We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location very near the main square. Attractive old hotel but rooms vary.”
Review of Caribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribe Hotel
Ranked #41 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Great location very near main square. Old hotel with lovely garden and fountains in courtyard as well as a small rooftop pool. Rooms vary between beautiful views over square and dark rooms at back. But rooms were generally clean and bathrooms although old worked well.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAdventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 315 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2010

There's a reason why the website doesn't show the rooms, they are uninhabitable. I had booked for a week and left after the first night (lost my prepaid booking). The room was extremely small and dark, the bed sheet was stained, the air conditioning only had one temperature setting making the room too cold to sleep, the window shades could not be opened because the window opened to an internal hallway, when opening the window the room got full of mosquitoes, the internet was not working the night I arrived, the desk was too small to do any work, the shower leaked water all over the bedroom floor, the closet was too small to fit anything, the safe's lock didn't work. There are much better hotels in Merida than the Caribe.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoindio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

i actually was looking for this hotel to stay in again, i stayed here several years ago. i didn't like one room they had downstairs so they showed me another up stairs and i ended up staying they for almost a week. no frills, but clean and functional. they also have a dining area downstairs, good yogurt and fruit. i thought it was very cheaply priced, almost a full week for what i could pay staying in San Francisco for one night. while it was a good place to stay, there were a few speed bumps. several times i couldn't find anyone who spoke English so communication was an issue, and I got the impression that they were not all that interested in listening to my concerns. they are not as well stocked as the larger hotels (could never find the one hair dryer they had). no frills hotel for a decent price.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

This is a charming hotel with nice architectural and historical value. We found the maid service to by very good. The rest of the hotel staff was week. ****if you have a rental car or any car for that matter,beware parking is expense*****They charge 8 pesos an hour! You can avoid paying by getting up early and having a staff member open up the garage for you before the attendant arrives, usually before 7am. The location is awesome (1 block away from the central plaza where everything happens in Merida). We did sleep well, the hotel good TV that kids could watch, and the swimmng pool was nice, a little too much clorine, but it worked. You get what you pay for with this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beetdiggercoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We enjoyed our stay there. It is not a luxury, but the kind of hotel I like. Its down to earth, friendly, and has a lot of character. It is VERY close to the main plaza, and has a great little place to eat just outside its doors. The top level has a great little pool and a beautiful view.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelintexas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

This hotel is in a fantastic location. It is right in the heart of Merida and as such is a good base for a trip to this city. It is not exactly luxurious! The rooms are very very basic and look like they are part of a 1970s sitcom. The bedspreads are like going back to your child hood! The bathrooms really need updating and the showers are more like a dribble! Having said that the location and the ambiance makes this a good hotel in many ways. The courtyard is lovely as is the roof top pool (it was a bit murky during our stay however) which you need as Merida is hot hot hot! Overall an eccentric and cultural hotel that I will always remember

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateLondon34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

I stayed in hotel Caribe for one night during our travels through Yucatan and Quintana Roo states in March 2010. The hotel looks great on the pictures and from a distance, reality is different. We had to park our car in a garage about 5 mins from the hotel, they told us it was free only until 7 am and then we could re-park the car to a different hotel where we would not have to pay. As we were leaving at 9 am next morning re-parking seemed like a hassle and staff at the reception said that in this case we did not have to pay the parking fee...of course the guy in the garage did not know anything and we had to pay the next morning. The superior room was very basic, outdated, hair-dryer was not working and it took ages to get enough water to flush the toilet. Breakfast was not included in the price and was not unfortunately good either. This hotel had definitely seen better times and is in urgent need for a new, proactive, management. I have only few positives to say - the location is great, you are right in the city centre, close to the main square and there is a nice view of the cathedral from the pool area. Also, it was a good initial point for our trip to Hacienda Sotuta de Peon (which I highly recommend) and Uxmal ruins.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#33 of 106 in Merida
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 106 in Merida
300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#39 of 106 in Merida
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#15 of 106 in Merida
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zamna
Hotel Zamna
#30 of 106 in Merida
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hotel

Address: And 60 St No. 500, Corner Inside Hidalgo Park, Downtown 59 St | Just Half Block From Main Square, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: $49 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a place in which for a moment you can forget of the world, and in another, realize you're still there. This double reality shakes you until the point you become addicted, in a sway of the colonial and modern styles.The beautiful musical notes of the living romantic songs will delight you every afternoon at restaurant, while you enjoy a regional dish from the extensive variety of our menu. The spectacular view of the pool, located on the third floor, will tell you about how impressive Merida is, and once you've tried to discover it by yourself, you'll never forget of the perfect location where you are, surrounded by the most touristic atmosphere of the city.The Hotel has 53 rooms; all equipped with air conditioned, wireless Internet, satellite color television, safe deposit box, amenities, hair dryer and telephones with extensions. This rooms can have 2 double beds, 3 individual beds or 1 double and 1 individual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Caribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing