We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely sublime, a term I don't use often.....”
Review of Hacienda Xcanatun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Xcanatun
Ranked #31 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We recently returned to NYC from a 7 night stay, our 4th we believe.
This hotel never disappoints us. Oh, one can always quibble, as they often do on Trip Advisor, but we would be hard pressed to do so here.
We relax once we arrive at the calm and beautiful environment of this property, that was converted handsomely to a hotel and wonderful restaurant 15 or so years ago by the present owners from an old Hacienda that once produced sisal.
It's a mere 15-20 minutes from the airport, if one is flying in, and about the same from downtown Merida by car. Most of our time was spend enjoying the quiet, the beauty and charm of the place, the handsome and various buildings on the property, the wandering through large and lovely gardens, and, after long naps, dining in the evening in the astoundingly beautiful restaurant (either indoors or outdoors) to which people drive many miles as it is considered by many the best restaurant in the Yucatan. The cuisine is wonderful, the quality high, and the prices reasonable for what you are getting.
Our room was exceedingly comfortable, the bed firm for good back support, and the staff is very willing to fill your needs with a phone call or a stop at the desk. The ac works very well, and there are also ceiling fans, both inside and outside on the verandas.
This IS the Yucatan, so the hotel is not far from several important archeological sites, so it can be used as a base for exploring. Should you need a driver and guide, the hotel can find good ones.
The rooms have no tvs, which would be unfathomable to some, but ideal for us as we can watch tv at home, should we wish to do so. There is a tv available in the old chapel, but who needs it?? It's not what we go for, and from our observation of the sophisticated clientele, not what they are there for either. We read 3 or 4 books each on delightful verandas that accompany each room or suite. The pool is large and handsome (there are actually 2 of them)
and a spa for those that wish these services.
Please DON'T go here, if you require noise or are noisy yourself, as it will impact the tranquility of this very special place. Please don't go it you expect everyone to speak perfect English, as this is the Yucatan, and some English can be a bit halting, but speak slowly, repeat occasionally, get into the exquisite rhythm of the place, and you'll be transfixed, and very relaxed when you leave. Like us, you may dread the day when you must return home. Why did we not stay longer?? Would that we had done so.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a suite, if one is available. The rooms are quite good, but the suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill2newyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

It was wonderful having you both here again! It is always great to have guests appreciate Xcanatún and what it has to offer. Hopefully we will see you for your "R&R" again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 227 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have never stayed at the hotel as i live 15 min away but the restaurant is the best in Merida. It is not included In the restaurant list except incorrectly with Piedra de Agua. This should be corrected as it is very misleading.
When dining at another excellent venue in Mérida, Bruno's, we were told by the chef Bruno himself and his wife that Hacienda Xcanatun is their favourite spot when they have a rare night off. We plan to continue eating at this elegant spot on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pazzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are pleased you enjoy our restaurant, comments like yours make a big difference to our staff. And I will have to thank Bruno personally for his recommendation, too! Hope to meet you next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Can't speak highly enough of this lovely hotel. It is chic and elegant and extremely well run. We made a last minute booking here after leaving another hotel which had turned out to be disappointing. Hacienda xcanatun was the exact opposite. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and very peaceful. It is run in an extremely professional manner by staff who are courteous but friendly. I could have cried with happiness when we were shown to our room which was furnished and decorated simply and tastefully. The renovation of this hacienda has been expertly executed, so much so that you almost feel as if you've been taken back in time to the days when it was originally built. The added bonus is the excellent restaurant where we dined on both nights of our stay. Everything we had was delicious but I have to draw attention to the coffee ice cream which was the best I have ever had. Overall hacienda xcanatun was the best place we stayed during our 2 weeks in Mexico.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j.fordham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review! Made even more special because you found us on the "rebound". We so enjoy it when guests take the time to really "stay" at Xcanatún, finding all the special nooks and crannies, enjoying the Spa and the restaurant. Please, if you would like the recipe for our expresso ice cream, we would be happy to share! Hopefully you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Have been at this hacienda for lunch and dinner many times. It is a 15-minute of so taxi drive from the center of Merida, and well worth the few pesos it costs to get here. We enjoyed a fabulous dinner on their terrace, followed by a concert performed by the Yucatan Intrernational String Quartet in a beautiful little concert room. It was a wonderful evening.

Room Tip: Don't know about the room, just the restaurant and the concert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dagpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, and to enjoy our property! It is always a pleasure when a client/guest leaves happy! We will continue the concerts through June, the next one is March 20, so please contact us if you would like to attend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is the place to rejuvinate after exploring the many Mayan ruins that the Yucatan has to offer. Simply put, Amazing. Beautiful rooms and lavish landscape. The restaurant lives up to all of the awards it has earned. Not a stretch to say I had my best meal ever here. The staff while accommodating are not intrusive but always there to attend to your every need.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review! It is great when guests appreciate the work that goes into keeping things working the way they should. I hope you also enjoyed the yoga class, it is a recent addition to the services we offer, even if it is only once a week! Have a safe journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We returned to the restaurant at this hotel after enjoying a wonderful meal there last spring. We had very high expectations since our last visit was so enjoyable and we were not disappointed. The service and the food were both superb and the ambiance of this beautiful property is unbeatable.

We did not stay at this property this time but we were given a tour of some of the rooms and they are also spectaclular. We will definitely stay here on a future trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pepeone111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive review. Maintaining excellence is always a challenge! We will pass your comments on to the staff, feedback is very important! We hope you visit us again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Like other reviewers, we too found the Hacienda charming. The staff went out of their way to accommodate all our requests and the restaurant was excellent. The pictures do not even do it justice. It is beautifully restored. We were, however, grateful for a previous visitor's directions as our GPS did not work (make sure to check the country settings) and our map was kinda pitiful. We were in room 105 and it is quite spacious and extremely clean. However, getting in and out of the massive tub was/could be a bit tricky. I also thought the bed was a bit too firm for my taste, but our overall experience was wonderful and we would definitely stay again. In fact, we also went to Tulum and wished the whole time that we had stayed at the Hacienda.

Driving Tips from Cancun:

Simply take the toll road, Hwy 180 to Merida. Be prepared to pay a toll twice… 150 pesos and 258 pesos. Also, if the police pull you aside, they want to look at your car rental contract, so keep that handy. When entering Merida follow the signs to Progresso (hwy 261), which takes about 20 mins. Then get off at the Xcanatun exit (can't miss the signage) and make your first right through the village. The village might have you thinking, what have I done?, but no worries. The Hacienda is lovely and the village grows on you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 653KBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you for your kind review! We will make sure to pass your positive comments on to the staff. We can understand that it is hard to please all guests as far as mattress firmness is concerned, but have taken your comment into consideration, and will be acquiring mattress pads to address this in the future. Also, we are working on a new website, and it will have a Google map which should make it easier! Again, many thanks for taking the time to leave your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
9.1 mi away
Hacienda Misne
Hacienda Misne
#26 of 106 in Merida
194 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hacienda Santa Cruz
Hacienda Santa Cruz
#47 of 106 in Merida
172 reviews
6.4 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#10 of 106 in Merida
457 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
7.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda VIP
Hotel Hacienda VIP
#19 of 106 in Merida
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Xcanatun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Xcanatun

Address: Calle 20 S/N por 19 y 19A | Km. 12 Carretera Merida Progreso, Merida 97302, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Merida
#4 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#8 Spa Hotel in Merida
#17 Luxury Hotel in Merida
Price Range: $264 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Xcanatun 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once one of the Yucatan’s largest sisal plantations, the restored 18th century Hacienda Xcanatun is today an elegantly, intimate hotel surrounded by acres of gardens, and gleaming with polished stone and marble floors; high beamed ceilings; and marble-wrapped bathrooms. Xcanatun offers all the comfort and luxury expected of a world-class boutique property with 18 air-conditioned and individually decorated suites/rooms; a gourmet restaurant, serving sophisticated, Fusion Yucatecan cuisine; two freshwater pools and an intimate Spa.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Xcanatun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Xcanatun Hotel Merida
Hacienda Hotel Xcanatun
Xcanatun Hacienda Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing