We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Trattoria La Pasta

Trattoria La Pasta
Ranked #43 of 756 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Trattoria boasts a relaxed and informal atmosphere providing good food at a good price. The name comes from 'Tratore' that in Italian means 'to prepare good food'. Trattoria is not only a wonderful lunch stop, but at night we transform into an intimate and romantic atmosphere. We enjoy the company of our regular guests and look forward to meeting new ones as well! In 'Trattoria la Pasta' you can taste our hand made pasta and our sauces made following the old recipes of my family. You will spend some great time with good food, wine and music. With your friends, your family or with your special someone, you will be able to enjoy all the Mediterranean flavors that 'Trattoria La Pasta' offers you.
Villahermosa, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Flavor not explicit, but good food and enjoyable atmosphere. Overall a place to come back, decent prices.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Apnea Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    104
    44
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
310 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“delightful!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Trattoria was recommended by friends in Merida and we were not disappointed. We went back twice during an 8 day stay. The location, especially when eating outside on the Paseo Montejo is quite charming, you fell like you are in Paris. The food is quite good and the portions large so they beg to be shared. Salads were wonderful, pizzas great, and the fresh pasta excellent. You pick your pasta from one side of the menu and sauce from the other, quite a choice! Our waitress was excellent and took care of us both times we ate there and we certainly hope to see her again when we go back in Dec. and Jan. this year. All in all, a place for a great evening in Merida, enjoy the food, the city and the horse drawn carriages on the street.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Such a shame...”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This restaurant is nicely situation on Paseo Montejo. Great menu. My friend and I ordered the roast beef starter. I ordered the fresh spinach pasta with alfredo sauce. Very disappointing. It was no creamy, extremely salty, and bacon was underdone. It could have been from a packet. My friend's pasta was the sausage and mushroom, not as salty, but a definite "packet" taste from it. Service very good, but a pity their pasta sauces are less than average.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunbury6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
163 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Mediocre Italian food”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

In much wandering around Merida, it seemed that most "Italian" restaurants there were nothing more than pizzerias. A friend suggested we try Trattoria La Pasta. It looks nice from the outside. The interior is warm and inviting with lots of old Hollywood photos of yesteryear stars dining in restaurants. I actually enjoyed the music which was I believe Tony Bennett. If they could get the food right, it would be a nice place. However, there were no pasta selections with classic Marinara sauce. I am a fan of classic spaghetti and meatballs or sausage with a bold tomatoey Marinara sauce. A staple item on Italian menus. The closest thing they had was some sort of conglomeration of tomatoes and vegetables over pasta, which I didn't care for at all. I found that most Italian menus I saw in Merida only offered Spaghetti Bolognese, which I am no a big fan of. My wife had some type of creamy pesto pasta, which seemed to have liked well enough. They had some reasonably priced house wines. The service was good and it is conveniently located, and easy to find.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OregonCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Given our good experiences with other Italian restaurants in Merida, and its location on Paseo Montejo, we expected this to be a good place to eat. It wasn't. The food was mediocre at best; overpriced given the quality. The background music was loud and annoying. The staff, with this exception of the young woman who waited on us, were unfriendly. She was the only good part of the whole experience. This is definitely a place to avoid.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank djbpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria La Pasta also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria La Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing