We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good botanas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eladio's Bar Centro

Eladio's Bar Centro
Ranked #111 of 718 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Pub, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Coldwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Very good botanas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

The music can be loud. The beer isn't cheap, but you get a meal of good botanas with it so the overall experience is a fair value - if you're hungry,

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    34
    11
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“GREAT MEXICAN ATMOSPHERE AND NICE PLACE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

We went there thanks to Mexican friends from Merida (it is only 35kms frm the city)during the Carnival we. Plenty of appetizers with yucateque food, excellent fresh fishes (huachinangos) and seafood.
We just loved this family-style restaurant, friendly place and atmosphere. The band played joyfully and waiters, though overworked, made their best for us.
It is a pleasant souvenir, we'll come back next time we can stop in Merida.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ISA34380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

As famous as Eladios restaurants are in Merida and Pregreso, seems this chain has seen better days. Once billed as a traditional Yucatan eatery, now operates more of a bar. Friendly and attentive waiters, food not great but ok, expensive beers and drinks, music soooo loud one can't hear the person sitting next to them. Spanish and English menus availabe, however, note that English menu prices are much higher! Recent complaints to the city about the Merida Calle 59 location led to the discoverly the restaurant has never had proper permits to operate a restuarant which could indicate lack of health inspections??? Eat at you own risk!

  • Visited November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mondochuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“AMERICANS BEWARE-DO NOT PAY CASH- THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

We ate supper here on 9/29/10. The outdoor beach dining was very nice, but that ended up being the only nice thing about this place. At the start of our meal we were given "on the house" chips and salsa, this was followed by more "on the house" appetizers, and more...until FINALLY our meal arrived. We should have just paid for our drinks and left, but we had not noted the time when we arrived. The food was average at best. The worst part came when we were leaving. I PAID WITH PESOS IN CASH AND INCLUDED THE TIP. AS WE WERE WALKING AWAY THE WAITER CALLED US BACK, AND GUESS WHAT? $100 PESOS HAD DISAPPEARED (INTO HIS POCKET) FROM THE AMOUNT THAT HAD BEEN LEFT WITH OUR BILL. Being an honest AMERICAN and trying to not cause a scene in front of my children, I coughed up another $100 peso. I should have taken the time to think about it, and stiffed him on his tip, or asked for the manager. SO KEEP THIS IN MIND AND EITHER PAY WITH CREDIT CARD, OR COUNT OUT THE MONEY TO THE WAITER. FYI THE PEMEX ATTENDANT BY VALLADOLID TRIED THIS SAME TRICK. I WOULD SUGGEST YOU WALK FURTHER EAST DOWN THE MALECON AND EAT AT FLAMINGOES. THE WAITERS AT FLAMINGOES WERE VERY FRIENDLY, HERE WE PAID WITH CREDIT CARD (just in case),AND THE FOOD AT FLAMINGOES WAS EXCELLENT!!!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WISCONSINPACKERFANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eladio's Bar Centro also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Eladio's Bar Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing