We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with our experience”
Review of Hotel Doralba Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Doralba Inn
Ranked #38 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed here with our two young adult sons..lovely clean rooms, nice pool for swimming, and very good service,although no English speaking staff at hotel. Lovely hot breakfast included in the very reasonable price. Nice central location, only a few blocks from main square, we recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was second floor overlooking pool..spacious and quiet for sleeping.There are no fitness cen...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yarmouthgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (703)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Doralba Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 703 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We were staying for only 2 nights but still had a few incidents:
- as we come in, the reception lady tries to cheat us and charge us twice more than the price if the room
- there was no blowdrier in the room and we couldn't get one from the reception
- no ironing board at reception either
- breakfast was very low variety and quality - would not recommend eating most things
- having said this, the rooms were clean and there was a secured parking lot

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Visinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Positive first: The hotel is located a couple blocks fromt he bus station, that was great. It's a nice hotel, includes breakfast and they have several tourist packages. They were very accommodating when it came to recommendations and knowledge of the surrounding areas.

Negatively... The pictures on the walls were super creepy!! lol they gave us no water and like 1 hand soap. And the towels were the BARE MINIMUM. They gave us 2... which were more hand towels than anything. And the AC unit was SO loud... it sounded like a train wreck the entire night. If you're sensitive to noise at night... and you like to sleep in cooler temperatures, definitely don't stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This hotel is a wonderful place to stay in a stimulating and creative Yucatan city. Hotel Alba puts on no airs, and is not interested in impressing you with fancy bells and wistles. It delivers good service, polite and knowledgeable staff, along with large, comfortable, and very liveable rooms. Price is perfect and the location is in the thick of the city. If there is any downside it is that the two or three streets you have to cross to get to the city sites are teeming with people and buses/traffic. But that is a small price to pay for such an enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: I always prefer an upper floor and I imagine upper floors are a bit quieter here as well.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a night in this pretty colonial family run town house hotel. The staff were friendly & helpful.

Our room was clean but in the older part of the complex so rather dark but had air conditioning which was much more important & meant we had a comfortable night.

Breakfast was included & was fine though nothing exceptional but at this price range that is fine.

Close to the central square too and not too far from the main or secondary ADO bus stations. The map provided at the reception desk was extremely useful in getting our bearings quickly though.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duthac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

During our trip through Mexico we stayed in Merida for two nights. We chose this place because of good feedbacks and its location.

Just about 10min by taxi from the ADO Bus-Station we arrived at the Hotel. The welcome was warm and friendly, great front desk and staff!
The Hotel has a nice courtyard with pool and a big breakfast/dining area (with roof - in case of rain). The Hotel is kept in a nice old colonial-style and is very well kept and maintained. It feels very safe and relaxed here. There's also lots of seats and tables close to the rooms where you can hang around before going to sleep (it's nice and warm throughout the night too) and there's a drink-vending machine with beer too, in case you feel like it (we did - try the Modelo).

The rooms are clean and bright. We had some courtyard view which was nice. Beds are comfy and we really had a good sleep. Breakfast was included - but wasn't really exciting I have to say. There's free WiFi in the whole Hotel too.

About 10min by foot you'll reach the Zocalo or the great Mercado. There's lots of good food and shopping options in this very nice town. If you walk home late at night, the road to the Hotel might look a bit dark and deserted, but it's just fine...it's a friendly and safe town.

We ended up very happy with our choice and sure would (and will) stay here again next time. Wanna know more about my trips? Check my profile (where you'll also find my website about more of my travels).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bandit-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The good:
* Clean, spacious room.
* Reasonably sized pool.
* Working WiFi.
* Reasonably nice staff.
* Nice open public spaces.

The bad:
* Hot room with noisy air conditiong and no bug screen, making opening a window risky and the outside lights are very bright in any case.
* No drinking water available. You have to buy 1 liter bottles from reception.
* No shampoo.
* Breakfast was a pretty basic buffet, which would be fine but
- the only cold drinks were sickly sweet "mixes" (no water!)
- the eggs were mixed with sausage, so no options for non-meat options.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#20 of 106 in Merida
540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#17 of 106 in Merida
488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#43 of 106 in Merida
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#34 of 106 in Merida
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#31 of 106 in Merida
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Maria del Carmen
Hotel Maria del Carmen
#52 of 106 in Merida
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Doralba Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doralba Inn

Address: Calle 63 No 464 x 52 y 54 | Downtown, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Dolores Alba)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: $28 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Doralba Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting hotel in the center of Merida, 400 year old colonial mansion, family fun, all services at the best value. Free inside parking, elevator, Freida Kahlo picture decoration free high speed internet, laundry, restaurant facing old arches, swimming pool with top technology. 50 rooms in the new section and 50 in the colonial area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Doralba Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing