We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place were Yucatecos eat Yucatecan food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tradicion

La Tradicion
Ranked #41 of 718 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Here you will find Merida’s best traditional food. Our specialties are made as they used to be using original recipes. Ingredients are carefully selected to achieve the authentic flavor we know you want to experience. Come visit us!, and you will know the true taste of Yucatecan cuisine!
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The place were Yucatecos eat Yucatecan food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Really a great restaurant with excellent local specialties and a nice family environment. It's really a place were locals will go out if they feel like eating yucatecan food so that speaks to how good it is I think.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    68
    36
    16
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yidocraze
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We normally eat at another restaurant for great Yucatecan food, but decided to try this one. The food was great. we ordered several dishes and they were very authentic. One point that we noticed was that the food was not as oily and greasy as other typical yucatecan foods tend to be. the Empanadas were stuffed with shark and fried to a crispy perfection. The stuffed Xcatic peppers were also delicious and the bean soup was one of the best ive had. The decor is a little simpler than Los Almendros, another Yucatecan Restaurant, but the food is definately up there. Actually a lil better in my opinion.
Again, get there anytime before 1:30 pm for lunch because they get packed. Hours are from 1 to 6 Pm, they dont open for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yidocraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
256 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“For a good Yucatecan lunch...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

On the recommendation of some local friends, we stopped for lunch about 2pm. The fair-sized restaurant was already about half full, but we were seated quickly and able to peruse the menu while enjoying our jamaicas and cervezas. La Tradicion is only open daily from 12pm to 6pm for what would be lunch or early dinner, and their menu is chock-full of typical Yucatecan dishes. We ordered Poc-Chuc, Cochinita Pibil and Pollo Ticuleo. All the dishes were nicely presented and prepared. Although a bit overcooked, the Puc-Chuc was still very tasty. Service was exceptional and friendly, and the prices were very reasonable. It was clear that this restaurant was frequented by locals, and we even ran into some friends with their families. By the time we had completed our leisurely lunch and departed at 3:15pm, the restaurant was basically full with more large groups entering. A fun place to sample Yucatecan cuisine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good typical Yucatecan Food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

A really nice restaurant. Very near the hotel areas in Mérida. A very nice atmosfere and the food is excellent.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZorroPlata67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
135 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good But Not Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

While I would certainly recommend a visit , I have found better in Merida. It has a varied menu of well prepared food. I found all my food good but have to say not the best of the local cuisine.
Its obvious they cater to the local regulars. They first tried to give us a not so good table but when we complained they moved us but did not seem too pleased to do so. The service was less than attentive and anytime we needed anything , we had to flag down a waiter. I would recommend you try it because it is an authentic local experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertSDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tradicion also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to La Tradicion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing