We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel in a great location”
Review of Caribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hotel
Ranked #40 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful square in Merida - Its an old Building with a beautiful courtyard and entry. The rooms were clean and bug free but our room was pretty small. The bathroom was interesting because you would have to jam your legs against the shower stall to be able to sit on the toilet. Very interesting layout in the bathroom. But I found the hot water plentiful and there was good water pressure.
There are safes in the rooms. There are only door handle locks in the rooms and sometimes if there was a strong wind our door would just open on its own. I was worried about it opening when we were out of the room but this never happened. Make sure your belongings are locked up just in case.
You have a great view of the cathedral at night. Its all lite up - Beautiful!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi Donna, first of all, we appreciate you have taken the time to write about your experience at the hotel, we are glad to hear, you enjoy your trip to Mérida, and you enjoy been at our hotel.

We will check on the maintenance details you have mentioned, we are working constantly to improve any detail like this, to make the hotel better for our visitors, so you can worry only about how to enjoy better your time at our City.

We hope you decide to come back to Mérida soon, and we will very pleased to see you around the hotel again.

Greetings, Hotel Caribe, Mérida, Yucatán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 317 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel has very beautiful Spanish architecture and a rooftop pool. There is a lovely open courtyard with a fountain that is surrounded on three sides by the upper level rooms. Statues of a saint are in little alcoves in the hallways and there is a mosiac of an angel on the stairs to the top floor. The ceilings on the 2nd floor are 15' high and the original woodwork surrounds the windows and doors. The room decor needs updating and the bath was small, but the value is excellent. It is only a block from the main square. Caribe is next to a very expensive hotel, but shares the same location in Hidalgo Park. You can dine on the front patio, but will be approached by vendors. Parking can be arranged. Breakfast was good. Iglesia de Jesus is accross the street, adjacent to another park. Try to see the beautiful little church when it is open. Great location and a great price for a basic clean room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi, first of all, we appreciate you have taken the time to write about your experience at the hotel, we are glad to hear, you enjoy your trip to Mérida, and you enjoy been at our hotel.

We hope you decide to come back to Mérida soon, and we will very pleased to see you around the hotel again.

Greetings, Hotel Caribe, Mérida, Yucatán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

You can't get a better location in Merida. The hotel is right in the center of the action. Restaurants, sites, and shops are all right out the door. The hotel has a restaurant but I didn't eat there. There is a pool, too. They also offer purified water for you to refill your water bottles.

The rooms were okay. The shower was huge but the rest of the bathroom is comically small. There is almost not enough room to sit on the toilet. Forget about changing clothes in there. The rooms have air conditioning but it sounds like a truck is driving through the room every time it cycles on.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndySD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi, first of all, we appreciate you have taken the time to write about your experience at hour hotel.

We are an historic building, so in times maintenance is a hard work; we have developed a monthly plan of maintenance, to be looking for minor fixes, to have the hotel in the best conditions for all of our visitors to enjoy the place.

We hope you come back soon to Mérida, we will be pleased to see you around, ande have you at our facilities.

Greetings, Hotel Caribe, Mérida, Yucatán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel has a great location that is close to everything. The rooms are a bit older but very quiant and spacious. The staff were very nice and the pool was refreshing. I would definately stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor next to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyra_casaviveconfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi, we appreciate the time you take to write about your time at the hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoy your stay with us.

We hope you come back to Mérida soon, we will be happy to have you at the hotel again.

Greetings; Hotel Caribe, Mérida, Yucatán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel which is set in a square in the city of Merida is extremely good value for money and has a beautiful interior - it is a former convent and is built around a courtyard. The decor is most fitting and pleasing to the eye lending itself to the whole colonial aspect and feel of the place. The food on offer is good and the hotel is very central to the city and highlights. We stayed 2 nights to get a flavour of city instead of beach resorts and it was ideal for what we wanted. The rooms are basic but extremely clean and adequate - ideal hotel for exploring this city and not too expensive.

Room Tip: I believe, unless you order a more expensive suite, that all rooms are fine - they all surround a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Jenny, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel, we are happy to hear that you had a great time in our city, and we hope you can come back soon, we will be very happy to see you again and have you here at the Hotel Caribe.

¡Greetings!
Hotel Caribe, Mérida, Yucatán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pros:
* Location cannot be better than this. Just at the heart of the city.
* Authentic, picturesque building. Very cute garden.
* Very helpful staff.
* Cheap and nice breakfast.
* Good price range.
* Comfy and big beds.

Cons:
* Small bathroom and a bit of furniture.
* Most of the staff do not speak English.
Overall: I would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Hi Murat, first of all, thakns for taking the time to write a list about your experience in the hotel, we appreciate your comments.

About the cons, we appreciate as well your comments, we will work on those situation to offer you an even better experience, we have to say in the matter of bathroom sizes, we are a historic building, and its because of some regulations that we cant modify the architectonic estructure.

Even this situation we have developed a maintenance plan to take care about our rooms anda have all of the in the better condition, for all our visitors to enjoy them.

We are happy to read you enjoy your stay at the hotel, and we hope your experience in the city where as good as your hotel experience.

we will be very happy to see you here again.

Greetings, Hotel Caribe, Mérida,Yucatán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great location in the middle of the old town. The parking lot they have is a bit difficult to find, but the friendly staff will help you. The colonial atmosphere is great. Nice rooms, clean ans nicely decorated. Small pool on top floor was not te clean but has great views. Many small restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floorenniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL CARIBE M, Social Manager at Caribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Hi, we appreciate the time you take to write about your experience in our hotel, we are very happy to hear that you have a great time and enjoy your visit to our city.

We also happy that your experience at the hotel was that good, ande we hope you can come back to the city soon, it would be great to have you here again.

Greetings Hotel Caribe, Mérida, Yucatán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Gran Real Yucatan
Gran Real Yucatan
#55 of 105 in Merida
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Continental
Hotel Casa Continental
#51 of 105 in Merida
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Zamna
Hotel Zamna
#28 of 105 in Merida
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#32 of 105 in Merida
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#22 of 105 in Merida
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hotel

Address: And 60 St No. 500, Corner Inside Hidalgo Park, Downtown 59 St | Just Half Block From Main Square, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: $49 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's a place in which for a moment you can forget of the world, and in another, realize you're still there. This double reality shakes you until the point you become addicted, in a sway of the colonial and modern styles.The beautiful musical notes of the living romantic songs will delight you every afternoon at restaurant, while you enjoy a regional dish from the extensive variety of our menu. The spectacular view of the pool, located on the third floor, will tell you about how impressive Merida is, and once you've tried to discover it by yourself, you'll never forget of the perfect location where you are, surrounded by the most touristic atmosphere of the city.The Hotel has 53 rooms; all equipped with air conditioned, wireless Internet, satellite color television, safe deposit box, amenities, hair dryer and telephones with extensions. This rooms can have 2 double beds, 3 individual beds or 1 double and 1 individual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Splitty, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing