We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful--I could live here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Charming, beautiful hotel with spacious rooms and breezes throughout each charming sitting area in the courtyards. Only detail was step down into the shower, which was unnoticeable when opening the door and caused a fall. We alerted the staff.

I would like my house to look like this place--it is so elegantly decorated. Everyone was truly friendly!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 286 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

I live in Mérida and it is wonderful city. Unfortunately my fiance and I work and study at the same time so we cant take a travel for the weekend.
As a result I decided to make a reservation at this hotel "Casa Lecanda" which provide everything we needed to get some rest.
We loved because first of all the breakfast was really good. Second of all no one disturb you looking for "cleaning the room" as the house keeping make in others hotels. And to finish, since the decoration till the personal attention was perfect.
It is for sure that we are going to go back!

Room Tip: Each room is different so take a look to all of them and then make your choice depending on what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaneuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent hardly speaks highly enough of this wonderful oasis. The location is perfect, the staff attentive, the ambience is superb. We felt like royalty! Totally spoiled and enjoying it all! Thank you very much.

Room Tip: Any rooms would be excellent if like ours - two queen size beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseB247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We recently spent a night in this lovely boutique hotel. The entrance from the street is classic old Mexico-the door is almost on the road and you see nothing. When the door opens you are in another world. The setting, gardens, outdoor rooms, pool and water features are absolutely lovely. Stephano told us it was a fairly recent renovation of an old home that has been done with obvious attention to detail. The staff are ever present but quietly in the background waiting to be of assistance. Our room overlooked the entire interior of the hotel and was furnished with classic Mexican door and a heavenly king bed. Seating was available on a upper balcony outside our room with outdoor curtains shielding us from the sun. Staff were quick to call a taxi, make a dinner reservation. Monica saw to it that anything we needed was available. We look forward to another return visit to this lovely hacienda.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Platina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed our time at the hotel. We were in the balcony room 'Gloria' which was spacious with a large and well equipped bathroom. Like other reviewers we were bitten by mosquitos in our room and would have welcomed a plug-in deterrent. The balcony was great although the stairs up to it and the room were quite steep and we were glad help was at hand for our cases. The staff were kind and helpful but, as mentioned before, a front door key would have saved us waiting outside for the door to be opened.
Breakfast was great and it was nice to have it sitting outside by the pool. The walk in to the Plaza Grande took us 20 minutes along pretty bad pavements which were not too easy to negotiate at night.
If you are looking for a small, intimate hotel away from the noise and bustle of the city then this is it!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are lighter and probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mungoandmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Casa Lecanda. The rooms were beautifully appointed, the staff was very friendly, and the bar served the best tamarind margaritas. The complimentary breakfast was very generous and delicious. A few minor quibbles: It would be nice if the hotel issued a key to the front door to guests so that they don't have to wait in the hot sun (or in the slightly ominous dark street at night) while the staff comes to answer the door, which on once occasion, took 3 rings and a solid 10 minutes. It would also be great if the hotel would invest in one of those mosquito-killing machines. The standing water in the very pretty fountain seems to have turned the property into a breeding ground for mosquitos (there were mosquitos elsewhere in Merida, but there didn't seem to be quite as many) and beautiful old doors are not sufficient protection against them. We were eaten alive on our last night there. The location of the hotel is conveniently between the Paseo de Montejo and Calle 60, which are both lively spots with restaurants and bars. Unfortunately the streets between the hotel and both of these areas were very dark and quite - probably completely safe, but a little scary seeming all the same.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoette0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Casa Lecanda exceeded all our expectations even after reading the other rave reviews. In a great location just off the stylish Paseo de Montejo, this beautifully restored old colonial home is a true oasis in Merida. The owners have displayed excellent taste throughout the renovation, with traditional finishes and a tranquil ambience. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a delightful balcony room with a private outdoor sitting area. However, not a good idea if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
Merida Santiago Hotel Boutique
0.4 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 105 in Merida
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel

Address: Calle 47 #471 X 54 Y 56, Merida, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: $255 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lecanda is a small luxury boutique hotel located within the historical center of Merida, Yucatán. Built in a completely restored traditional Yucatecan home, the hotel has been designed to retain the original Meridian style with points of European luxury so prevalent in the golden age of Merida’s Sisal barons. Painstaking attention to detail, architecture, and landscaping provides guests with a uniquely local experience and a sanctuary within the city; a refuge of serenity, privacy and relaxation. A place our guests can call home as they reach out and discover all the beauty and magnificence that the Yucatan Peninsula has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Lecanda Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing