We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Presidente Merida
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

hotel is ok, the best part of my stay was the food in the restaurants, the rooms are outdated and not very clean. the service was not amazing, which was a huge dissapointment because mexican people are usually very nice and very service oriented.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    241
    71
    26
    8
See reviews for
124
219
28
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in the Intercontinental Merida in 2007 with friends when we were attending a wedding at Hacienda Temozon.
The hotel was very comfortable, especially the king size bed. We wish all hotels could have beds like this!
Also thanks to the nice staff for the wonderfull stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariska77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I didn't have a pleasant stay at this hotel. It all started with having to request three different irons because the first two didn't work. All this process took about an hour and fighting an iron is the last thing you want after a long day of work. The bed was real bad, I noticed it was very hard and next morning when I woke up I noticed the mattress was upside down, I guess the mattress was very old and they decided to turn it upside down to use it a little longer. The coffee table was dirty, I noticed it when I checked into the room but I didn't care. What I cared about was not having any sugar or cream for my morning coffee. On top of that, they charge for internet. This was the first time for me staying at this hotel and I don't think I will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

For those used to to staying at Intercontinental hotels around the world, you might be dissapointed.

The "happy hour" at the club level (I'm an Intercon Ambassador) limits you to 2 miniature beers or wine. First time I've seen this at an Intercon. Food was good but VERY limited.

Rooms are adequate, smallish but definitely up to the Intercon standards. Staff are well trained and VERY friendly. I wish I could remember the name of one of the bell boys who helped us arrange a tour, not the concierge, but one of the bell boys, go figure. He definitely went "above and beyond"

The hotel is located in the "hotel zone" of Merida. Not the historic center, but the hotel zone where the Hyatt, Holiday Inn, Inter and Fiesta Americana are located. Police patrols (three car caravans with lights flashing) pass by every 15 minutes or so, I actually timed it while dining at Chilis, on the Fiesta Americana complex, across the street from the Inter. Also there is a permanent police car parked in the area, definitely makes one feel safer. The PLATINUM bus station (ADO) from Cancun is right across the street so very convenient. A 7-11 type store is right in front of the hotel also.

Would I stay here again? Probably not, I prefer the historic center area, closer to the Zocalo. Casa De Balam is where I would probably stay, been there, reasonable price, great location, decent rooms.

From 1 to 10, taking everything into account, I would give the inter Mertida a 7-8.

Almost forgot, DO NOT order seafood from the restaurant, at least from my experience, it was NOT fresh.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Merida is a beautiful city with magnificient historical buildings and with so much to see that you will continue to return to see more. I have stayed in Merida many times over the past few years (last year over 60 days); the hotel rooms are larger than the other luxury hotels in the area, the rooms are very clean, the beds are comfortable, with good cold A/C, nice soft pillows, cool smooth white sheets, warm comforters, we have never ran out of hot water in the shower, the towels are heavy with a clean smell and the majority of the rooms have great views. The hotel is convenient for business or leisure with a great restaurant downstairs; you can take a 10 minute taxi ride to the centro or walk within a block for the bus, catch a horse and buggy ride across the street, or walk 1 block to the stunning Paseo de Montejo. There is a small shopping center diagonally across the street, a convenience store and pharmacy directly across the street, Walmart 2 blocks away, and several restaurants within 1-5 minute walking distance from the hotel.

The hotel has a new Operations Manager, Janet, who practically lives at the hotel and can be seen everywhere; she is in any department at any given time (she may have been cloned). The hotel staff are very friendly, attentive and willing to assist you in any manner possible. If you need assistance for day trips or general information ask for the concierge, Carlos, he is absolutely excellent in making arrangements or suggesting places to go see or where to dine. In the hotel restaurant Chef Sergio is wonderful and the food is delicious; if you get a chance eat there on Saturday or Sunday for the breakfast buffet at 10am and get an opportunity to listen to the trio musicians while enjoying a delicious meal. The entire staff are fabulous and always willing help and ready to please their guests. This is definitely one of the best hotels in Merida.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quieter; my preference are club rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romtravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonial Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The staff at this hotel were friendly and quite helpful. We'd certainly stay here again. The front desk staff spoke English and helped me get oriented for my stay. This hotel is great for business as it is relatively close the the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 261Mark261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My family and I have stayed at this hotel for 6 weeks and it has been nothing short of exceptional.
The staff are lovely, very helpful and sweet. Rooms are very clean and charming and I love the fact that even though it is a corporate type hotel it still keeps its charm.
The restaurant downstairs is fabulous with lovely waiters. Love the breakfast buffet. Earnesto and Gustav are my favorites! Gutav is great in recommending different foods from the region and Earnesto is a sweetheart. They would sometimes bring up treats for my 2 year old and 5 year old because we have been here so long. I love this hotel and would definitely return!

Room Tip: a room overlooking the pool is lovely. rooms have been recently refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janeth G, Gerente de Division Cuartos at InterContinental Presidente Merida, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Warm Greetings from Presidente InterContinental Merida!

Your detailed and amazing review encourages us to do our best efforts to make your next visit an unforgettable time, your opinions were shared with staff.

Thank you kindly for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Cordially,

Janeth Garcia
Rooms Division Manager
Hotel Presidente InterContinental Mérida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#18 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#34 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Presidente Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Presidente Merida

Property: InterContinental Presidente Merida
Address: Avenida Colon, Calle 33-a Centro 500, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Merida
#6 Business Hotel in Merida
#9 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#12 Family Hotel in Merida
#16 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Presidente Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Presidente Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Merida Hotel Merida
Presidente Intercontinental Mercedes
Intercontinental Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing