We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hotel....But” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caribe Hotel
Ranked #45 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel....But”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

This is a charming hotel with nice architectural and historical value. We found the maid service to by very good. The rest of the hotel staff was week. ****if you have a rental car or any car for that matter,beware parking is expense*****They charge 8 pesos an hour! You can avoid paying by getting up early and having a staff member open up the garage for you before the attendant arrives, usually before 7am. The location is awesome (1 block away from the central plaza where everything happens in Merida). We did sleep well, the hotel good TV that kids could watch, and the swimmng pool was nice, a little too much clorine, but it worked. You get what you pay for with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beetdiggercoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    112
    79
    36
    21
See reviews for
55
110
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

We enjoyed our stay there. It is not a luxury, but the kind of hotel I like. Its down to earth, friendly, and has a lot of character. It is VERY close to the main plaza, and has a great little place to eat just outside its doors. The top level has a great little pool and a beautiful view.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelintexas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

This hotel is in a fantastic location. It is right in the heart of Merida and as such is a good base for a trip to this city. It is not exactly luxurious! The rooms are very very basic and look like they are part of a 1970s sitcom. The bedspreads are like going back to your child hood! The bathrooms really need updating and the showers are more like a dribble! Having said that the location and the ambiance makes this a good hotel in many ways. The courtyard is lovely as is the roof top pool (it was a bit murky during our stay however) which you need as Merida is hot hot hot! Overall an eccentric and cultural hotel that I will always remember

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateLondon34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

I stayed in hotel Caribe for one night during our travels through Yucatan and Quintana Roo states in March 2010. The hotel looks great on the pictures and from a distance, reality is different. We had to park our car in a garage about 5 mins from the hotel, they told us it was free only until 7 am and then we could re-park the car to a different hotel where we would not have to pay. As we were leaving at 9 am next morning re-parking seemed like a hassle and staff at the reception said that in this case we did not have to pay the parking fee...of course the guy in the garage did not know anything and we had to pay the next morning. The superior room was very basic, outdated, hair-dryer was not working and it took ages to get enough water to flush the toilet. Breakfast was not included in the price and was not unfortunately good either. This hotel had definitely seen better times and is in urgent need for a new, proactive, management. I have only few positives to say - the location is great, you are right in the city centre, close to the main square and there is a nice view of the cathedral from the pool area. Also, it was a good initial point for our trip to Hacienda Sotuta de Peon (which I highly recommend) and Uxmal ruins.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merida hotels

london
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

Arrived at 6pm on the night of the Carnival to find that the reservation we'd had made 6 weeks earlier (and apparently 30 other people) wasn't worth the deposit we had paid. No manager was available at that time and we were shuffled off to an anti-sceptic 5* (?*?)hotel 15 mins away from the action. Caribe looked like lovely old colonial style hotel on the route of the carnival (the reason we had booked that hotel in Merida). The next day having finally tracked down the manager and much arguing he finally agreed to transfer to their sister hotel (La Mision de Fray Diego) which was delightful, and at no extra cost. We had afantastic three days in Merida. Its just a shame it was marred by a hotel that doesn't seem to understand the concept of bookings. CHECK YOUR BOOKING - and go and see Merida FC!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gomezdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

I've stayed in the Caribe twice (both times in Room #2 on the bottom floor) and love the place. It's hard to say why, because if I came across a room like this in the States I'd run the other way. Yes, it's very basic, in need of upkeep and probably saw its best days (and last serious maintenance) in the 60's or 70's. But unlike other dingy hotels, it has a peculiar charm about it the same way the one-eyed bellhop has about him. The location is perfect - you don't have to leave the three or four block radius to find everything you might need (though definitely go to the market and try black turkey tacos), the zocalo is one block away, and despite the open courtyard and central location, I find it's a pretty quiet place. I didn't eat in the restaurant but either it or the one next door smelled amazing. You can book a guided tour to Uxmal and Kabah (and other sites) through the hotel for 350 pesos (not including entrance fees) as of January 2010. There are cheaper routes but the convenience of leaving from the hotel was worth it to me.

My toilet was broken, but I used the large water pitcher and the shower to fill up the tank when needed. ;)

If you're ok with musty rooms that've seen better days, I highly recommend this hotel. Also, at least in Room 2, the wireless Internet is very reliable. I downloaded a 1.3GB file in about 3 hours.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emil_J_Padar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Caribe for 3 nights recently and could not have been happier with the Hotel. Staff were efficient and friendly, our room was basic but neat and clean, the building is a beautiful colonial style, and the location was fantastic. We did have an issue with no hot water in our shower, but that was fixed as soon as we let the staff know.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#28 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#22 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zamna
Hotel Zamna
#35 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hotel

Property: Caribe Hotel
Address: 59 St and 60 St No. 500, Corner Inside Hidalgo Park, Downtown | Just Half Block From Main Square, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a place in which for a moment you can forget of the world, and in another, realize you're still there. This double reality shakes you until the point you become addicted, in a sway of the colonial and modern styles.The beautiful musical notes of the living romantic songs will delight you every afternoon at restaurant, while you enjoy a regional dish from the extensive variety of our menu. The spectacular view of the pool, located on the third floor, will tell you about how impressive Merida is, and once you've tried to discover it by yourself, you'll never forget of the perfect location where you are, surrounded by the most touristic atmosphere of the city.The Hotel has 53 rooms; all equipped with air conditioned, wireless Internet, satellite color television, safe deposit box, amenities, hair dryer and telephones with extensions. This rooms can have 2 double beds, 3 individual beds or 1 double and 1 individual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Caribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing