We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Wonderful Nights in Merida”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Balam
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in the Casa del Balam a few years ago on our first Merida visit. We both liked the hotel, although my wife thought that our room was a bit small. Since the hotel is in such a great location I wanted to stay there again on this visit and the simple solution to the small room was to upgrade to the "honeymooner" room.

The room we got was very nice, it was spacious with a king sized bed and it had a nice bathroom. It was a corner room on the 4th floor, so the road noise wasn't an issue and the street view was nice.

The hotel offers a "free" continental breakfast for those staying with them. I wasn't expecting much, but the breakfast was a pleasant surprise. We got very nice plates of fruit along with toast and breakfast cake. It made for a filling and healthy breakfast for us and I considered it a good value.

The service during our stay at the hotel was excellent across the board, from the front desk folks, the housekeeper to the restaurant staff.

As mentioned, the hotel's location is perfect, two blocks from the main square and there are lots of shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. I would definitely stay in this hotel again on our next visit to Merida.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 560 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just off the main square close to everything plus the car park is just a few doors down the block. We had to leave early the second day so they packed a nice box lunch for us. Everyone was helpful and the setting is very nice and reminiscent of its origins as the Balam family hacienda.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhc7201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel is centrally located to historic center on a heavily travelled street. There was noise all night long. Luckily we travel with. white noise generator so were able to sleep. Americano breakfast was quite good and wait staff very attentive. Desk clerks were a bit brusque on arrival and odd to have a locked refrigerator with the implication, "you open, you pay" even if you don't use anything in it. Also clearly states you can't use it for things you purchase elsewhere. Inhospitable. That said, it's very pretty, especially the courtyard for breakfast.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Sally I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here in July 2013. This hotel has the flavor of a traditional Mexican hotel, therefore it is always different from staying at a Hotel from a well known chain.

One of the most important things about this hotel is location, location, location. It is three blocks away from the Zócalo(Main Plaza), The Mérida Cathedral, the Coffee Shops and restaurants. It is across the street from Teatro José Peon Contreras - one of the most important Theaters in town. It is also meters away from the UADY - Universidad Autónoma de Yucatán. You will be able to walk everywhere.

Staff is very kind and helpful, rooms are very clean. Heat during summer in Mérida can be a real challenge but all rooms are equipped with A/C. Food is very good but coffee has improvement opportunities.

The hotel needs to be refreshed with new furniture and new appliances. If you are easy going you and don't care about a fancy TV - you will definitely enjoy staying here.

Room Tip: get an upper floor room to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lajuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

When I first arrived at the Hotel everyone was very eager to help me out. The reception spoke perfect english and greeted me with care. The pool is an easy way to cool off and the restaurant is very good. It was a very comfortable stay and I felt very safe.

Room Tip: The prices reflect very well what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a lovely historic hotel - beautiful building with shady courtyard and lovely swimming pool. The rooms are lovely, large, airy and cool. Bathrooms are spotlessly clean. The staff were wonderful, really helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Location is great - minutes away from the historic town centre and there is plenty of free secure parking.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone - couples or families. Sipping a cocktail by the pool at the end of a long hot day was fabulous, a real oasis in the centre of the dusty town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My stay at the Casa del Balam was most enjoyable! The room was huge and had everything I would want in it. The TV worked fine. The refridgerator was a godsend. The tub felt nice. It was the first stay on my vacation, and I had a sound sleep every night. The hotel is very colonial in atmosphere....in a colonial city. There is a nice pool surrounded by a garden. I was the only one in it....but it felt so good. The hotel is very close to the major sites. I did not feel unsafe at all walking back from events in the evening. There is a dining room there. I had breakfast twice and it was tasty. The entire staff is very polite and helpful. I definately would stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beento50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#20 of 104 in Merida
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#2 of 104 in Merida
1,039 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa San Angel
Hotel Casa San Angel
#32 of 104 in Merida
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#12 of 104 in Merida
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merida Santiago Hotel Boutique
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Balam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Balam

Address: Calle 60 # 488 x 57 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Merida
#20 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range: $71 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Balam 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa del Balam is one of the oldest and most distinguished hotels in Merida and the Yucatan Peninsula, it's also one of the few original Mexican Art Deco houses left in the city. The hotel was built in 1970 incorporating facets of the original home of Fernando Barbachano Peon, pioneer of Tourism in Mexico. His daughter, Ms. Carmen Barbachano Gomez Rul (who was also involved on the family business), left the original facade and selected the name of "Casa del Balam" (Mayan words for "house of the jaguar") to honor his father nickname "balam" due to his visionary sharp business mind. Ms. Barbachano was very devoted of the colonial period and decorated the house accordingly. Big wooden furniture, rocking chairs and wrought iron accessories were part of her fine selection. She had envisioned a place where every touch could softly spoke of the serene ambiance of the city, and where friends could be made instead of just mere clients. When looking at the amazing interior of this Casona and experiencing the warm specialized service of its personnel, one can easily understand that Ms. Barbachano did accomplish her desire of uniqueness, and in a very exquisite way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa del Balam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Balam Merida
Casa Balam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing