We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hacienda VIP
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Colonial(Merida)(Great Value!)
$45
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel del Peregrino(Merida)(Great Value!)
$50
$48
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$71
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$71
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mision de Fray Diego(Merida)(Great Value!)
$89
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hacienda Inn(Merida)(Great Value!)
$34
$32
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$145
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveler rating
154
28
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
28
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelhigh ceilingsvisiting uxmalnoisy citybalcony overlooking the poolcoffee machinebeautiful hotelfew minutes walkhuge bathroompeaceful oasislobby areawithin walking distancepersonal servicespacious roomfirst floorthe heart of the citytop floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 191 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2014

When we arrived we we're taken to the third floor to a room with a great view. It was extremely hot and we really tried to make it work. We even told the owner during breakfast however he seemed unconcerned. After one night of sleeping in miserable heat we talked the front desk into moving us to a room on the first floor with a bigger AC unit. What a difference. The room was much nicer and kept us very cool. Outside of the temperature everything else at the VIP was amazing. The staff was very helpful and the pool was refreshing and peaceful. We arranged a day trip through the hotel to Uxmal and stopped at several Haciendas along the way. I highly reccomend spending the extra dollars for a private tour. The VIP really went the extra mile to ensure we were very well entertained.

Room Tip: Go with the first floor if you want to stay cool.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dupont2Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Our stay in this hotel was delightful.The ambience was that of a Mexican home,simply ,yet tastefully furnished.We had two rooms with a private staircase,overlooking the pool.The air conditioning was adequate,breakfast was simple but made to order.Isaac and Julio , receptionists cum concierge,were fluent in English and made life easy for us.

Room Tip: I would suggest staying upstairs as the rooms are well lit and have a great view.We were in rooms 5 and 6.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glamviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This really is a beautiful hotel, with stunning architecture in a very grand setting. We found the staff to be pleasant and the atmosphere to be tranquil. Our room was a good size, with excellent bathroom and a lovely view of the garden. As a family with a young child, I would say that this hotel is not suitable for a family for more than a couple of days and is very much aimed at couples and lends itself to more of an adult vibe.

Why 4* and not 5*? The food was okay, but did not live up to the exquisite setting. When we tried to book out of the hotel, it took us 20 minutes to locate a member of staff. Not the end of the world - but not 5* treatment!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewYorkyLondener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

In the heart of the historical center of Merida, Hacienda Merida VIP is an intimate hotel offering a haven of comfort after a day spent discovering the fabulous Maya temples and wandering in the streets of this charming town.
We enjoyed the warm and tasteful decoration of this hotel, the secluded and peaceful atmosphere, the kindness and competent service of the staff, and the spaciousness of the room.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms facing the pool (private terraces on 1st and 2nd floor)
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oniros31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for 2 nights last week and it was just a lovely experience. The hotel is a quiet oasis in the middle of a bustling town, yet very centrally located so that you can walk everywhere. With just 6 rooms, it is very intimate. The decor is lovely and the hotel is beautifully restored, in keeping with the architecture of the town. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made our overall experience just perfect.
No complaints and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyBlueSky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews