We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tradicion

La Tradicion
Ranked #40 of 741 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Here you will find Merida’s best traditional food. Our specialties are made as they used to be using original recipes. Ingredients are carefully selected to achieve the authentic flavor we know you want to experience. Come visit us!, and you will know the true taste of Yucatecan cuisine!
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The staff is very friendly, the atmosphere is charming, but the food is terrible. With so many wonderful places to eat, and such delicious food all about Merida, don't waste your time or money on this place! We ordered two chaya drinks, two entrees, and one dessert and the bill came to $681 pesos, not including the tip! That is a considerable amount of money for dinner for two in Merida. One of the entrees was Queso Relleno, which is a common child's dish, akin to ordering macaroni and cheese in the US. The cheese was hard, difficult to chew, and lacked any flavor. It was served with minced habanero chilies inside, and a roasted habanero chili on top, but there was no warning given. I unknowingly ate the entire whole habaero, and upon realizing what had just happened, my son had to leave the table and find someone to help me. It was extremely painful and my eyes watered so badly, I looked like I was weeping. Our waiter brought me sugar, which we later found out makes the burning worse (salt would have arrested the heat), and I drank my son's glass of milk. When I explained to a local man what had happened at La Tradicion, he was so angry that he wanted to visit the restaurant to tell them off! It made him angry that they put the habanero on the dish in the first place, but then didn't warn me, and he said they never should have treated a tourist that way. I have since learned that because of the way dairy interacts with the oil in chilies (which is why the milk helped), diced habanero and cheese is a terrible pairing for food. My son's shrimp was dry, overcooked and tasteless, and the entire meal was a great disappointment. The wait staff was not very attentive, but nevertheless nice, but it did not make up for the food being so bad. We were the only customers in the restaurant the entire time we were there (during the dinner hour)- another bad sign.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CRinSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTradicion, Propietario at La Tradicion, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
We are so sorry about your last experience in La Tradición. We hope you to undestand that our flavors are quite diferent from another kind of food, like american food. But definitely we apreciate your opinion, and be sure we will talk to our staff about the service quality. Thank you very much about your opinion, it is very important for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    70
    36
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tend to only write reviews I feel strongly about”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I don't write many reviews, as I am busy, so the ones I do write are about places and people I feel strongly about. Up until now my reviews have all been positive, we have met some lovely people and had some historic meals that we have truely enjoyed over the past few years and our travels in Cuba and Mexico.
On this trip we traveled in Mexico, and spent two weeks in Merida, which is magic, We were there during carnival and there was lots to see and do. The restaurants are all about 3 x more expensive than the "Cocina economica" street cafes offering variations of local Yucatan dishes.
Our 15 year old son joined us and we choose this restaurant on recommendation after a walk past. We were given a table in the window on a relatively slow weeknight.
Throughout our meal there was a film crew in, with lights, actors and a guitarist, taking promotional shots for the restaurant: clinking glasses, romantic glances with guitar player, that sort of thing. The filming was more an amusement than intrusive, with lots of stops and starts and everyone checking the images.
The table itself was badly dressed and laid, with a dirty, wrinkled top cloth that had obviously not been changed for several meals.
The real problem, unfortunately, was the food. We started with a mixed platter of Yucatan appetizers. Salbutos and panuchos, which are crisp corn tortillas topped with turkey, salbutos without refried beans and panuchos with, The ones we had elsewhere all had tomato and avocado on top, with lime and coriander, these had tomato and cucumber and were not as rich or moist. A smoked sausage that was ok, cheese empanada,, altogether ok,
It was the main course that was a disaster. Merida is only 30 km from the sea, and the market in the city is very lively and full of very fresh fish shipped every morning from Progresso, 30 minutes away, so it is easy to get fresh fish every day. My fried fish was so old as to be inedible. One small bit ( regretted) was enough to prove what the iodine aroma already told me....past the sell by date to the point of illness. My wife's garlic shrimp were worse, not only was the shrimp off, as in warm water iodine rotten smell, but the garlic used was preserved, with its own chemical aftertaste. Both dishes, not doubt to try and be "safe" were overcooked to rubber.
Our son did not fair any better. He had ordered pork, which the Mayans do a great many recipes of, the chichenito pebil and puc choc is to die for, but his was overcooked to dry string.
I called the waiter over to complain, and started with the garlic shrimp, which he whisked away immediately..........and never returned to the table. So we sat there with two uneaten plates in front of us while they filmed good times next door. We spoke briefly to a French couple who were also consulting their guidebook in confusion after the meal that they were also unhappy about. I had to get up in order to ask for the bill.
When it came we had been charged for everything, so I asked to speak to the manager. I polite young man came over and I asked him if he had seen or tasted our food. He had not......and after a brief conversation in which I believe I did most of the talking we settled on not paying for the shrimp. We waited a further five minutes for the bill to be adjusted, feeling a bit paranoid under the glares and stares from the filming crowd.
When the waiter returned with change ( the bill, with the shrimp off, was still $50.00 Canadian ), he thanked me for complaining, saying that he goes through this everyday and no one listens. I hope that this is read with an open mind............serving bad food is a horrible job.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ontariochef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTradicion, Propietario at La Tradicion, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Google Translation
Hola buen día. Me gustaría hacer algunos comentarios respetuosos acerca de esta opinión. La realidad es que en nuestro restaurante vendemos comida tradicional de Yucatán exclusivamente, nuestra especialidad no son los mariscos. Sin embargo, debido a la opinión escrita en TripAdvisor originó una sería platica con nuestro equipo de trabajo respecto a la calidad de nuestros pescados para mejorarlos.
Desafortunadamente, ese día realizábamos una sesión fotográfica de nuestros platillos con actores contratados, con la finalidad de no perturbar a nuestros clientes "reales". Ese día hicimos todo lo posible por mantener el ambiente adecuado y cálido para nuestros visitantes. Nuestra área de comedor no es grande, por lo tanto creo que se trató de mantener un ambiente de buena atención.
Les rogamos una gran disculpa por el servicio si no fue el esperado, sin embargo le podemos garantizar los más altos estándares de limpieza y preparación de los platillos, ya que contamos con Distintivo H. La comida tradicional es nuestra especialidad, y no precisamente la comida del mar (la cual ofrecemos como segunda opción).
Creo que no fue un día en donde coincidieron las mejores cosas. Actualmente estamos cambiando la calidad de nuestros pescados, pues para nosotros "la cocina original" es lo más importante. Estamos rescatando el verdadero sabor de la gastronomía de la región, aunque en las cocinas económicas encuentre variedades regionales más baratas, es de comprender que nuestra finalidad es darle a nuestra gastronomía su lugar, pues por su alta especialidad está a la altura de las mejores del mundo.
Agradecemos de corazón los comentarios, y el tiempo destinado a esta lectura.
Buen día.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Food is good. They have yucatecan food, warm and yum tortillas, hand made. Make sure you ask for drink if the season which could be limeade, Jamaica(hibiscus), lemonade etc. good atmosphere

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
141 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Waiters on cell phones!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were so disappointed with the restaurant. The first few times we went there it was good and I wrote a very good review. This time however it was a disaster. The waiters almost completely ignored us even though we were the only ones in the restaurant. They were on their cell phones most of the time. The waiter mixed up the water order assuming that we were stupid gringos that did not know what "agua mineral" was in Mexico. The food came and it was overcooked and such a disappointment. They never checked with us while we were eating. I literally had to go up to where the three were on their cell phones to get things done. We will not go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMBChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTradicion, Propietario at La Tradicion, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Google Translation
Hemos hablado con nuestro staf al respecto. Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, es una bendición saber la opinión de la gente. Con toda seguridad, habrán grandes cambios en nuestro servicio. Ojalá tengamos la oportunidad de servirle nuevamente. Le pido disculpas por lo sucedido. Gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Was Alright. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We went for supper. The meal was good, the service was good as well. There was no bread offered before the meal came.
The main waiter we had was very friendly.
Definitely the ambiance of the place does not match some of the others places in the Centro Merida area that are in the same price range.

Helpful?
Thank EskimoAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tradicion also viewed

 

Been to La Tradicion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing