We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and horrible food.”
Review of La Choperia - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Choperia
Cuisines: Brazilian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced and horrible food.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I think this horrible restaurant has closed. If not, be prepared for horrible food, bad service and ridiculous prices. We were so disappointed. This was the first and only restaurant that disappointed us in Merida.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daisy2837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Too many owners...”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have been to La Choperia many times, even the first month they opened at a Brazilian Restaurant. More recently I met the new chef that informed me it had closed and then re-opened under an owner from outside Mexico City and was no longer serving that type of food. I returned a month or so later and the chef was now the manager (Feb 2013) with a dumbed down over priced menu. I believe they had a $23 Hamburger! Ouch! By the end of February they seemed to be closed again during regulare business hours so I recommend checking with a local or calling before planning an evening there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bfl2bze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful - But I believe it may be closed”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Will be back in Merida Thursday and see for myself. Nice restaurant close to yhe Villa Tievoli. A well appointed bar and a diverse menu. Good for late night dinners and gatherings.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fun on Fifth”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great people watch...good beer, nice place. Just the beer prices a little high with so many other better deals. A beer is a beer HA

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kwdoug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Closed for Renovation”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

In Merida, that is usually the death sentance..........

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank giovannivincinzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Choperia also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing