We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant! Try it!”
Review of La Tradicion

La Tradicion
Ranked #40 of 777 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Here you will find Merida’s best traditional food. Our specialties are made as they used to be using original recipes. Ingredients are carefully selected to achieve the authentic flavor we know you want to experience. Come visit us!, and you will know the true taste of Yucatecan cuisine!
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good restaurant! Try it!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I usually eat at Chaya but some friends and I tried La Tradicion. Service was excellent and food was good. Not terribly expensive. It has a slightly more formal atmosphere than Chaya but some people prefer that.

Extremely clean! Very new. Give them a try. Food is quite good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gringa04915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    72
    38
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“5 Diamond Stars!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This past November we had the best of dining in Merida, Yucatan, We had been invited for a dinner but never had a chance to visit until this last time we were treated to "The BEST That Yucatan could offer" when it comes to fine dining.

From the vast selection of wines to their cuisine (every single morsel) to the elegant plates and utencils. I must say that, I have been to many if not a plethora of restaurants but when it comes to fine dining in Merida, "La Tradicion" wins my vote and that of our entire team, we give it 5 Diamond Stars, 2 Thumbs Up, and much more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank axmujica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The place were Yucatecos eat Yucatecan food!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Really a great restaurant with excellent local specialties and a nice family environment. It's really a place were locals will go out if they feel like eating yucatecan food so that speaks to how good it is I think.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yidocraze
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lunch was great”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We normally eat at another restaurant for great Yucatecan food, but decided to try this one. The food was great. we ordered several dishes and they were very authentic. One point that we noticed was that the food was not as oily and greasy as other typical yucatecan foods tend to be. the Empanadas were stuffed with shark and fried to a crispy perfection. The stuffed Xcatic peppers were also delicious and the bean soup was one of the best ive had. The decor is a little simpler than Los Almendros, another Yucatecan Restaurant, but the food is definately up there. Actually a lil better in my opinion.
Again, get there anytime before 1:30 pm for lunch because they get packed. Hours are from 1 to 6 Pm, they dont open for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yidocraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“For a good Yucatecan lunch...”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

On the recommendation of some local friends, we stopped for lunch about 2pm. The fair-sized restaurant was already about half full, but we were seated quickly and able to peruse the menu while enjoying our jamaicas and cervezas. La Tradicion is only open daily from 12pm to 6pm for what would be lunch or early dinner, and their menu is chock-full of typical Yucatecan dishes. We ordered Poc-Chuc, Cochinita Pibil and Pollo Ticuleo. All the dishes were nicely presented and prepared. Although a bit overcooked, the Puc-Chuc was still very tasty. Service was exceptional and friendly, and the prices were very reasonable. It was clear that this restaurant was frequented by locals, and we even ran into some friends with their families. By the time we had completed our leisurely lunch and departed at 3:15pm, the restaurant was basically full with more large groups entering. A fun place to sample Yucatecan cuisine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tradicion also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to La Tradicion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing