We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delightful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Medio Mundo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Medio Mundo
Ranked #5 of 84 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Delightful Stay”
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We had a delightful four-night stay at MedioMundo and entirely concur with what recent reviewers have written. Our room was clean and quiet; we enjoyed the sound of the fountain in the courtyard and the songs of birds in the mornings. The breakfasts were first-rate, and the staff was always kind and helpful. We booked trips to Uxmal and Chichen Itza through the hotel and had excellent experiences with the tour operator, Turitransmerida. The guides were knowledgeable and courteous; they both gave us valuable information and left us alone for a good amount of time in order to explore the sites on our own. For restaurants we can recommend La Casa de Frida and La Flor de Santiago.

  • Liked — The serenity of the place and the lovely staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    62
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
58
171
21
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2008

Just back from travelling throughout the Yucatan Peninsula. This was by far the favourite place I stayed. Real character, gorgeous breakfasts, very friendly staff, good value and clean and colourful rooms. Couldn't find a single complaint.

  • Liked — Their delicious breakfasts by the pool
  • Disliked — Very little
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LynnDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, NM
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

I stayed here for one week in January 2008. The location was great, and my room was simple but elegant. The staff was super, and the breakfast each morning was delicious - and well worth the extra $8/day. I paid $75/night and felt it was quite reasonable. The hotel has a nice gift shop.
My only complaint was the doorbell. Since you have to check your room key when you leave for the day or go out at night, you have to ring the bell to be let back in. The weather was fairly mild, so my room windows were always open. It was hard to take a nap when you could hear the comings & goings of the other guests (i.e. the doorbell).
All in all though, I would stay here again. I did think the list of "rules" was a bit long, but as a property owner can understand why it was needed to put the expectations of all parties out there.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank dustytrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bch Cty, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel this past December, for two weeks and could not have wished for a better location, atmosphere, or service. The rooms are simply but adequately and tastefully, furnished with good quality linens on the beds. Yes, there are rules, however we did not have any sense of "being watched"...indeed, the rules gave us a sense of security, knowing that strangers would not be wandering in and out of the hotel. As for the air-conditioning, any traveler knows that many major hotels around the world, now have a sensor that regulates the air conditioning...when you leave the air goes off. The staff members are well trained and offer impeccable service
and there is no better value in Merida. This is a beautiful, small hotel that provides a comfortable, quiet oasis in a big city.

  • Liked — Beautiful, Calm Ambiance
  • Disliked — No Computer Access
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryFromFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We spent 3 nights at MedioMundo over New Year's (2007). The place is lovely, the staff friendly, the rooms beautiful and comfortable. We would not hesitate to return.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank texmexicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

My husband and I spent nearly a week at Medio Mundo in October as our base of operations for a Yucatan trip. It was the best hotel we have stayed at, hands down, in 10 years of traveling.

The room was incredibly clean, the service wonderful, and we can't say enough about the staff. We had breakfast at the hotel every day, we kept aiming to try something else, but couldn't tear ourselves away from the garden, the coffee, food, and the great conversation.

Nelson was a great resource for local information, we really enjoyed talking to him. All of the staff had great recommendations (especially a swim and some Sopa De Lima when overheated after a long day of sight seeing) and were very accommodating.

We will recommend this hotel to anyone we know who is going to Merida, and we hope to return soon too!

Thank you, Nelson and Nicole for the hospitality, and the gorgeous experience at your hotel. We are trying to remember your mantra in our daily lives, "it is not elegant to hurry".

  • Liked — It was incredibly peaceful.
  • Disliked — We had to go home.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brynelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ydetre
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Just returned from MedioMundo. Still basking in the glow of the experience--and Merida, in general. MedioMundo provides the essential elements: beautiful, simple rooms, a clean, refreshing pool, and a warm, accomodating staff. Like most of the buildings in Merida, the hotel has an anonymous facade, but once the doors open you step into a foyer where you're confronted with a beautiful garden and fountain. The rooms ring the courtyard on the first and second floors-- I'd suggest requesting a corner room towards the back. In the rear of hotel is the poo, surrounded by tables for breakfast. The only critique I have is the breakfast -- it's essentially fruit, yogurt, and bread. Not all that remarkable. And you're money will go much farther a few blocks away. But, the coffee is wonderful and the waiters are great. And it's the perfect spot to start the day.

By way of comparison, many of our friends were at the Marionetas a few blocks away. It's cute, about half the size of MedioMundo, and, from what I understand, a bit more expensive. Given the choice, I would stay again at MedioMundo. It had a very captivating vibe. And the owners were really nice.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ydetre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#9 of 103 in Merida
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#21 of 103 in Merida
464 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.5 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medio Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medio Mundo

Property: Hotel Medio Mundo
Address: Calle 64 Y 66 | Centro Merida, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel MedioMundo is an enchanting 10 guestroom hotel located in the historical center of the colonial city of Merida, Mexico on the Yucatan Peninsula. A fine quality gift shop and a cafe serving 100% vegan international cuisine are located on the premises and are open to the public. Hotel MedioMundo has been welcoming travelers from all over the world since 2001. We offer our guests an urban oasis with lush tropical patios and pool, an intimate and serene atmosphere, and genuine Yucatecan hospitality to come home to after a hard day of vacationing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Medio Mundo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing