We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Noche Mexicana

Noche Mexicana
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Saturday night and the music was great. Some good vendors and great place to buy tacos al pastor. We were staying at Casa Ana which is a short walk from the park.
It was a little different from the Domingo en Merida as there were groups singing as well as dancing. If you are staying down town walk home on calle 60 which is always busy and well lit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great street food, free entertainment”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Merida is a special place where there is always some sort of cultural event going on every night. On Saturday night, the event of the day is Noche Mexicana, which takes place at the park at the beginning of the Paseo de Montejo. The festivities start at 8 pm, but I would definitely recommend getting there early for two reasons: 1) the fantastic and cheap street food (elote, marquesitas, churros, tacos, and traditional Yucatecan snacks); and 2) there are a limited number of seats and the park becomes absolutely packed with people. You'll get the best pictures if you can sit in the very front row, obviously.

The show consists of a series of performances - traditional dances, mariachi singers, marimba players, etc. We stayed until 10 pm but I got the impression it lasted way past that, perhaps until midnight. One note: you may hear that an event called "Heart of Merida/Corazon de Merida" also occurs on Saturday night (in this event, Calle 60 in Centro is shut down and turns into a huge outdoor flea market and pedestrian mall). When we visited, the Heart of Merida event occurred every night from Thursday to Sunday, so don't feel that you need to miss Noche Mexicana to see the Heart of Merida event.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank traveldoc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't Miss It !”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Located at the beggining of Paseo Montejo, Saturday nights from 8pm and about until midnight, Local artist and groups, from Merida and the Yucatan area, Professional singers and dancers. Food is excelent. Everyhing tied together by a very charismatic host who is the heart of the cultural life in Merida

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AMB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Fun for free”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It's free - it's fun - what more can you ask for?

I was surprised to see that the vast majority of the tourists were Mexican Nationals. I guess I'd always thought that it was gringos like me who ended up at stuff like this but I guess the locals like to indulge in their own culture from time to time too.

The food we got at the vendors here was probably the highlight meal of our trip.

Take a horse and carriage from the plaza grande and feel like a big-shot. It's a lot of fun!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarkfromtheIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great party!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a lot of fun for those who like tradition Mexican music. Various singers and dancers perform on an outdoor stage. There are plenty of food stalls nearby for a snack and a few cervezas. It's really amazing how talented the performers are! The emcee is a bit hokey, but that just adds to the fun. You can have a great time with friends here, and it is FREE!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noche Mexicana also viewed

 

Been to Noche Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing