We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vegetarian restaurant in Centro”

2012 Espacios Mayas y Algo Mas
Ranked #161 of 759 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Best vegetarian restaurant in Centro”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My partner and I moved to Merida from New York in early March. We are both vegetarian and love 2012. We have eaten there at least 20 times over the last several weeks and still enjoy the experience. The food is flavorful and creative and the service friendly. 2012 is by far our favorite restaurant in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AfricaDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    28
    7
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sonoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely vegetarian restaurant in nice setting”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We are "foodies" from the california wine country and I wish this restaurant was near us. It's a vegetarian place but you would never know there was no meat involved. The flavors and freshness of the food really come through. Nice outdoor seating and VERY reasonably priced for the quality. It's also worth going into the courtyard just to see the wonderful mayan style mural.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank simonofsonoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I cannot believe the reviews of this place”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I went today with 4 friends one a vegetarian. She was the only one of us who liked her food.
And so if that is your only criteria then perhaps you too will like this place. I can't even bring myself to call it a restaurant. The owners are very friendly and the place is pleasant and clean. The service was inadequate but I think that was the kitchen and not the server. First course was soup. One watery insipid "gaspacho" tired by three of us and finished by now one. It was a water tomato juice base with some thin slices of celery floating in it with a sprinkle of the chile powdered laced with lime flavoring. I had a vegetable soup that was fine but not tasty. The empanadas that were ordered as an appetizer for the table did not come until 2 people had their entrees. The first entree to arrive was dish called enchiladas. It has nothing to do with enchiladas but looked and tasted like a pizza made with canned mexican salsa. The canned salsa brand was recognized by the only Mexican at the table with us. The second entree arrive 3 or 4 minutes after the first and that was the veggie dish which was a Nopal cactus with a stuffing of veggie stuff called made from soya and meant to taste like meat but of course it tasted like cardboard. That was topped with Nopal and served with 4 tortillas. The next dish was the empandas which actually tasted fine but had the texture we could only describe as soggy as they were hot and grease soaked. Then came the thing we all wanted to try ... a favorite dish of ours strips of ancho chiles in creme. It was a bowl of bechemelish sauce with some creme and cheese and a few strips of chile with 3 tortillas. We all tasted that and 75% of the dish went back to the kitchen when the meal was finished. The 5th dish to the table I don't remember but it was not enjoyed and then my mole came after two people had finished there food and one of the other people wasn't going to finish his food. Thankfully it was stuffed with eggs and I had ordered stuffed with cheese so I sent it back after one taste. It was a water brown sauce that has as much to do with mole as Nestle's Quick has to do with Chocolate. In fact Quick may have been the main ingredient. This is a restaurant proud to be called vegetarian but not shy about using tins of sauce and boxed juices in their Natural Aguas like Chaya con Pina. The owners sent over a dish of Sikil Pak when they realized we were not enamored of our meal and that was greatly appreciated and rather tasty but I can never set foot in the place again...if it's the last place left standing in 2012.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloXolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
193 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“What a treat”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Found this little gem while wandering the streets during carnival last week and were so pleasantly surprised that we returned on two other occasions during our five day stay. We enjoyed meeting the young couple who have renovated this lovely space and started a small shop with beautiful Guatamalian clothes and crafts and this small very fine vegetarian restaurant.We enjoyed their version of guacamole with hearty chunks of avocado served with a wonderful sauce, our pastas were scrumptious and their smoothies exceptional. The deserts were spectacular and the ice cram, sauces and specialty crepes the best. Amaros might get the publicity but this wonderful new enterprise will be heard from in the future.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flyeroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Divine flavours, lovingly made and lovingly served!”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We were so happy to find this beautiful little place! This alone makes Merida even more special! Step in and find yourself in a cute courtyard with a beautiful mural and flowing water, sit down and enjoy reading through the extensive menu.

Everything on there is to recommend! The food is very flavourful, a feast for the palate! We were there two times in the two days we stayed in Merida and would come back any time again!

They have great appetizers, wonderful and tasty salads with great and fresh ingredients, pasta and fajitas, soy products made into great dishes, veggies with great spices, and awesome fresh juices and smoothies!

You can have the dishes with our without cheese. We are vegan and mostly raw and did not have a problem at all! You tell them and they will cater to you in the most wonderful and tasty way :)

Most of all, these are kind and caring people with a great energy! We wish them all the very best for the future and hope that many more people will come and enjoy their food, vegetarians or not, this is a great place to experience the wonderful Mayan cuisine! Step in, you won't be disappointed!

There is also a store with local crafts of very high quality and an art gallery, a great combination! We would be happy to have such a place at home :)

And best of all... the prices are great, very good value!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beate64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2012 Espacios Mayas y Algo Mas also viewed

 

Been to 2012 Espacios Mayas y Algo Mas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing