We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful and very friendly and profesional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Wonderful and very friendly and profesional hotel”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed 3 nights a family group of 20 persons. We all appreciate: the gastronomic offer of the restaurant (but it was a little bit slow), the kindness of all the staff, the cleanness of all the areas, the location of the hotel wich allows to move easily with in Merida. Part of these very good valuation is also due to the presens and availability of the honor. A place with definit recomend.

Room Tip: Well the two best rooms for my were the 4 and the 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    44
    16
    5
    8
See reviews for
67
135
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Yes, the architecture is great. Yes, the rooms are big and well appointed. Yes, the beds are to die for, so comfortable. And yes, the swimming pool area is good.

But no, service is not exceptional, especially not in the restaurant where one orders a dish and gets another. And not to mention the waiting before you're being served. Food was not up to what we expected when reading the other TA reviews.

This could be a great place but that would mean a slightly better service. If not, this hotel will be a very average hotel quite soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FergieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol K, Owner at Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
I have no idea the extent that people use Trip Advisor to make their purchase decisions; however, for this reason I would ask any reader of this type of comments to read between the lines.

It is so unfortunate that individuals with little criteria can use mediums such as this to expound on some personal experience with some poor waiter that probably had difficulty understanding him and thus the wrong order, without even considering the effect of their words on the rest of the hard working 50 employees in this organization.

Rosas & Xocolate is an architectural achievement that brought to Merida a sophisticated and chic product to a market that has yet to mature as a tourist destination. For this reason it is a very difficult market to hire English, or any other languages speaking waiters and for sure with any real professional experience, however, this is part of the charm of traveling to these relatively virgin areas.

The Mayan people’s gentle disposition and Mayan’s willingness to please far compensate their possible limitations in providing an international acceptable standard of service. Many travelers whose attitude is not adaptable to these conditions should reconsider their travel destinations.

Rosas & Xocolate is an award winning hotel and restaurant and the many thousands of satisfied customers that visit us with frequency are witness to that. It is very unfortunate that the few individuals that ultimately use this medium do it to get even rather than giving us an insight in order to improve, for if it was such they could have easily left us a personal note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Everybody is met personally by the owner on check-in. This is an outstanding boutique hotel. I can recommend this for the traveller that expect a cut above the rest. The restaurant is excellent and priced accordingly. Winelist is expensive but very good.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tertius A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
1,117 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 587 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

first of all, contrarily to what tripadvisor states, the hotel DOES NOT ACCEPT PETS AT ALL.

after reading about, you expect something special from this hotel, that you only get partially.

isthe architecture y very atractive, a mix of traditional yucatan elements and modern ones. the service was generally polite (but not so enthusiastic), with the exception of the staff at the restaurant for breakfast, with a poor service. the spa is small, but the ladies attending are good.

my room (number 12) was rather dissapointing, i found it soulless. the furniture is cheap and splintered and paint peeled. no complimentary detail was found: not a single rose, not a single chocolate tablet.nobody comes in the evening to open your bed. the window had a traslucent sheet, i guess that trying to avoid the awfull view at the other side of the street, however no option to the guest as to have the view or to avoid it was given. the air conditioned did not have a medium term: either off or strong. the minibar had a poor selection and only works when you are inside the room and leave the card at the plug, meaning that drinks are often warm. the bed was excellent, however. the open air tub and the very big separate shower room were also excellent. the american breakfast included in the price is very poor and the service very slow.the hotel should reconsider about this breakfast. the cleanliness of the room was first class.

the swimming pool is small, but very pleasant.

the restaurant has a very high level in food and drinks (don't miss the martini with chocolate) but the staff for dinner was not very well trained although they tried to be polite

free wifi worked well except for half an hour.

another item is that a hotel that is expected to be quiet, should not have live music on week ends till 1 am. the hotel should also reconsider their policy as well in this respect, and choose whether they want to give a good rest quality to their guest or make money serving drinks to outsiders, as most of people attending the music or having dinner were not guest. if you add these musicnoises to the fact the the noise issolation from outside is not the best, the excellent bed is a bit wasted.

lack of press in common areas is also another complain, you expect somethng to read while seated at the lobby in a hotel of this category.

i expected more of my standard room for the price i paid (around 250 u.s. dollars taxes and breakfast for two included).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

....service is extraordinarily slow, but worth the wait. Before breakfast, some of the guests go to the main desk and ask for coffee--or a capuccino--and a server walks back to the guest-room with a tray. Be the first guests at breakfast. Otherwise, you won't get everything that you've ordered--and it will take a long long long time to get your order. Enjoy the chocolate-soap, and try the outdoor shower-tub in your room. The water won't be super hot, but when will you soap up in chocolate again?! Walk across the street to the local museum. You'll see artifacts there that you won't see at Mayapan. Swim in the pool. You'll see the stars! The pool is open 24/7. The water is sufficiently warm for those hours.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room. We could have equally enjoyed a room that was less luxurious. Ours was spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLPMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I really don't know where to start, this hotel is a dream, everything, the decoration, the patio, the pool, the food, wow !!! I am frecuent traveler, and mexican, I like nice boutique hotels, so this was PERFECT, the pink, the soaps in the room, they have every detail under control. The location is also unbeatable, just on Paseo Montejo (main Merida street). Really nice place to stay for an actua Mexican taste !!!! Congratulations to the owner, manager and staff a big applause !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for lower level room (next to pool). Reserve in advance since there are only 11 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaCordoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huatulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel from a friend's recommendation. It is an old estate recently remodeled into a boutique hotel with an interesting blend of colonial and modern decor. The room was very nice with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. The bathtub set in an open-air private patio was a very nice detail as is the walk-in shower with great water pressure. The housekeeping staff and the receptionists were very attentive and friendly, as was the owner. My only complaint is the low level of service given by the waitstaff at the hotel's restaurant. After reading other guests' comments here, I see that I am not the only one with this opinion. I couldn't figure out if the waiters were all new and inexperienced or just inattentive and poorly-trained. The food is incredible though and even though the waiter service was lacking, the kitchen crew made up for it. For the three days of my stay, I never tried another restaurant because the food here is so delicious! The freshly baked breads and desserts are exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dakini68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#12 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
1.1 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 104 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Paseo de Montejo #480 x 41 | Col.Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Merida
#2 Family Hotel in Merida
#3 Business Hotel in Merida
#8 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#13 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of colonial Merida, on the shaded avenue of Paseo de Montejo, the elegant facade of Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel glows pink: a beacon to luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosas And Xocolate Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing