We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird layout, but cheap and comfortable”
Review of Hotel Doralba Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Doralba Inn
Ranked #35 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Weird layout, but cheap and comfortable”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed in the back area where the wifi didn't work, so I had to hang out in the lobby area if I wanted to use it. The rooms are basic but comfortable, and the common area at the front was friendly and nice. The clientele there was a bit odd, but that's not the hotel's fault. The location is very good, and it was only a short walk to the Zocalo and a bunch of other sights. It's a good budget option overall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    336
    136
    40
    29
See reviews for
135
279
61
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

It's a couple blocks to the central plaza, but it's very pleasant hotel. The rooms are spacious and the staff is accommodating. The restaurant was closed most of the time, but there are lots of places to eat in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a very good budget option close to the center of Merida. Don't expect fantastic service or all the mod cons, but what you do get makes it excellent value for money. The common areas are well decorated and the pool is a nice bonus. The rooms are large and reasonably well furnished, if somewhat spartan. The shower has excellent pressure and is nice and hot. The mattresses in the room we stayed in were hard, but that was no problem for us. However, I don't think that we got bath towels as well as hand towels. I would have complained, but we were only staying for one night and the hand towels were large so we let it pass. The breakfast is poor, but for the money we paid, I didn't expect any better and there is plenty of coffee. However, there are so many places to get a decent breakfast within a few blocks walk, that I don't think this is a major issue. Finally, as others have noted, the off-street parking is a real bonus, though the entrance to the parking lot is very narrow. In summary, if I ever visit Merida again and I have a car, I would probably come back here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Dolores Alba is reasonably priced and offers a quite oasis in the center of Merida. The staff was courteous and friendly and the breakfast and accommodation more than adequate for the price. The parking was nicely closed in and we left our car feeling safe. The rooms are basic, but relatively clean.

Nice for families on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omeldahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here with our two young adult sons..lovely clean rooms, nice pool for swimming, and very good service,although no English speaking staff at hotel. Lovely hot breakfast included in the very reasonable price. Nice central location, only a few blocks from main square, we recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was second floor overlooking pool..spacious and quiet for sleeping.There are no fitness cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yarmouthgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We were staying for only 2 nights but still had a few incidents:
- as we come in, the reception lady tries to cheat us and charge us twice more than the price if the room
- there was no blowdrier in the room and we couldn't get one from the reception
- no ironing board at reception either
- breakfast was very low variety and quality - would not recommend eating most things
- having said this, the rooms were clean and there was a secured parking lot

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Positive first: The hotel is located a couple blocks fromt he bus station, that was great. It's a nice hotel, includes breakfast and they have several tourist packages. They were very accommodating when it came to recommendations and knowledge of the surrounding areas.

Negatively... The pictures on the walls were super creepy!! lol they gave us no water and like 1 hand soap. And the towels were the BARE MINIMUM. They gave us 2... which were more hand towels than anything. And the AC unit was SO loud... it sounded like a train wreck the entire night. If you're sensitive to noise at night... and you like to sleep in cooler temperatures, definitely don't stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#28 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#20 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#29 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#40 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#30 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#17 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Doralba Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doralba Inn

Property: Hotel Doralba Inn
Address: Calle 63 No 464 x 52 y 54 | Downtown, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Dolores Alba)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Doralba Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting hotel in the center of Merida, 400 year old colonial mansion, family fun, all services at the best value. Free inside parking, elevator, Freida Kahlo picture decoration free high speed internet, laundry, restaurant facing old arches, swimming pool with top technology. 50 rooms in the new section and 50 in the colonial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Doralba Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing