We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place was clean, Staff spoke good English”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Continental
Ranked #50 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Place was clean, Staff spoke good English”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a very nice hotel a few blocks away from downtown. The place was modern enough and rooms were clean. The staff was very informative and spoke good English. We bought street food back one night and asked for utensils and plate. The staff lent us the stuffs from the kitchen, also let us heat some food up with the microwave. There was no refrigerator in the kitchen but we were allowed to keep our drinks in the hotel kitchen. There is a free parking lot although it was almost a block away, but no big deal. Breakfast in the morning was pretty good. Overall, great value, I would stay again if I ever return to Merida.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violetcraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    43
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
49
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
watertown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We only stayed 3 nights there but could not fault it. The place was clean and cheap for what was on offer. I would go back there on my next trip. We found it a very good location to visit Uxmal, Celestun and other places.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent 2 weeks, 10/10 to 10/24/2012, at Casa Continental and found it to be an outstanding value. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The facility is kept clean. The price is reasonable. Desk staff command of English and ability to clarify directions was great. We would definitly plan to return to this hotel when we return to Merida.

The location of the hotel make for a convenient walk to the Plaza and all of the events and services available there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonhomeu
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Went to Mexico on vacation for just over a week and we rented a car and traveled around visiting Merida, Playa del Carmen, Tulum and Akumal. This was the cheapest of our hotels and by far the best! We stayed for 3 nights so we could visit Uxmal, Celestun and Izamal (as well as Merida). The desk manager was very helpful, every day explaining to us how to drive to wherever we wanted to go. He also helped us with our bags, and recommended we stay in one of the downstairs rooms so we wouldn't hear street traffic noise. Breakfast was delicious, the shower was amazing, the room was modern, clean and perfect, the tv had lots of great channels (for what little time we were in our room), and it is just a lovely little place. It was really great to have internet in the room; we never had it in our room in the other places we stayed. Food was missing at breakfast so I'm guessing other people were staying there too, but we only saw one other couple - once. It was very quiet and peaceful and cute. There is free parking across the street, a cantina with good music, cheap drinks and good food also across the street, and the location is a pretty short walk to the main plaza of Merida (Plaza Grande) and even closer to the fancy, main street of Merida. On Saturday night there was live music and dancing just a block away with amazing street food, and Sunday night the Plaza Grande also had tons of people, vendors, live music, etc. The hotel was convenient to both. I loved this place!! If I go back to Merida I will definitely stay here again. It's a cute little hotel with awesome service and for the price and location, I don't think you can beat it!

Room Tip: Downstairs will be quieter I believe. We couldn't hear the street traffic noise in our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonhomeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

This hotel is a real gem. It is newly-renovated and the room and the rest of the hotel were very clean, well-maintained, and modern. The front desk staff was fluent in English and extremely polite and eager to help. A generous continental breakfast at the hotel was included with our room and there was an abundance of fresh fruit along with cereal, self-serve waffles, yoghurt, juices, etc. The breakfast area was a lovely modern atrium that opened to the rooms on the second floor. There were a few guest rooms that opened directly on the atrium, which could result in more noise and less privacy.

Our spacious room was a standard queen on the second floor. The bathroom was small, but nicely appointed and new. The air conditioning and ceiling fan in our room worked flawlessly and provided a welcomed retreat from the oppressive June heat and humidity. Our room faced the street and the traffic noise woke us early every morning. We noticed that there are rooms that don't face the street, which are probably much quieter.

We will be returning to Merida again this year and we will definitely make an effort to stay at this hotel. It is an excellent value and very conveniently located to the historic downtown and parks, which have festivals every Saturday and Sunday.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the second level away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StrayPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
477 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Very clean. Small (9 rooms?) Stayed 2 nights on business trip. Parking is across the street (free)a The desk manager escorted us to the parking and brought our bags back. There were 2 of us in 2 different rooms (Superior and Jr Suite) Very spacious, wi-fi, breakfast. Knowledgeable staff, helpful and attentive. Only 1 block to the Paseo Montejo walking district witht the restored colonial homes. Take 1-2 hours, its worth it! Enjoy your stay--Un abrazo a todos!

Room Tip: Choose a superior room. The regular rooms appeared somewhat smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyH566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I spent 8 great days in Merida and truly enjoyed my stay at this small hotel. I relied on many of the reviews in making my choice and am glad I picked this hotel. I typically don't write reviews but I appreciated everyone elses so here we go:

Hotel: Very clean, new, modern design. Rooms are relatively small but definitely big enough for 2 people. The staff was wonderful. Extremely friendly, helpful but not intrusive. I spoke Spanish with them but they all spoke English. The hotel has about 8 or 9 rooms so it's quaint. If you're a light sleeper, I would ask for a room that is not along the street as the noise could be bothersome (street noise doesn't bother me so I liked having the little balcony overlooking the street). A/C works great, small safe, plenty of hanging space for hangers. Beds, mattresses, sheets, pillows all felt and seemed clean - not that gross feeling you get at some hotels. Also, they lock the front doors late every night (there is obviously someone in the lobby to let you in and out). Assume they do this at most of the hotels but I liked this additional measure of safety.

Location: I loved the location. Others mentioned having to walk downtown along a "narrow" street but the street is no different than any other street downtown! They're all basically the same except for Paseo de Montejo, of course. The location is ideal because it's close enough to walk downtown (probably 6-7 blocks to the edge of downtown but is also right at the start of the south end of Paseo de Montejo so you have easy access headed north (buses, cabs, etc). There is also a Pemex gas station about 1.5 blocks which was nice to grab water and snacks. You can also walk to the WalMart on Paseo de Montejo, but it probably would be considered a bit far for some by foot, but a only a few minute ride by bus/taxi. I've been to Merida a couple times and always feel safe and felt safe in this location.

Food: I did not eat anything at the hotel but the food they had out for breakfast seemed relatively simple. Coffee, drinks, fruit, some cereal. If you're looking for a hotel with full-service restaurants, this is not the hotel! You should definitely stay at a bigger hotel if that is the case (ie, the Hyatt).

Overall: While this is not a 5 star hotel, it is a 5 star hotel for what it is and for the price. I definitely plan on staying here again the next time I'm in Merida.

Room Tip: Pick an interior room if you're sensitive to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puertomorelos9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#45 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zamna
Hotel Zamna
#37 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Real Yucatan
Gran Real Yucatan
#52 of 103 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#21 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#40 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Continental

Property: Hotel Casa Continental
Address: C.47 #480 x 56 Centro. | A Unos Pasos Del Remate de Montejo, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Continental is a small hotel ideally located near to the downtown of Merida and Remate de Paseo Montejo. We have 9 rooms with exclusive details and all the services that you need during your stay in Merida. We have continental breakfast, Internet wireless, Local calls and 01800 for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casa Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing