We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worthy of Intercontinental name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Presidente Merida
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel needs some renovation and upgrade. Room had coffee stains in the floor, amenities missing, room service slow and mistaken; overall impression of hotel does not match with Intercontinental brand, it really should be downgraded.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Alexandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Presidente Merida, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Alexandra V,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction is the utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience the overall cleanliness of the room may have caused during your stay and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspect. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and thank you very much for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Presidente Merida
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 629 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights, two at the end of our small group archaeological tour of Yucatan and three on our own post tour. The hotel was very clean, the beds, and especially the pillows, very comfortable and the staff very pleasant and friendly. The breakfast buffet was extensive with many local as well as international choices. The staff very kindly set out a small breakfast for us on our last morning when we had to leave by 5 am (coffee, juice, rolls). Much appreciated and unexpected! As others have mentioned, the hotel is somewhat far from the center of Merida but if you like strolling through a city it is possible to walk, or take a cab in for a reasonable price (about 40 pesos or less than $4). The hotel is a short walk from Paseo Montejo, the main street lined with many historic buildings, some now museums, restaurants, and a branch of the Colon ice cream parlor which offers many marvelous and exotic fruit flavors.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arkytrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful service and people on staff.
The business upgrade for breakfast in the private lounge is incredible.
Our only complaint is the small and poorly designed pool. More for sitting by than actually swimming. But would stay here again for sure. Thank you Carlos and Ruby!!
Geostatic and spouse

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geostatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is quite far from the center, but if you a haver car that wouldn't be a problem. Although the parking smells horrible, try using the valet.
My only complain is the water of the pool that was cold during the winter.
The best of the stay was the food, I had breakfast at the buffet, it was pretty good and it was different every day with a lot of options. The best food I ate was the Room Service, everything was delicious!! Compared with an expensive restaurants in the area, consider staying a night out and try the menu while laying on the comfortable bed of your room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our tour of the Yucatan. The hotel staff were the friendliest we came across on our trip. A special thanks goes to Carlos and Elena who couldn't do enough to help me organise a surprise birthday breakfast for my husband!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank JKP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff here, from front desk, concierge, to restaurant, all provide amazing service such as remembering our names, displaying cheerful attitudes, offering timely service, etc. The overall value was amazing and the general decor/room condition great. Although there were a couple minor problems in our two rooms, they were addressed by the staff immediately, so it doesn't impact the overall stay experience at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

hotel is ok, the best part of my stay was the food in the restaurants, the rooms are outdated and not very clean. the service was not amazing, which was a huge dissapointment because mexican people are usually very nice and very service oriented.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#16 of 106 in Merida
1,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#27 of 106 in Merida
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 106 in Merida
300 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#3 of 106 in Merida
441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#21 of 106 in Merida
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Presidente Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Presidente Merida

Address: Avenida Colon, Calle 33-a Centro 500, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Merida
#6 Business Hotel in Merida
#8 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#12 Family Hotel in Merida
#16 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range: $92 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Presidente Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Presidente Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Merida Hotel Merida
Presidente Intercontinental Mercedes
Intercontinental Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing