We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the trip”
Review of Hacienda Teya

Hacienda Teya
Ranked #6 of 777 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $17
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“not worth the trip”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

very average food and it's a factory (in and out) atmosphere. Staff uninformed and surly and the food was dull. Really not worth a cab ride out there if you are staying in Merida.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank foodfreakSMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
foodfreakSMA

Hello! Your opinion is very important to us, we regret that you have not had a pleasant experience, so we will try tochange your mind the next time you visit us

Best regards
Claugiann Zerón
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    126
    29
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
2 reviews
“good for try local food, NOT for make your special events like weddings”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

this hacienda is Good for try local food and see arround once, they also offer service of events, but as I had my Wedding on Hacienda Teya, I will no recomend to any couple or people have any event there. I paid alot of extra as the normal price and even like that the service was terrible, by the cordination of Alejandra (she is NOT a real cordinator... she is only the seller for the events) and if you have an event there, make sure your cordinator is Julio or any other profesional.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ana56609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Ana56609

Hello! We regret that you have not been satisfied with your event, we have now made ​​many changes to make sure this does not happen again. We hope you can visit us soon and see for yourself ... we are deeply grateful for your opinion

Best regards
Claugiann zerón
PR manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best local food”
Reviewed August 7, 2010

First of all I'm mexican, so when it comes to food from my country I'm more than qualified to know what is the best, specially if its food from Yucatan which is my favourite. If you want the best local food, don't waste time going anywhere else but here. After this you'll find "Los Almendros" just average, they serve the best "Poc-chuc", "longaniza" and "Cochinita", its an expensive place compared to Merida's prices for local food, but you'll find it worth it. I think this should be the best restaurant in Yucatan, but for some reason it isn't. It is so good that you'll find pictures of mexican and international celebrities, I don't remember US presidents, but there are pictures of Hillary Clinton, before the Obama administration. Trust me, you won't be dissapointed. I never miss this restaurant even when I'm on my way to Cancun. The reason I wrote this in English is to let international visitor, which are more prone to writing reviews here, have the most accurate description for good food which is my greatest joy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jadof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado jadof

Hola! Muchas gracias por tu opinión, para nosotros también es muy importante que las personas que no son de aquí conozcan nuestra comida típica y nos da gusto que los que sí son de aquí la aprecien tanto. Aquí estaremos para cuando gustes volver.

Cordialmente
Claugiann Zerón
Gerente de Relaciones Públicas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Local Cuisine; Worth the Effort to get there”
Reviewed January 19, 2010

I saw this place on Rick Bayless's cooking show on PBS so I wanted to try what he recommended (queso relleno) and I did. I loved it and my girlfriend's cochinita pibil was great too.

It took a little bit of effort to get there since it's just outside of town and we didn't have a rental car but I was glad we did because we got a taste of what an old hacienda was like. If you have a rental car, definitely go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nakaboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Nakaboots

Hello! We greatly value your opinion and we love that you enjoyed your experience. hope you visit us soon again.

Best Regards
claugiann Zerón
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda Teya also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Hacienda Teya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing