We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Centrally Located”
Review of Hotel Doralba Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Doralba Inn
Ranked #38 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for the two nights we spent in the Merida/Western Yucatan region. This was a great hotel for the price, near the main square, the cathedral and several nice dining locations. The added bonus was the free parking for our rental car. Our rate included a continental breakfast, which was a nice way to fuel up for the day, especially as coffee isn't the morning drink of Mexicans.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ickabod147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 718 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Not NY chic, not fashionable, but fantastic value in heart of fabulous Merida. In new part of hotel our room over looked the courtyard with its wonderful huge pool and green island. Beds ok, but linen changed daily, same for bathroom. Bedroom large and quiet despite hotel in noisy urban area. Elevator!!! always a plus. Covered inside parking!!! We always went out for breakfast in the Main Plaza and never ate in. But pool, quiet, covered parking & elevator make for a great value. Also taxis will come to door and take you anywhere. We were paying under 40 US$. At that rate you can stay for a while.

Room Tip: Beautiful pool & courtyard, secure parking in hotel grounds, elevator for the weary. Opt for hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernardette44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a good hotel, the staff are great, very friendly and really go out of their way to help you. The staff is what makes this hotel good. It's also at a walking distance from down town. However, the owners need to fix/change a few things. The bathrooms have a bad odor coming from the shower drain and it's worse at the bathroom by the pool. They also have really worn-out towels, I bought some towels to use during my star and also a good airfreshner / sanitizer and let the water run for a bit and that took care of the bathroom smell in our room. Their breakfast needs to have more variety, we were there 11 days and all days except for 2, we had eggs or cereal. It would be nice to substitute the eggs with something else every 1 or 2 days. The rooms are clean and they maintain the property in good condition.

Room Tip: The rooms around the pool are nicer and bigger and have more light then the ones around the breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moradi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is not a five stars hotel; However is by far the best in Merida. The hotel people, Celia, Aracely, Vicente and others are simply EXCELLENT. They care about their guests, and will do the extras to make your stay pleasant. The hotel itself is very clean and charming. Located three blocks from downtow. You can walk to everything Merida has to offer. Very important to mention that after traveling to many cities and places in Mexico, for us, Merida is the best place to visit in Mexico.

Room Tip: Talk to Celia at front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rofiguero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

They have a Holiday Inn in Merida. If you want to pretend you're still in the states or Western Europe, stay there or the Fiesta Americana. But if you want to see how Mexicans vacation, then this is a great spot. It is in Centro, and all that is good and bad about that applies. For me I thought it was great and the hotel is a gem, a hidden treat. The staff was courteous and helpful. The breakfast was plentiful. Our room worked.
Note: the new rooms by the pool (Which you should request) have one way glass on their pool facing windows. After dark and with your lights on that effect is almost reversed. That was an interesting dinner conversation with my kids.
Note #2: Congratulations to the newlywed couple just down the hall, it appeared you guys were having a great time.

Room Tip: Next to the pool, newer rooms I was told by a local
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Enjoyed our stay in Merida, lots of bustle and bustle on the streets, the plaza’s come alive at night, there are churches and galleries to visit, lots of shopping to be had and some great and cheap food. Merida is close to Chitchen Itza and lots of Cenote’s. The hotel is located very close to centre of town, we walked everywhere. Our room was very basic, the room was quite dark, with one smallish window, the bed mattress was bearable but not what I would call comfy, the bedding was quite out dated and threadbare and the pillows were a bit on the hard side, there is was no refrigerator in the room, the room had air-conditioning and a ceiling fan. There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room, there is a coffee/hot water machine in the lobby which dispensed a drinkable cup of coffee or hot water, there were tea bags, powdered milk & sugar available next to the machine
The room was clean and serviced daily, no creepy crawlies evident. There is a central pool which was great to cool down in as the days were very hot, 38c - 43c.
The architecture is Spanish style with a mixture of Spanish & Mexican decor, it is tasteful and gave a nice ambiance, you know you are in Mexico, unlike some hotels that look the same no matter where in the world you are. There is a courtyard eating area and a small dining room. The Wi Fi was free and acceptable speed.
The breakfast was a bit disappointing scrambled eggs, with sausage in it, bread, cake, coffee, juice, water & melon in cups, none of which were particularly good, the menu never changed, I would think a review of this would be in order. The staff were very friendly, always smiling, acknowledging you and very helpful, very were made to feel very welcome, much better than some of my experiences at more expensive hotels. We booked a tour of Chichen Itza and a cave/cenote tour through the front desk both were fantastic and reasonable value.
If you’re looking for a budget hotel close to the centre of town, this is a good choice, if your expectations of the rooms are not too high, you won’t be disappointed.

Room Tip: I saw they had better quality rooms facing onto the pool area, perhaps check these out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is a few blocks away from the main plaza in a very busy street. The hotel looks nice but, the rooms need some improvement. The bedspreads are ugly and the fabric is awful. We loved the old rocking chairs. Breakfast is ok but, could be much better specially in a city where the fruit and bread is so inexpensive and delicious. The Chef needs to make eggs with spinach and something else instead of Mexican sausage all the time. Coffee was good. Pool was nice specially during the afternoon and early morning. Take a bottle of mosquito repellent since this city has a lot of mosquitos. The bathrooms are very basic don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueAnaLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#34 of 105 in Merida
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#15 of 105 in Merida
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Maria del Carmen
Hotel Maria del Carmen
#49 of 105 in Merida
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#62 of 105 in Merida
57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#41 of 105 in Merida
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#54 of 105 in Merida
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Doralba Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doralba Inn

Address: Calle 63 No 464 x 52 y 54 | Downtown, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Dolores Alba)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: $35 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Doralba Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting hotel in the center of Merida, 400 year old colonial mansion, family fun, all services at the best value. Free inside parking, elevator, Freida Kahlo picture decoration free high speed internet, laundry, restaurant facing old arches, swimming pool with top technology. 50 rooms in the new section and 50 in the colonial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Doralba Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing