We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”
Review of Marlin Azul

Marlin Azul
Ranked #108 of 764 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I too find this place to be very special. Great food and great kind staff.i have nothing bad to say about this place and for all those people who,are afraid it will become over run by tourists, don't worry, the place looks too plain and simple for tourists.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalleBroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    34
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had the camarones (shrimp) fajitas, one of Marlin Azul's specialties. The food was relatively inexpensive, but far below average in quality of ingredients and taste. The food was cooked well, but the ingrediients were just not very good. For example, the onions were from the outer layers of the onion, so they were dry and tough. The guacamole was overly pureed and too sour tasting. The "icing on the cake" was not just the cockroach crawling on my seat, but the roach that was crawling up my spouse's leg as we left the restaurant.
There are better restaurants to explore in Merida.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Its_BH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Best Ceviche and Owner”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The owner was closing up for day. I did not realize all the food had been completely sealed and put away when i mentioned to the owner it was my last day in Merida and i love ceviche and heard he had the best in town. Great guy. He offered to quickly fix me a plate and i graciously accepted. It was fantastic. What a great little gem and excellent hospitality!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh fish/seafood in Mérida”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is not an attractive restaurant, but the food is fresh, very good and not expensive. Excellent choice for a limited budget.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carocarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great hole in the wall”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Not very big in size but definitely a great value and great food. The shrimp were incredible. I had the shrimp parillla which were plentiful and delicious with rice and salad. The fried shrimp also looked incredible, And the shrimp cocktails a good size. All food was very reasonably priced for the amount of food and the wonderful flavours. Definitely will return on a future trip to Merida.

Only open until about 4 PM

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlin Azul also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Marlin Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing