We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caribe Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveler rating
59
134
84
37
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
134
84
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop pooltop floorgreat locationmoney changershotel is ideally locatedsmall squarerestaurant staffinexpensive hotelmain plazacentral gardenenglish channelsrooms are smalla real bargaincolonial style hotelrestaurants within walking distancecute hotelfour star
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 339 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful square in Merida - Its an old Building with a beautiful courtyard and entry. The rooms were clean and bug free but our room was pretty small. The bathroom was interesting because you would have to jam your legs against the shower stall to be able to sit on the toilet. Very interesting layout in the bathroom. But I found the hot water plentiful and there was good water pressure.
There are safes in the rooms. There are only door handle locks in the rooms and sometimes if there was a strong wind our door would just open on its own. I was worried about it opening when we were out of the room but this never happened. Make sure your belongings are locked up just in case.
You have a great view of the cathedral at night. Its all lite up - Beautiful!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi Donna, first of all, we appreciate you have taken the time to write about your experience at the hotel, we are glad to hear, you enjoy your trip to Mérida, and you enjoy been at our hotel.

We will check on the maintenance details you have mentioned, we are working constantly to improve any detail like this, to make the hotel better for our visitors, so you can worry only about how to enjoy better your time at our City.

We hope you decide to come back to Mérida soon, and we will very pleased to see you around the hotel again.

Greetings, Hotel Caribe, Mérida, Yucatán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel has very beautiful Spanish architecture and a rooftop pool. There is a lovely open courtyard with a fountain that is surrounded on three sides by the upper level rooms. Statues of a saint are in little alcoves in the hallways and there is a mosiac of an angel on the stairs to the top floor. The ceilings on the 2nd floor are 15' high and the original woodwork surrounds the windows and doors. The room decor needs updating and the bath was small, but the value is excellent. It is only a block from the main square. Caribe is next to a very expensive hotel, but shares the same location in Hidalgo Park. You can dine on the front patio, but will be approached by vendors. Parking can be arranged. Breakfast was good. Iglesia de Jesus is accross the street, adjacent to another park. Try to see the beautiful little church when it is open. Great location and a great price for a basic clean room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viajePALZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi, first of all, we appreciate you have taken the time to write about your experience at the hotel, we are glad to hear, you enjoy your trip to Mérida, and you enjoy been at our hotel.

We hope you decide to come back to Mérida soon, and we will very pleased to see you around the hotel again.

Greetings, Hotel Caribe, Mérida, Yucatán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

You can't get a better location in Merida. The hotel is right in the center of the action. Restaurants, sites, and shops are all right out the door. The hotel has a restaurant but I didn't eat there. There is a pool, too. They also offer purified water for you to refill your water bottles.

The rooms were okay. The shower was huge but the rest of the bathroom is comically small. There is almost not enough room to sit on the toilet. Forget about changing clothes in there. The rooms have air conditioning but it sounds like a truck is driving through the room every time it cycles on.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndySD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi, first of all, we appreciate you have taken the time to write about your experience at hour hotel.

We are an historic building, so in times maintenance is a hard work; we have developed a monthly plan of maintenance, to be looking for minor fixes, to have the hotel in the best conditions for all of our visitors to enjoy the place.

We hope you come back soon to Mérida, we will be pleased to see you around, ande have you at our facilities.

Greetings, Hotel Caribe, Mérida, Yucatán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel has a great location that is close to everything. The rooms are a bit older but very quiant and spacious. The staff were very nice and the pool was refreshing. I would definately stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor next to the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyra_casaviveconfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi, we appreciate the time you take to write about your time at the hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoy your stay with us.

We hope you come back to Mérida soon, we will be happy to have you at the hotel again.

Greetings; Hotel Caribe, Mérida, Yucatán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel which is set in a square in the city of Merida is extremely good value for money and has a beautiful interior - it is a former convent and is built around a courtyard. The decor is most fitting and pleasing to the eye lending itself to the whole colonial aspect and feel of the place. The food on offer is good and the hotel is very central to the city and highlights. We stayed 2 nights to get a flavour of city instead of beach resorts and it was ideal for what we wanted. The rooms are basic but extremely clean and adequate - ideal hotel for exploring this city and not too expensive.

Room Tip: I believe, unless you order a more expensive suite, that all rooms are fine - they all surround a courtyard off of a balcony. I cannot remember if there are 2 or 3 storeys but all rooms are similar and adequate.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Jenny, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel, we are happy to hear that you had a great time in our city, and we hope you can come back soon, we will be very happy to see you again and have you here at the Hotel Caribe.

¡Greetings!
Hotel Caribe, Mérida, Yucatán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews