We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #20 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Everybody is met personally by the owner on check-in. This is an outstanding boutique hotel. I can recommend this for the traveller that expect a cut above the rest. The restaurant is excellent and priced accordingly. Winelist is expensive but very good.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tertius A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 331 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

first of all, contrarily to what tripadvisor states, the hotel DOES NOT ACCEPT PETS AT ALL.

after reading about, you expect something special from this hotel, that you only get partially.

isthe architecture y very atractive, a mix of traditional yucatan elements and modern ones. the service was generally polite (but not so enthusiastic), with the exception of the staff at the restaurant for breakfast, with a poor service. the spa is small, but the ladies attending are good.

my room (number 12) was rather dissapointing, i found it soulless. the furniture is cheap and splintered and paint peeled. no complimentary detail was found: not a single rose, not a single chocolate tablet.nobody comes in the evening to open your bed. the window had a traslucent sheet, i guess that trying to avoid the awfull view at the other side of the street, however no option to the guest as to have the view or to avoid it was given. the air conditioned did not have a medium term: either off or strong. the minibar had a poor selection and only works when you are inside the room and leave the card at the plug, meaning that drinks are often warm. the bed was excellent, however. the open air tub and the very big separate shower room were also excellent. the american breakfast included in the price is very poor and the service very slow.the hotel should reconsider about this breakfast. the cleanliness of the room was first class.

the swimming pool is small, but very pleasant.

the restaurant has a very high level in food and drinks (don't miss the martini with chocolate) but the staff for dinner was not very well trained although they tried to be polite

free wifi worked well except for half an hour.

another item is that a hotel that is expected to be quiet, should not have live music on week ends till 1 am. the hotel should also reconsider their policy as well in this respect, and choose whether they want to give a good rest quality to their guest or make money serving drinks to outsiders, as most of people attending the music or having dinner were not guest. if you add these musicnoises to the fact the the noise issolation from outside is not the best, the excellent bed is a bit wasted.

lack of press in common areas is also another complain, you expect somethng to read while seated at the lobby in a hotel of this category.

i expected more of my standard room for the price i paid (around 250 u.s. dollars taxes and breakfast for two included).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

....service is extraordinarily slow, but worth the wait. Before breakfast, some of the guests go to the main desk and ask for coffee--or a capuccino--and a server walks back to the guest-room with a tray. Be the first guests at breakfast. Otherwise, you won't get everything that you've ordered--and it will take a long long long time to get your order. Enjoy the chocolate-soap, and try the outdoor shower-tub in your room. The water won't be super hot, but when will you soap up in chocolate again?! Walk across the street to the local museum. You'll see artifacts there that you won't see at Mayapan. Swim in the pool. You'll see the stars! The pool is open 24/7. The water is sufficiently warm for those hours.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room. We could have equally enjoyed a room that was less luxurious. Ours was spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLPMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I really don't know where to start, this hotel is a dream, everything, the decoration, the patio, the pool, the food, wow !!! I am frecuent traveler, and mexican, I like nice boutique hotels, so this was PERFECT, the pink, the soaps in the room, they have every detail under control. The location is also unbeatable, just on Paseo Montejo (main Merida street). Really nice place to stay for an actua Mexican taste !!!! Congratulations to the owner, manager and staff a big applause !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for lower level room (next to pool). Reserve in advance since there are only 11 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaCordoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel from a friend's recommendation. It is an old estate recently remodeled into a boutique hotel with an interesting blend of colonial and modern decor. The room was very nice with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. The bathtub set in an open-air private patio was a very nice detail as is the walk-in shower with great water pressure. The housekeeping staff and the receptionists were very attentive and friendly, as was the owner. My only complaint is the low level of service given by the waitstaff at the hotel's restaurant. After reading other guests' comments here, I see that I am not the only one with this opinion. I couldn't figure out if the waiters were all new and inexperienced or just inattentive and poorly-trained. The food is incredible though and even though the waiter service was lacking, the kitchen crew made up for it. For the three days of my stay, I never tried another restaurant because the food here is so delicious! The freshly baked breads and desserts are exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dakini68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

This wonderful and somewhat unusual hotel is located on a wide boulevard that still is lined with some of the most elegant, classic early Merida houses (most are no longer used for housing, but have been converted into offices as well as a very good museum).
The hotel itself is quite modern, but has nothing of the cookie cutter aspect that one sees in so many of today's boutique hotels. Each room is an unique experience; ours had an outdoor, but completely private cement bathtub as well as a beautiful and complete full bath, which was well stocked with all the necessary products as well as an ample supply of fresh towels.
There is a full restaurant located on the ground floor with an enclosed dining room as well as a beautiful terrace which was perfect for a lovely morning breakfast or a late night drink.
The hotel also has an indoor pool and spa for those who needed a break from exploring this charming city and the fantastic Mayan ruins which lie an hour's drive away.
The staff were very knowledgeable and were able to arrange for
a terrific guide/driver to take us to a number of great points of interest.
The location is a bit of a walk from the city center although cabs are generally plentiful.
A totally pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m0liver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This new hotel is nothing short of fabulous. My wife and I just returned from a 4 night stay and have nothing but rave reviews. We travel frequently, preferring high-style, smaller boutique hotels and Rosas y Xocolate exceeded our expectations. The food was amazing; the design detail, colors and overall style kept your heads turning with every step; service was impeccable; our room was well appointed, spacious and comfortable. We had a chance to visit with the owner and found him to be very caring and helpful (he booked our reservation at a nearby hacienda for a leisurely lunch following our hike of the Mayan ruins Uxmal. Merida is a gem and Rosas y Xocolate is an absolute must! We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12- super quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRGOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
1.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Merida Santiago hotel boutique
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#10 of 105 in Merida
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: Paseo de Montejo #480 x 41 | Col.Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Merida
#4 Spa Hotel in Merida
#12 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#13 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range: $256 - $754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of colonial Merida, on the shaded avenue of Paseo de Montejo, the elegant facade of Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel glows pink: a beacon to luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosas And Xocolate Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing