We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in a Busy City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Balam
Ranked #14 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles Area
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An Oasis in a Busy City”
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We recently stayed 6 nights at this hotel in the heart of Merida. It is a breath of fresh air to enter the beautiful courtyard away from the noisy street outside. We chose the best room in the house, #112, which is a large suite with a gorgeously appointed terrace overlooking the garden and pool. We have small complaints but just inconveniences that are outweighed by the pure beauty of the city of Merida; the people, the food, the culture and daily goings on. The room was a bit noisy so I can only imagine the ones facing the street. There is music nightly and parades and traffic. Even though it is a small, two lane road, it is a main artery through the city. The bed was not so comfortable and the shower was European style (tub and flexible shower hose) and there were not enough hangers... but these are minor things. The staff was wonderful with lots of information and opinions of things to do and food to eat. The daily breakfast was a good way to start the day. We had free parking in the lot next door and daily bottles of water in our room. We had a small fridge, lots of towels and candles and lovely bath products. Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan-RPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    226
    79
    20
    11
See reviews for
137
230
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Casa Del Balam is a nice hotel with 5 minutes walking to the Main Square. The room is clean and spacious but has dim lighting and lots of street noise at night. It has hairdyer, toiletires, bathrobes and air conditioning.

The TV only has Spanish channels and there is a small pool. There is a pharmacy and
currency exchange nearby. The hotel does not have internet but internet cafe is nearby.

The Santa Lucia Church is one block away and the Museum of Comtemporary Art is 3 blocks away. There is also a horse carriage ride nearby for 250 pesos for roughly half an hour.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjo008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Casa del Balam a couple of weeks ago. The hotel itself is truely beautiful. Real Old world charm. We stayed in Suite 112 and it is so much more beautiful than the pictures on their website! We felt like royalty! The balcony overlooking the pool was a nice quiet place to have dinner! Recommend their grilled meat platter and their cheese board with a bottle or two of wine! It was excellent! The pool was never crowded and was a quiet relief from the noise of the city. We had and excellent breakfast every morning in the peaceful courtyard listening to the fountain trickle away. Service was quick, professional and courteous. Desk staff were very helpful with information about the area. You are right in the middle of everything! Would stay here again in a New York minute! Our ONLY complaint is that the bath robes provided were too small for us. Believe me, that was the ONLY problem! A great hotel in a great location and the price is reasonable! Give it a try! and ask for Suite 112, it's one of two master suites, but it's the only one with the balcony! Truely worth the extra money! Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilandJulieMarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

My wife and I spent a long weekend in Merida in April. In advance of our trip I contacted an employee of the hotel, who arranged for a guide to take us to Chichen Itza. The price was somewhat high --- much more than if we had contacted the guide directly. But this is the only way to tour Chichen Itza.

The hotel is two blocks from the main plaza and the cathedral. This plaza is when the locals celebrate on Sunday --- dancing and music. Not to be missed. Save your Sunday to rub elbows with the locals.

We found the hotel wait staff and porters to be most helpful and friendly. The most outstanding example occured on the main square when I needed to find an ATM. A young man approached me and said "Your staying at ny hotel, the Casa del Balam." We chatted and I asked him where I could find an ATM. He led me to one and wouldn't accept the small tip I offered.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank actone48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and could not have been happier....it was a PERFECT location, right by the main plaza and walking distance to pretty much everything you want to see during a short stay.....we had breakfast every morning in the beautiful courtyard, everything has such a colonial feel to it and so comfortable....the rooms are quite plain though, but i had no problem sleeping there...the pool was beautiful and a great way to cool off after the super hot days there....the street right in front of the hotel, heading towards the main plaza, closed off to cars at nights and we just walked around and enjoyed the beautiful city and fantastic food.....i did a lot of walking during my stay there and did not say another hotel, for this great price, that was better than Hotel Casa Del Balam. The staff was so friendly and very helpful in helping us plan our tours to see the Mayan ruins....You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Croll21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

This hotel is well positioned for exploring Merida, with a lovely inner courtyard in the original building (the hotel also has a modern extension which we never entered). Breakfast can be served in the courtyard: table service by pleasant waiters, and an excellent choice including delicious fruits and hot dishes freshly cooked. We booked via Expedia and were surprised to be given the 'master suite' (the only one in the hotel). Perhaps we were not altogether surprised (though it might have been a problem) to find on checking out that it was about $30 more per night than the Expedia quoted rate. However, the bedroom and bathroom were genuinely luxurious, and the spacious balcony overlooking the swimming pool with plants, dining table and chairs and lovely rattan furniture was a glorious surprise. If you can afford it, I would strongly recommend booking this room.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swanaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2010

The Casa del Balam was our favourite hotel in Mexcio! We stayed here for 3 nights, but wish we could have stayed longer. Merida is a great base for tours, but also a lovely place to relax. The hotel's location is perfect, only a couple of blocks from the main square, and close to bars and restaurants (though the hotel's restaurant is very good).
The rooms are kept spotless, and are spacious - our standard room had two double beds. There are good photos of the rooms on the Different World website (we booked through them and would recommend them - great rates and very helpful). The air conditioning and wifi both worked perfectly. Modern, spotless bathrooms, great showers with plenty of hot water. Towelling robes were provided.
Our kids enjoyed the pool, and the pool area was a pleasant place to relax.
The service at this hotel is excellent - very friendly and staff were always willing to help. We booked a tour through the hotel and everything worked well.
Everything about this hotel was good, but we shall remember the Casa del Balam for the amazing breakfasts! Our family of 5 tried most of the menu during our stay, and everything was excellent. We particularly recommend the "divorced eggs" - two fried eggs with 2 different sauces - fresh fruit, pancakes, granola with yoghurt, and scrambled eggs. With the complimentary warm freshly baked bread and papaya marmalade, and great coffee and juices, this was a great start to the day.
Definitely recommend this hotel - hope we can return soon!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyof5Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
1,000 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#8 of 103 in Merida
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.1 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Balam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Balam

Property: Hotel Casa del Balam
Address: Calle 60 # 488 x 57 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Merida
#20 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Balam 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Balam is one of the oldest and most distinguished hotels in Merida and the Yucatan Peninsula, it's also one of the few original Mexican Art Deco houses left in the city. The hotel was built in 1970 incorporating facets of the original home of Fernando Barbachano Peon, pioneer of Tourism in Mexico. His daughter, Ms. Carmen Barbachano Gomez Rul (who was also involved on the family business), left the original facade and selected the name of "Casa del Balam" (Mayan words for "house of the jaguar") to honor his father nickname "balam" due to his visionary sharp business mind. Ms. Barbachano was very devoted of the colonial period and decorated the house accordingly. Big wooden furniture, rocking chairs and wrought iron accessories were part of her fine selection. She had envisioned a place where every touch could softly spoke of the serene ambiance of the city, and where friends could be made instead of just mere clients. When looking at the amazing interior of this Casona and experiencing the warm specialized service of its personnel, one can easily understand that Ms. Barbachano did accomplish her desire of uniqueness, and in a very exquisite way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Casa del Balam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Balam Merida
Casa Balam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing