We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/16/23
Algotels
Destinia.com
$61
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/17/23
Expedia.com$88
Priceline$108
Hotels.com$88
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveler rating
174
176
60
13
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
174
176
60
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two blocks the main square beautiful courtyard sun loungers historic building charming hotel small restaurant three nights swimming pool ceiling fan air conditioner mission mexico
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 432 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2018

This is a small hotel, but the staff went so above and beyond that sometimes I felt like we were the only people there. I was there with my 90 year old father who walks with difficulty. We had rooms on the first floor and the staff was always around helping him, and his elderly sister and cousin who was in a wheelchair. They would help them out of the taxi, and push the wheelchair around the hotel for us. One of the mornings, when my father slept in and missed breakfast (restaurant is open until 11:00 AM for breakfast), they made sure to fix him some coffee and light breakfast so he wouldn't go hungry. They helped me book a tour to the Mayan ruins and were very helpful calling a taxi, etc. Basically, anything they could do to help us. The hotel is immaculate and beautiful. The rooms are small and the beds tend to be a little hard, like most hotels in Mexico. The showers are good with plenty of hot water. All necessary amenities are provided. Our rooms had ceiling fans and AC. The restaurant is also open for dinner, 6-10. The location is 1 1/2 blocks from the main plaza. On Sunday, there is a market at the plaza. There are wheelchair ramps, though they are narrow. There are a few steps up and down. I think bathrooms would be tight to maneuver in for people in wheelchairs. There is no elevator. If we go back there, I would absolutely book a room here again.

Room tip: Rooms in the rear section are very quiet. The rooms in the front section are some of the original rooms and are probably bigger.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
FRAYDIEGO M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Mision de Fray Diego, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

Thank you very much for writing us such a nice comment. We really enjoy having them with us and being able to serve them in everything they need. We are very pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a memorable and satisfactory stay. We hope you can visit us again. We are going to check the bed since this year we improved them all to make them softer. We take into account what he tells us. Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights while exploring Merida and its surroundings. We arrived in the evening and the person at the reception wasn’t super friendly but gave us the room key and showed us the room.

We were greeted by a not very nice smell (a bit like an old humid basement). The room was not very big but big enough. Everything was clean and tidy including the bathroom and the overall hotel area.
The pool isn’t huge but enough to cool off.

We were coming from other hotels with very hard beds so we were hoping for more comfy beds but unfortunately were disappointed... the mattress lies on a bunch of inflexible latches nailed to the wooden bed. The mattress itself was hard and the latches didn’t move to compensate for that. We both didn’t sleep well the whole 3 nights we stayed there.

The breakfast wasn’t special, but fresh and for that price tag really absolutely fine.

The staff was great and super friendly at all times , only the receptionist upon our arrival seemed a bit annoyed but he may just have had a bad day.

There are tons of restaurants in a few minutes walking distance and the central Plaza is also just a few blocks away. There are several shops, supermarkets etc nearby.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Floloferer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
FRAYDIEGO M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Mision de Fray Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

Thanks for your preference. It's good that in general you had a pleasant stay with us. It has time we improved our beds but we are going to review what you say to improve our services. Thanks for writing to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

From check in to check the staff were very good.
We stayed 3 nights & we found it very conveniently located.
There are more crosses than you can shake a stick at and the hot water was non existent before 06:30.
Breakfast was fine but basic.
We spent a pleasant late afternoon chilling by the pool & we both got bitten quite badly so wear repellent

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 328AndrewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
FRAYDIEGO M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Mision de Fray Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Thank you for your preference. We enjoyed hosting you. We are checking all you comment to improve our services and avoid thins like these happen again. Thanks once again for writing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful, quiet and tranquil small hotel very close to Merida’s central square. Clean rooms with beautifully laundered crisp white cotton sheets. Best night’s sleep in Mexico! Lovely, helpful staff. Breakfast from 7-11, restaurant from 6-9. Nice swimming pool.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank veronicamgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
FRAYDIEGO M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Mision de Fray Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Thank you very much for al your very nice comments. It is very lovely to know we got to provide you a memorable stay with us and yo enjoyed our hotel. We hope you can visit us in a short future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018

Enjoyed my stay for 3 nights at this hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Main drawback was no lift and my room was on the third floor. I suppose it was good exercise but as an older person I would have preferred a lift. A pleasant pool, OK breakfast, excellent room. Great spot for exploring Merida.

Room tip: No lift and you may get a room on the third floor
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
FRAYDIEGO M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at La Mision de Fray Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind comment. It has been a pleasure to have you with us and love to know you enjoyed our hotel. We sorry for the third floor. We recomend you to tell us speciual request during your reservation so we can try to give you a room more comfortable for your needs. Than you once again for your preference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews