We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful evening in all respects”

Rosas & Xocolate Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 783 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $50
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening in all respects”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Upscale restaurant which would be a winner in any American city. Surprised to learn that both the hotel and restaurant were designed and built only three years ago. We chose the patio, thinking the music on the deck upstairs was overly loud. Carol, the owner, was most gracious to the four of us, making recommendations and sharing his history. Food was innovative and delicious; don't miss the grouper on sautéed cactus or the octopus crèche, or octopus chips. Any place containing the word "Chocolate" must have great desserts and this does. Go with the chocolate tart; so rich it satisfies every chocoholic. A very pleasant evening in a sophisticated setting with outstanding food!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bevegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    127
    55
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great final nite meal..”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was my husband's favorite meal of our 8 days in Merida. I had the chicken dish and it was a lil tough, but my husbands fusion meal, shown on the cover of their menu...was lovely and he said delicious.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RedWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Might be best meal in Merida so far”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Ate on dark terrace with front row seats for Saturday night torch singer at 10 PM who created an old-fashioned smoky mood. Husband and I had crispy octopus (large portion was delicious), Kobe burger (large enough to eat half for lunch tomorrow) and chicken breast with creamy pesto sauce, margarita (a bit small), and two small glasses of wine. Total bill with tip ~1030 mxp so not cheap but really delicious. Seems to attract mixed crowd of both locals and Americans.

Helpful?
Thank APBWestchester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Have only been there to eat.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I guess I should have known, the menu just didn't sing for me, the food was too pretencious and not in a good way, the flavors were just off for me. But I have to say that the building itself is really beautiful!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

this is a boutique hotel with a very cool restaurant. food was surprisingly delicious on new years eve which is very difficult night to get good food. nice decor and atmosphere. cool loungy atmosphere to have drinks also.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jesusnunezunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosas & Xocolate Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Rosas & Xocolate Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing