We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of our 7 day Christmas break to the Yucatán”
Review of Holiday Inn Merida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Merida
Ranked #38 of 106 Hotels in Merida
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Pros
Lovely quite and pretty room
Nice balcony and outlook
Good shower pressure
Decent coffee and maker in room
Excellent service from over member of staff we encountered
Great value for money
Good location
Great margaritas in the lobby bar
Good breakfast
Extra touches for our priority club status were appreciated- welcome letter including points confirmation for stay and some fruit in the room

Cons/small niggles
Have expected there would be a mini bar in room although maybe I hadn't read the room description properly
WIFI went from amazing signal to zero and back again in seconds
Wet room shower gradient may be to steep for some guests
Coffee at breakfast could be fresher, hotter and not so weak

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENRIQUE G, Gerente at Holiday Inn Merida, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest, all equipment of this Hotel welcomes your feedback. Attend the suggestions made ​​and surely we will return to have an excellent stay with us on your next visit to our city.

Enrique Gómez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 343 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

This hotel is adequately reliable in terms of a clean, recognizable place to stay in Merida. Being a chain hotel, it obviously lacks the charm/flavor of the smaller, local hotels and inns. However, it is situated just across an intersection from a Wal-Mart, around the corner from a Starbucks. So, if you are in need of a taste of things Americana and general supplies from the box store Walmart, then this location is good. It's a pretty good hike from the historic center of town, but is do-able on foot, and certainly is just a short cab ride from the center of town. Downside of our room: the ventilation system is obviously outdated and overwhelmed by the humid Merida conditions. Our room smelled of mold and musty air, so if you have allergic reactions to mold or mildew, beware.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENRIQUE G, Gerente at Holiday Inn Merida, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped:

Muchas gracias por su comentario y reconocer nuestro servicio. Ya estamos tomando acción correctiva en el problema de condensación que se generó en la habitación que ocupó y que generó el olor a humedad. Mil disculpas por las molestias generadas.

Enrique Gómez
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is located in a nice area not too far from the city centre. The staff was very friendly. The rooms clean, the swimming pool very nice. Breakfast was a bit chaotic sometimes, not really smooth organized. The (sometimes live) music was so loud that it was sometimes difficult to have a conversation. There were some basic ingredients missing at the buffet, such as bread and butter and jam. They were all provided for when asked for, but this could take a while and the bread was not always very fresh.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corbinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENRIQUE G, Gerente at Holiday Inn Merida, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped, agradezco su tiempo en contestar la encuesta. Tomaremos mucho en cuenta los puntos que detalla para mejorarlos y seguiremos muy atentos en mantener el estándar de calidad que nos reconoce. Esperamos verlo muy pronto nuevamente.

Enrique Gómez
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I arrived very late into Merida when i stayed here, i thought i'd have trouble getting something to eat and drink once i arrived, even if the place was still open. Not having been to Merida before, i didnt know what to expect. Thankfully though, it was open, so was the bar and i was also able to get something to eat. Things were looking good! The staff at the desk were great, thankfully both girls spoke English as my Spanish wasnt very good. They could see i was tired and hungry and gave me the 'Fast Track' check-in, and i was able to sit and relax for a while enjoying a freshly made salad and beer before going up to my room. I was on the 3rd floor, the room was clean, comfortable twin Queen beds, a nice size shower well stocked with fresh towels, and all the usual stuff you would expect to see. And what i found to be really nice was a large flat screen TV, and US channels on their cable / satellite system.
Now i know a Holiday inn isnt top, top of the line but i was very surprised by how clean and well furnished this place was, the pool and its surroundings were clean and tidy, the restaurant was huge and well staffed, the food and choices i thought were first class, all cooked while you wait so there was very little sitting around to get stale. A very nice place to stay and if i ever find myself in Merida again, no question i would stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENRIQUE G, Director General at Holiday Inn Merida, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped:

Muchas gracias por su amable comentario y reconocer los servicios y calidad de atención de nuestro personal. Para todos nosotros será un placer volverlo a atender cuando nuevamente visite nuestra ciudad. Lo esperamos en esta su Casa.

Enrique Gómez
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Spend one night here on a business trip and found the location excellent but the hotel shows signs of age and the staff specially the baggage help are not very nice. Room air conditioner was disastrous; had to turn it off in the middle of the night cause noise was terrible and the thermostat didn't work. Don't rely on WiFi because connection is very tricky; had to go downstairs to finish some work requiring this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tron38us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Merida, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear tron38us,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the unusual conditions you experienced. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class service to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I was there for an international workshop and spent a very nice time at the hotel. Employees as very polite and always smiling. Food was good, rooms very clean, the business center allows you the privacy and quiet you need, and the spaces are adequate. Perhaps my only complaint are the chairs used for the event: they are quite uncomfortable after a couple of hours!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zafiro2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENRIQUE G, Gerente at Holiday Inn Merida, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped,

Muchas gracias por su comentario y el habernos considerado en su pasado viaje a esta Hermosa Ciudad. Tomaremos en cuenta su referencia sobre nuestras sillas de sesiones para darles un mejor confort.

Enrique Gómez
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while on at tour of Mayan ruins in the area. It is a very average Holiday Inn, catering mainly for businessmen rather than tourists; quite pretty on the outside and with a small outdoor pool but dark and dated on the inside. Our room was a good size with a comfortable, super king-size bed, but spoilt by the frosted glazing erected on the balcony, which should have overlooked the pool. We couldn't work out why it was there and it made the room very dark and claustrophobic. The bathroom was ok. First, we couldn't link up to the the hotel internet service, then the phone didn't work. Both were promptly fixed, but the effect was unimpressive. Trips to the reception and adjacent bar were a nightmare as both were plagued with hungry mosquitoes. Reception staff were not particularly helpful but the bar and door staff were good. Breakfast was self-service, with a good selection of hot and cold food, some cooked to order while you watched. Dinner there, one night (it was raining so we didn't want to go out) was pretty disappointing; not only was the food average but there was zero atmosphere in the almost-empty restaurant. The Holiday Inn is not centrally located; you have to take a taxi or bus to the centre, where it is more lively and interesting. However, there are plenty of shops nearby, should you need them. Personally, I wish that we had stayed somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a frosted glazed balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tellitlikeitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Merida, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Tellitlikeitwas,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation by being average. We will look into this. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Merida
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#14 of 106 in Merida
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#27 of 106 in Merida
456 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fiesta Inn Merida
Fiesta Inn Merida
#8 of 106 in Merida
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Merida

Address: Avenida Colon 498 Entre Paseo Montejo Y Calle 60 | Paseo de Montejo, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Merida
Price Range: $89 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Merida 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Always friendly and uncomplicated to suit your needs business traveler or leisure. Excellent location at Paseo de Montejo. When you arrive at Holiday Inn Merida will be greeted by our friendly staff who always ready to assist you with whatever you need Holiday Inn Merida is a comfortable hotel with all handsome rooms that will transport you to the era of the haciendas and modern facilities ideal for men and women travelling for business, vacationing with the family and for groups and conventions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Merida Hotel Merida
Merida Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing