We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!! Service”

Adventures Mexico Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Merida Street Food Walking Tour
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Taste of Yucatan: Merida Cooking Class
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Merida Cantinas Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 10 Food & Drink in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventures Mexico is a tour company providing travel programs to Mexico for individuals, families and groups. We strive to deliver memorable travel experiences for any occasion from Mexico City to the Yucatan Peninsula, the Copper Canyon and the states of Oaxaca and Chiapas. We also have a Tour for foodies the "Taste of Yucatan Merida Cooking class"
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!! Service”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I emailed Luis at 11pm in the evening 2 days before Christmas asking if he could accommodate a last minute request to pick up a group of 5 of us at the airport early the following morning in Merida and then take us on a tour for the day. To my happy surprise he called immediately and set everything up. We were picked up promptly, taken to Mayan ruins, a lovely lunch and then Cenotes. The driver/guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. He was able to not only guide us through the ruins but share a lot of history with us about the area, the food, the people, etc.. It is rare to find someone who cares enough to respond so quickly and to accommodate such a crazy last minute holiday request, and to do so with kindness and without charging a premium for the service. I definitely recommend using Adventures Mexico Day Tours - and look forward to working with Luis and his team again in the future

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    10
    3
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
“Best part of our trip”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Luis set us up with a private transfer and tour guide from Cancun to Merida. It was wonderful! The guide had a college education in Mayan history and took us to Chichen Itza and a fantastic cenote nearby. Wonderful conversation and guide. One of the highlights of our trip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A taste of the Yucatan cooking adventure - a fantastic day”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived in Merida yesterday and in the afternoon I decided to look at opportunities for learning how to cook some of our favourite Yucatan food. I came across Adventures Mexico and sent and email not really expecting anything at short notice. I received an email back from Luis within an hour telling me today would be possible. Within another hour Luis had cycled to our hotel to enable me to pay and everything was set.

Our guide was Jorge whom we met at a hotel in the centre and proceeded to the main market. Our chef Laura met us at the market and the 6 of us spent a couple of hours walking through the busy market learning about the spices and herbs. We had opportunities to try some favourite snacks - I won't spoil it for the reader as to what we tried but do try it all - it will surprise you.

The children loved this experience as well. Jorge and Laura made them feel very comfortable the whole time. After the market we took a public bus to Laura's house and then we started making lunch: Sopa de Lima, Pollo Pibil and a Lime dessert that was so easy - the kids will be trying it again when we get back home to Australia.

Its a hands on experience in Laura's home which was fantastic not a cooking class in a school. It was a great opportunity to slow down and talk to local people who love what they do and a city they adore.

After nearly 11 weeks away from home this was definitely a highlight for me of our travels throughout Central America.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CookCorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cooking Yucatecan Cuisine”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is NOT a pretentious cooking class, where you only nod & observe. This is a true, hands-on experience, enhanced by the hospitality of Laura & Lewis. My partner & I had a great time cooking with them. We experienced new ingredients & flavors that make Yucatan cuisine so delicious. And we made two new friends. This was a high-note of our two week stay in Merida.

We highly recommend this tour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Real Merida”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was an excellent way to experience the real Merida. We took the cooking tour with Luis. We met and went to the Mercado to shop for fresh ingredients for lunch and to feel the energy where the locals shop. Then it was on to Luis's casa to meet the charming Laura who showed us how to prepare some excellent lunch time delights (lime soup to die for). A lovely couple and an unforgettable way to spend 6 easy hours. ;-)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventures Mexico Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Adventures Mexico Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing