We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great service, but could improve somethings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Presidente Merida
Ranked #17 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I stayed at the presidente with my family. THe hotel is nice, but several things could improve. The room although big had a worned out safety box (could not see the numbers), also several things were broguht into the room one or 2 days after we had arrived (the small bedside rugs, etc).
The other thing that really needs fixing is the intense raw-sewage smell on the underground parking-lot, they really need to do something about it.
On the plus side, the bell-button staff was really nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZorroPlata67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Presidente Merida, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear ZorroPlata67,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 644 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

Room interiors are of really good quality (in its category). Architecture of the hotel is the most appealing feature. Coffee service inside the room was kind of awful, thanks to the low quality instant-like coffee. It's quite near city centre so location is a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I was with my family for three nights and occupied three rooms. in every room there is a lack of attention to detail and proper maintenance.
For special needs I was in two different rooms. And this was the worst thing that could happen. The second room had view of a busy street, for some reason the mini bar had been removed from the room, and four o'clock in the morning a truck of gas service was for an hour giving me a noisy serenade reporting it to the reception I was offered a room change at that time!!. The bath tub was damaged. In another room we occupied the smoke detector was broken and the bathroom sink had a crack.
I must say the rooms are very spacious as are the bathrooms, the beds are comfortable, the hotel has a good location, not a bad hotel but definitely need more attention to maintenance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorgecancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Presidente Merida, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

jorgecancun,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Our visit to Merida could not have been better thanks to the great service at this hotel. Everyone was friendly and helpful during our stay. Carlos and Maggie ( the concierges) were especially knowledgable and gracious in recommending local and authentic restaurants and places of interest.
The hotel is a long walk from the main plaza but a taxi ride is only about 5 to 10 minutes and 25-30 pesos.
The room was clean, spacious and the best of our trip.

Room Tip: Opt for the club level...breakfast and double espresso were very good and drinks and small plates in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anrewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in! The rooms are excellent and the staff are very helpful, knowledgable, and friendly. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone travelling to Merida in Mexico.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackPtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I spent one night on February 2nd at this hotel. From the moment I set foot on the door steps until when I left the service was 5 stars. The room was impeccable, with a view of the city streets.
WIFI was excellent. The restaurant although only offered French cuisine due to a promotion they had, was very accomodating in fullfiling our non-french requests. The hotel sits directly across the Fiesta Americana hotel, which has a small mall with great stores that offer traditional wear (Guayabaeras). You are not too far from Paseo Montejo; a great place to see historic homes. Beautiful grounds and very clean. Definitely a place to stay in Merida

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the executive level, which is the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pichungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights right before Christmas 2011. All in all it is a very pleasant hotel with nice clean spacious rooms, an atmospheric lobby, and some excellent facilities such as a small gym, pool, and bar. The rooms are classic, with comfortable beds, clean bathrooms etc. 'Nothing wrong with' but also not particular 'anything special'. The building itself is gorgeous though, with a colonial/old world vibe. Only two negative points come to mind. First of all the staff needs to work on their English language skills. And two: the hotel is a bit far from the city centre. Definitely not walking distance, you will need a taxi, whcih takes about 7-10 minutes. Taxis are fairly cheap and reliable though. We haven't tried other hotels in Merida but if you can find something a bit more in the city center this might be worth considering. Otherwise you are likely to have a very comfortable stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#13 of 105 in Merida
1,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#26 of 105 in Merida
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Merida
Holiday Inn Merida
#39 of 105 in Merida
347 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#21 of 105 in Merida
306 reviews
1.3 mi away
Merida Santiago hotel boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Presidente Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Presidente Merida

Address: Avenida Colon, Calle 33-a Centro 500, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Merida
#6 Business Hotel in Merida
#8 Family Hotel in Merida
#9 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#16 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range: $91 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Presidente Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Presidente Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Presidente Merida Hotel Merida
Presidente Intercontinental Mercedes
Intercontinental Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing