We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real true GEM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A real true GEM”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed in room La Gloria...it was Glorious!!!! The hotel was way above our expectations. I had read reviews on trip advisor, so we knew it would be good. Great, more that describes the place. It is a place where you really feel you are "home". The staff is superb. Helpful, polite and out of the way. A real 5 star. We had a private dinner there a well. It was extra, and well worth the cost. Being from San Francisco, we have had some wonderful food experiences. This one rates with the best! The drinks we had there were excellent as well. Treat yourself!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property were the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancyqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    21
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
32
175
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This lovely boutique hotel lies behind a nondescript facade on a fairly unattractive street. Within, it is all high ceilings and pools of water; classic styling and tranquility. We were greeted at check-in with complimentary margaritas. They also did turn-down service and left us some nice chocolates. The wifi is free and good. The included continental breakfast is very nice, particularly the fresh fruit salad with muesli and yoghurt. The location is excellent, just a short walk to the Pasejo Montejo and to the Grand Plaza. There are a few little negatives. The rooms have very high ceilings but are a little on the small side. The sun comes through the skylight in the morning, so you may need a sleeping mask.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and found it delightful.The space itself it lovely with pleasant little courtyards and mini pool,all very pleasing to the eye.We had a balcony room which enhanced the experience and offer another lovely place to sit.Following a long journey from the staff were very helpful when we had to track down a missing bag.They just poured a glass of wine down us and made the key calls.Although they only provide breakfast this was the best we had in Mexico with delicious fruit and,for a little extra, a superb mexican egg dish.I cannot imagine finding anywhere better to stay in this city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandj47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Imagine a beautiful Spanish colonial mansion renovated by an Italian, Stefano, with exquisite taste. Part of the beauty lies in the physical details - the courtyard, the tiles, the patterns, the lighting at night, shadows, and plants. Add onto this exceptional service, starting with a tamarind margarita brought to you upon arrival. The hotel has a core group of staff for the 9 rooms - all caring, attentive, and who know you and your story and make a personal connection. There is always someone at the front door to help, 24 hours per day. The food and bar service are equally as amazing. It is worth having dinner here if you can arrange it - it needs to be requested beforehand. It's really exceptional and personalized. The location is great - on a quiet street but within the historic heart of Merida. The only incremental change I would make would be to add more lighting to the room. It was a bit dark at night in the room at night, even with the lights on. This hotel is really for couples - it's sooo romantic! I came with my older son, but I think it's a perfect place for 2 people in love. I believe it is adults only (no children under 12).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiaSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Casa Lecanda is an oasis of calm and beauty in the hustle and bustle of Merida. The hotel is exquisite and the service impeccable. A truly special treat that is worth every penny. One of our favourite stays in the Yucatan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy_travel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel and we would find it very difficult to find anything that was not 100%.lovely rooms,very comfortable beds and pillows,towels changed even in the evening during dinner.so friendly and helpful staff,great interior top quality a real gem, we had a great stay and look forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: No bad rooms they are just lovely.air con or fans in every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

There really isn't more I need to add. I completely agree with the reviews. A wonderful, wonderful place. It was three of us, my sister and my husband and myself. We had a wonderful and extrtemely relaxing time there. It was hard to push ourselves out the door to do anything and when we did we did not leave for long. I think the BIGGEST mistake people make is not staying longer than one night and not staying at hotel enough. We met a few very nice other guests who wished they were staying longer to take it all in. But this was just a stopover and they realized they made a mistake doing that. And then others packed their days with side trips that they did not enjoy the place either. We met a mother and daughter there who had a hard time checking out because they just felt this pull to stay and just sit and looked at everything around them.
The staff is EXCELLENT! All of them. Thank you Eduardo, Citzi,(spelled wrong I am sure) and the wonderful bartender.
I went for doctor appointments. merida is a wonderful and friendly city. People are smiling and genuinely happy. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel

Property: Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle 47 #471 X 54 Y 56, Merida, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lecanda is a small luxury boutique hotel located within the historical center of Merida, Yucatán. Built in a completely restored traditional Yucatecan home, the hotel has been designed to retain the original Meridian style with points of European luxury so prevalent in the golden age of Merida’s Sisal barons. Painstaking attention to detail, architecture, and landscaping provides guests with a uniquely local experience and a sanctuary within the city; a refuge of serenity, privacy and relaxation. A place our guests can call home as they reach out and discover all the beauty and magnificence that the Yucatan Peninsula has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing