We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hotel made in heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Hotel made in heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I really don't know where to start, this hotel is a dream, everything, the decoration, the patio, the pool, the food, wow !!! I am frecuent traveler, and mexican, I like nice boutique hotels, so this was PERFECT, the pink, the soaps in the room, they have every detail under control. The location is also unbeatable, just on Paseo Montejo (main Merida street). Really nice place to stay for an actua Mexican taste !!!! Congratulations to the owner, manager and staff a big applause !!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for lower level room (next to pool). Reserve in advance since there are only 11 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaCordoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    42
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
61
132
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huatulco, Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel from a friend's recommendation. It is an old estate recently remodeled into a boutique hotel with an interesting blend of colonial and modern decor. The room was very nice with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. The bathtub set in an open-air private patio was a very nice detail as is the walk-in shower with great water pressure. The housekeeping staff and the receptionists were very attentive and friendly, as was the owner. My only complaint is the low level of service given by the waitstaff at the hotel's restaurant. After reading other guests' comments here, I see that I am not the only one with this opinion. I couldn't figure out if the waiters were all new and inexperienced or just inattentive and poorly-trained. The food is incredible though and even though the waiter service was lacking, the kitchen crew made up for it. For the three days of my stay, I never tried another restaurant because the food here is so delicious! The freshly baked breads and desserts are exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dakini68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

This wonderful and somewhat unusual hotel is located on a wide boulevard that still is lined with some of the most elegant, classic early Merida houses (most are no longer used for housing, but have been converted into offices as well as a very good museum).
The hotel itself is quite modern, but has nothing of the cookie cutter aspect that one sees in so many of today's boutique hotels. Each room is an unique experience; ours had an outdoor, but completely private cement bathtub as well as a beautiful and complete full bath, which was well stocked with all the necessary products as well as an ample supply of fresh towels.
There is a full restaurant located on the ground floor with an enclosed dining room as well as a beautiful terrace which was perfect for a lovely morning breakfast or a late night drink.
The hotel also has an indoor pool and spa for those who needed a break from exploring this charming city and the fantastic Mayan ruins which lie an hour's drive away.
The staff were very knowledgeable and were able to arrange for
a terrific guide/driver to take us to a number of great points of interest.
The location is a bit of a walk from the city center although cabs are generally plentiful.
A totally pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0liver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

This new hotel is nothing short of fabulous. My wife and I just returned from a 4 night stay and have nothing but rave reviews. We travel frequently, preferring high-style, smaller boutique hotels and Rosas y Xocolate exceeded our expectations. The food was amazing; the design detail, colors and overall style kept your heads turning with every step; service was impeccable; our room was well appointed, spacious and comfortable. We had a chance to visit with the owner and found him to be very caring and helpful (he booked our reservation at a nearby hacienda for a leisurely lunch following our hike of the Mayan ruins Uxmal. Merida is a gem and Rosas y Xocolate is an absolute must! We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12- super quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRGOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We had a really nice meal here (didn't stay at the hotel, preferred the location and ambience of Hotel Casa San Angel) - but for a really nice dining experience, worth the splurge if you want great service, good selection of wine and a gourmet style meal in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryGirlandBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

The food is fabulous, some of the best in downtown Merida. A good place to go for a late lunch/early dinner. Or go at night and then listen to jazz on the roof afterwards and watch the people drifting by on the boulevard.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCtravelin'girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Rosas & Xocolate was one of the highlights of our 9-day trip to Merida.
As an interior designer I was energized and duly impressed by the attention to detail
paid to not only the actual furnishings, but to the paint colors, the art, lighting, and specially- designed furntiure & custom doors.
The reviewer who mentioned the furniture being made of Balsa Wood, and who denigrated the style needs to reassess his chosen profession of "Designer"..... the hotel is perfectly beautiful.
As a diner I was also very impressed; there was alot of attention paid to the cuisine not to mention the presentation of the food, and the actual dishes and table settings.
Finally, we met the owner Carlos, who graciously gave us a tour of two rooms, as well as explaining about the custom-designed furniture and doors, and the multi-paned glass that solved the issue of street noise.
Carlos not only posesses a keen sense of high design, but he is a businessman who listens to the feedback he recieves.
A + all the way !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoloNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#6 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Fiesta Americana Merida
#28 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Paseo de Montejo #480 x 41 | Col.Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Merida
#2 Family Hotel in Merida
#3 Business Hotel in Merida
#8 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#13 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of colonial Merida, on the shaded avenue of Paseo de Montejo, the elegant facade of Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel glows pink: a beacon to luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Rosas & Xocolate Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosas And Xocolate Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing