatan, so the hotel is not far from several important archeological sites, so it can be used as a base for exploring. Should you need a driver and guide, the hotel can find good ones.
The rooms have no tvs, which would be unfathomable to some, but ideal for us as we can watch tv at home, should we wish to do so. There is a tv available in the old chapel, but who needs it?? It's not what we go for, and from our observation of the sophisticated clientele, not what they are there for either. We read 3 or 4 books each on delightful verandas that accompany each room or suite. The pool is large and handsome (there are actually 2 of them)
and a spa for those that wish these services.
Please DON'T go here, if you require noise or are noisy yourself, as it will impact the tranquility of this very special place. Please don't go it you expect everyone to speak perfect English, as this is the Yucatan, and some English can be a bit halting, but speak slowly, repeat occasionally, get into the exquisite rhythm of the place, and you'll be transfixed, and very relaxed when you leave. Like us, you may dread the day when you must return home. Why did we not stay longer?? Would that we had done so.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a suite, if one is available. The rooms are quite good, but the suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill2newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

It was wonderful having you both here again! It is always great to have guests appreciate Xcanatún and what it has to offer. Hopefully we will see you for your "R&R" again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
9.1 mi away
Hacienda Misne
Hacienda Misne
#26 of 106 in Merida
194 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hacienda Santa Cruz
Hacienda Santa Cruz
#47 of 106 in Merida
172 reviews
6.4 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#10 of 106 in Merida
457 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
7.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda VIP
Hotel Hacienda VIP
#19 of 106 in Merida
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Xcanatun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Xcanatun

Address: Calle 20 S/N por 19 y 19A | Km. 12 Carretera Merida Progreso, Merida 97302, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Merida
#4 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#8 Spa Hotel in Merida
#17 Luxury Hotel in Merida
Price Range: $264 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Xcanatun 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once one of the Yucatan’s largest sisal plantations, the restored 18th century Hacienda Xcanatun is today an elegantly, intimate hotel surrounded by acres of gardens, and gleaming with polished stone and marble floors; high beamed ceilings; and marble-wrapped bathrooms. Xcanatun offers all the comfort and luxury expected of a world-class boutique property with 18 air-conditioned and individually decorated suites/rooms; a gourmet restaurant, serving sophisticated, Fusion Yucatecan cuisine; two freshwater pools and an intimate Spa.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Xcanatun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Xcanatun Hotel Merida
Hacienda Hotel Xcanatun
Xcanatun Hacienda Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing