We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable birthday for spouse”
Review of Hacienda Xcanatun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Xcanatun
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sudbury
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Memorable birthday for spouse”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Sergio at the xcanatun hacienda was most accomadting.
A beautiful room equistite dining with flower petals on the table a special chocolate biirhday cake and personalized card with flower on the bed made this time there one of the memorable experiences of my wifes life.
A wonderful experience.

Geostactic

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geostatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, this kind of details is what Hacienda Xcanatún is all about. I have passed your congratulations on to Sergio, positive feedback is so important for our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    29
    15
    2
    7
See reviews for
33
95
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 days at Hacienda Xcanatun last august. We had a lovely stay. The room was amaizing, decorated with beautiful furniture; the hotel building is gorgeous and the food at the restaurant simply delicious. You cannot skip a dinner there! Negative points: no in-room wi-fi connection, no TV, maintenance of the swimming pool and the outdoor jacuzzi needs to be improved. They were quite dirty, and nobody reacted to this. The hotel is about 10 minutes outside Merida, in a beautiful old garden.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brughis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We thank you very much for taking the time to write your positive review. And we also thank you for your observations. Unfortunately, August is a windy month, and although we clean the pools twice daily, Mother Nature sometimes gets the best of us! Regarding the free wi-fi, reception is sometimes problematic inside the original 18th century suites, due to the 3-foot thick walls, but it is always accesible on the terraces, and public areas. We apologize if you were not informed of this in a timely manner, and for the inconvenience. Although we have a large screen TV in the chapel lounge, we do not have TV´s in the suites, as it has always been our credo that Xcanatún is a place to get away from it all. We state this on our website homepage, since we are conscious that this is important for some guests. Once again, guest feedback is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This beautiful, perfectly restored hacienda is just outside of Merida. Accommodation, service and attention to detail are superb. The restaurant is one of the finest in Mexico. Featuring 18 elegant suites, beautiful landscape and easy access to the wonders of the Yucatan, the Xcanatun is among our favorite spots in the world.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twoinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Many thanks for your glowing review. It is very important to all our staff to have this kind of feedback! Hope to see you back at Xcanatun in the near future! Cristina Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Hacienda Xcanatun for 4 nights in March 2012 (my apologies for the delay in posting this review). Everything is beautiful about this hacienda. We had a deluxe suite which was very spacious ( with living room area, ensuite bathroom and large comfortable bed) and located in a 2 storey building, with a great verandah for watching the birds (there are many). The hacienda is located in a sort of village or town but once you enter the grounds, you feel like you're miles away from civilisation. There are lots of trees and vegetation with rustic decorative features and paths nicely laid out to go to any of the facilities on the grounds. The grounds are very beautiful and natural looking thanks to a lot of hard work by staff from what we saw.

There is a large pool in the spa area with some hammocks as well in a more sheltered area . We had lunch cheerfully served to us at the pool a couple of days so that we didn't have to get dressed to go eat. This was wonderful and one example among many of warm and personal service.

We had a massage at the spa. I have a heart condition and when I mentioned this, the masseuse was careful so that I got a wonderful massage. The spa was very professional and welcoming.

I'm a difficult eater so I was worried about the restaurant. I didn't need to worry. The food at the restaurant, Casa de Piedra, was refined and delicious with some continental-type cuisine for someone like me and more fusion and Yucatan-type cuisine for those who are more adventurous. My foodie partner loved this restaurant.

The melding of the restored historic parts of the hacienda with the more recent additions was very well done and really interesting.

The location of the hacienda is perfect for excursions. On the day we checked in, we visited the Mayan ruins of Dzilbilchaltun for the spring equinox then went on to Progreso and then returned to check in at the Hacienda. The hacienda is just outside Merida so could also be used as a base to explore Merida.

In conclusion, Merida and the surrounding area are wonderful and Hacienda Xcanatun is a perfect gem of a place to stay.

Room Tip: We had #318, a second floor deluxe suite- it was perfect for the view and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayKay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your delightful review, better late than never! Hopefully we will be able to host you again in the near future. Best regards from sunny Mérida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Beautiful place, green areas all around, very peaceful and one of the best meals I´ve ever had the Casa de Piedra Restaurant. Found the hotel trough Hoteles Boutique de Mexico, we stayed there for 4 days, it was very relaxing, we had a massage in the room, enjoyed the bad tab every night and walked around the property every day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isa079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTina, Owner at Hacienda Xcanatun, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado D. J.: Gracias por sus comentarios y observaciones. Definitivamente, la estancia en una hacienda no es para todos, ya que en muchos de los casos, estas propiedades pueden no tener las "amenidades" de un hotel de cadena. Nosotros tratamos en nuestra página web describir perfectamente la experiencia, inlcluyendo el hecho que por decisión, no se tiene TV en las habitaciones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

A friend and I recently spent six nights at the Hacienda Xcanatun, which is one of the loveliest places I have ever stayed. Once you pass through the gates, you feel that you have entered another world, one of great elegance and tranquility. Our room and bathroom were huge and stunning; the beds were extremely comfortable. The food was, overall, quite good. We also enjoyed several excellent massages at the spa. The service was exceptional.

I highly recommended this hotel as a base for those interested in exploring the many fascinating sites in the area. Although the city of Merida was a bit of a disappointment, we enjoyed visiting several Mayan ruins, especially Uxmal. We did not rent a car, but the hotel arranged a driver for us at a reasonable price.

Bravo Xcanatun!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKJ897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Staying at the hotel Xcanatun is like enveloping oneself in another world. Everywhere you look, there is beauty, style, and a sense of romance. The gardens, restaurant, public spaces, and beautiful suites create a world unto themselves -- and the world outside disappears. This is a place for people who want to fully relax away from the noise and distractions of everyday life. The staff is charming and extremely attentive. The owners are gracious and present and giving of their time. They have done a superb job rebuilding this historic compound. Be sure to ask to see the "before" photographs - you will be amazed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahwahnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
9.1 mi away
Hacienda Misne
Hacienda Misne
#26 of 103 in Merida
183 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hacienda Santa Cruz
Hacienda Santa Cruz
#43 of 103 in Merida
170 reviews
6.4 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
7.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda VIP
Hotel Hacienda VIP
#20 of 103 in Merida
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Xcanatun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Xcanatun

Property: Hacienda Xcanatun
Address: Calle 20 S/N por 19 y 19A | Km. 12 Carretera Merida Progreso, Merida 97302, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Merida
#4 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#5 Spa Hotel in Merida
#14 Luxury Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Xcanatun 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once one of the Yucatan’s largest sisal plantations, the restored 18th century Hacienda Xcanatun is today an elegantly, intimate hotel surrounded by acres of gardens, and gleaming with polished stone and marble floors; high beamed ceilings; and marble-wrapped bathrooms. Xcanatun offers all the comfort and luxury expected of a world-class boutique property with 18 air-conditioned and individually decorated suites/rooms; a gourmet restaurant, serving sophisticated, Fusion Yucatecan cuisine; two freshwater pools and an intimate Spa.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Xcanatun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Xcanatun Hotel Merida
Hacienda Hotel Xcanatun
Xcanatun Hacienda Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing