We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Japanese in Merida Mexico”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Miyabi

Miyabi
Ranked #67 of 736 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
sunshine coast.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Amazing Japanese in Merida Mexico”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

After the very first bight we knew we were on a winner. A local friend took us there the second night we were in Merida. After 6 days in Cancun where the food was a big let down this was a wonderful surprise. In fact it was so good we went back for dinner twice! The owners were lovely and presentation first rate. We had the gyoza was amazing as was the ramen so fresh. The salmon fantastic and sushi as fresh as can be. A truly wonderful place and one for the books. Now off to New Orleans.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ozteam888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    17
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese Restaurant in Merida North!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We usually don't go to Japanese restaurants outside of Japan, but decided to try Miyabi due to good reputations from locals. We really wanted to meet the Japanese owner since we haven't met any Japanese in town so far. But, unfortunately, the owner wasn't there the night we went. We order several varieties of nigiri sushi and we were not disappointed. It is located in the Northern(Modern) part of Merida in a small strip mall near Carl's Jr. It's a good 15 min taxi drive from Centro. Non sushi items are also good and authentic.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PTRABBIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very good service.”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have been going to this restaurant for about two years. The food has always been very good, if I may say excellent. It has had it ups and downs, especially when the owner had her baby, but they have been able to work out the details and they are back on track. We have found that their quality is very consistent and when they feel that the quality of one of their ingredients is not top quality they will tell you so and not offer you that plate. Their prices are a little on the high side, but I accept it due to the quality and service we get. The drinks and wine are good and reasonably priced. We have never to my memory tried their desserts, for my grandson loves the Argentine Ice cream parlor in the small plaza. I recommend the food, and yes it is a small restaurant, with an even smaller outdoor terrace, but you can call ahead to see how full it is. We normally go at an earlier hour because of my grandson, so we do not experience the problem of finding a table.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FDG44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Seaweed Salad”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place is often filled w regulars, including Japanese couples. The sashimi was good, but the seaweed salad was outstanding. Muy rico.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our first choice for sushi in Merida”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I generally rate restaurants by asking myself, "would this place be successful in Chicago"? My home town may not be Paris, but it boasts a very wide range good restaurants. So when I ask myself if Miyabi would be popular in Chicago, the answer is a resounding "YES". We've been to this location three times now. As others mention, the seaweed salad is very good, not oily at all as it can be at other places. My wife raves about the Spider Roll with soft shell crabs. The crabs are the meatiest I've ever seen. And they give you an extra bit of the crab on the side when you order the roll. Heaven! The eel on our most recent trip was excellent. While the ambiance is not the best (rather generic), it is clean and I've always had great service my the owner himself. Will go back again real soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oskeebob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyabi also viewed

 

Been to Miyabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing