We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great regional food in a remarcable location with old charmed service”
Review of Hacienda Teya

Hacienda Teya
Ranked #4 of 783 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $17
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Coatzacoalcos, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“great regional food in a remarcable location with old charmed service”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and i stoped during our drive to Cancun at Merida s beautiful Hacienda Teya and even Cancun was waiting for us just a few hours away ,we were so pleased with the experience of returning to Hacienda Teya it was a great start for our vacation , we were greeted by the magnificent gate and path way into the great Main house where the restaurant and shops are , the door man took care of our car and hostess greeted us and showed us to the main dining room to enjoy the service and the best road meal i ever had -
we were in the middle of a long road trip and time carefull but as soon as we sat there and started to hear the singers trios and get service we decided to enjoy the experience and relax .
after a three course culinary experience in Yucatan ,Teya Palace , we decided to wonder around the place before heading to the road again .
we promised to stop again in the way back home next week .
Hacienda Teya is in the out skits of the city of Merida toward Cancun , it was build in the 17th century and its been a famous restaurant for many years and the most interesting thing is that is quite reasonable priced for the high standard of food quality and distintive place cathegory.
saludos
TonyCardenas
Coatzacoalcos

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyCardenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
GreetingsTonyCardenas

Thank you very much for your review, we are proud to know that your experiance in Hacienda Teya was good and work to be better than ever ... we look forward to your visit once again soon.

Best Regards
Claugiann Zeron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    128
    29
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wedding”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I choose this place to do my wedding and it was beautiful!!! Its an old farm and the food, service, hotel and location its so amazing that I have no words to describe the wonderful experience that I had there. If you go to the restaurant try sopa de lima, and basically any food is out of this world and to drink ask for the chelada(beer with lime and salt).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RenataLRocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Greetings Bocomoco

Thank you very much for your review, we are proud to know that your experiance in Hacienda Teya was good and work to be better than ever ... we look forward to your visit once again soon.

Best Regards
Claugiann Zeron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Progreso, Yucatan
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you want to experience genuine authentic Yucatecan cuisine, which is very different from the rest of Mexico, you MUST dine at Teya as it´s truly the best of our local fare. Pork tips (lomitas) in a savory tomato based sauce), chicken in a sauce of smoked black chilies or, my personal favorite, mildly hot chilies stuffed with ground beef and spices. This is also an authentic Hacienda just outside of Merida where you can stroll the grounds and get a real sense of what it was like to live in that era. Always a "must do" when guests come to visit us in Progreso and always looked forward to con mucho gusto!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Progresolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Greetings Progreso Lady

Thank you very much for your review, we are proud to know that your experiance in Hacienda Teya was good and work to be better than ever ... we look forward to your visit once again soon.

Best Regards
Claugiann Zeron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“History and Flavors”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

That is how Hacienda Teya describes itself. Indeed it is a step back in time to experience the food and culture of the Hacienda in the 1600's. if you are planning a trip to Merida make sure to stop on the way from Cancun just off the "cost" road. I suggest that you google the New York Times...36 hours in Merida, published December 1, 2011. This is a great article and one that is easy to follow. According to the article...have the pork dishes. We were told by someone at the Hacienda that pigs, in the Yucatan, are raised with care and not injected with "who knows what". Cars are arbitrarily stop to inspect that no one is bringing into the state...contaminated pork products. A delightful lunch and history experience is waiting for you.



Helpful?
Thank N8PWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
N8PWC

Thank You for the comments. It´s a great plasure read your opinion about us. In deed we care every little cuisine ingredient: corn, Meat, spices, Etc. We hope you come back soon and anjoy the new dishes.

Best Regards

Claugiann Zerón
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We ordered every dish our guide advised and were uniformly pleased. The lime soup was especially good. We also liked the architecture, the setting and the decor. Apparently so did others as the restaurant was full.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claugiann, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hacienda Teya, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
John E

Thank you for the visit. We really anjoy when our clients becomes in part of us through the magic of yuctecan Cousine. Come Back Soon.

Best Regards
Claugiann Zerón
PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacienda Teya also viewed

 

Been to Hacienda Teya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing