We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel is very convenient, close to main plaza” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #29 of 103 Hotels in Merida
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“hotel is very convenient, close to main plaza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had two rooms, the first one (316) had no balcony, big enough for me, it wasnt noisy. The other room (301) with the balcony where my parents stayed, it was noisy, you can hear the people talking outside on the street at 3am. People at the front desk wasn't too friendly, bellman was nice and very helpful. The hotel is like two blocks from the main plaza, the cathedral etc, Location is great

Room Tip: i think the rooms with no balcony are nicer than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    214
    112
    27
    24
See reviews for
152
145
41
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dryden, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I have been going to Merida during the winter for several years now to get away from our cold weather in NY. We tried out the Colonial along with two other hotels. While we liked all three of the hotels we fell in love with the Colonial. It is only two blocks from the main town square, has many good places to eat nearby, as well as the best breakfast buffet in town, has a manager who speaks good English, but most of all the staff there is so warm and welcoming. While the accommodations are not fancy they are very comfortable and the people we've met there are the main reason we keep returning to Hotel Colonial.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnaD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCOLONIALMERIDA, Gerente at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Colonial for your stay in Mérida! We do our best to make sure everyone's stay at the Colonial is a pleasant one and we appreciate your comments because we want to do an even better job in the future. Mérida is a wonderful place to visit and our hotel is in the perfect place to enjoy the best of the White City. We hope that you will honor us us with another visit the next time you are in our city.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I recommend this hotel very highly. The manager speaks English and is so helpful. The staff make you feel at home. We spend 3+ months at this hotel. It is truly a home away from home. Breakfast at the hotel is good everyday. Many fine restaurants in walking distance, just two blocks from the main plaza and night life. It's just a perfect location and affordable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Darlyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a great location; it is walking distance to the main plaza. It also has a very attractive small pool. We had a room with three doubles, (doubles on the smaller side, but my husband and I could still share one bed), which was nice for our family of 4. The staff were very helpful. The one big downside, is that we were there over the weekend and it was quite noisy in the hallways of the hotel late into both nights. The sound carries a good way, in the way of having a bit of a open middle to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArletteS219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steubenville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Rather you are staying a few days or a few months, the Hotel Colonial is the perfect place for your stay in Merida. It is just two blocks from the main plaza, close to other parks, the main market, restaurants, and night life. The rooms are not only comfortable but spotless. The rooftop deck is perfect to sun in the morning and to relax in the evening with a drink. The manager, Jorge, and the bellboy, Jose, are both bilingual and go out of their way to see that your stay is all your could want.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here while we did some business at the US consulate. The hotel was great, clean with all the amenities, and each room great individual unit air conditioning, which was important since Merida is so hot. Free wi-fi in the room, albeit not super fast, was very helpful. Parking was included, even though it was two blocks away, it felt secure to leave our rental there with a very nice older gentlemen who watched the lot for the hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet not included by reasonable price. Pool was small and not a lot of places to hang out, but it was everything we needed. Price was very reasonable (we actually walked around the plaza by the cathedral and inquired about prices and looked at rooms and it was the best we found) and location was centrally located, on the same street with local artisan cooperatives and a block away from the main plaza.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Nice quiet place,good location.Rooms were clean,beds were decent.Service was great.wi-fi come with the room.There was a buffet downstairs.Staff was friendly and helpful.The pool was small but nice.We went to the store one day and got some beer and sat at the pool and had a few and no one said anything about us doing that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisa66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELCOLONIALMERIDA, General Manager at Hotel Colonial, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we hope to see you son again in Merida Yucatán.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#18 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#27 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#37 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#41 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Property: Hotel Colonial
Address: 476 Calle 62 | Entre 57 y 59, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Merida
#16 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colonial 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing