We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maria del Carmen
Ranked #53 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Chichen Itza, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is a conveniently located hotel with great front desk staff and AIR CONDITIONING. They are always willing to help you and know a lot. It's easy to walk to the main plaza, the bus station, and lots of great restaurants. Cleanliness was better on the weekends, but nothing too egregious (a hair in the bed, staff kicking my shoes under the bed and stepping on them, insect living in the toilet). If you are made nervous by such things, you may not want to stay in the rooms facing the pool. Various groups of loud young people and families frequented the pool while we were there, making the place less than romantic. It also detracted from our ability to sleep, as did random teenagers calling our room phone, though this was not the fault of the hotel. Recommended for people who are not terribly fussy and want to save money. Overall, a nice price with friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoswim56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    169
    91
    42
    43
See reviews for
158
142
39
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bari
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Location was very good. In 10 minutes you can reach the main plaza in Merida, where all the main restaturants are located.
Rooms were clean, but the shower was not working good. it was impossibile to set the right temperature and water was too much hot.
The breakfast was not included and they charged 10 US $ for person. We preferred to go in some caffe around the main plaza.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maximovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We had to stay here for 5 days due to a lost green card. We randomly found this place and were pleasantly surprised. We got the smallest room they had because we just wanted a place to crash and didn't need a hotel "experience"
But it's a pretty nice hotel anyway and the staff are excessively friendly and helpful.
It's located in an ok area. The first walk outside may make you think it's a little shady but it's not at all. It's about a 15 minute walk to the center of town.
The only negative thing is it seems to have a lot of fruit flys/Mosquitos in the lobby because it's an open air lobby. It's not the hotels fault it's just the region in general because of the agriculture. I'd take a lot of OFF creme with you but I say that in general. A large bottle if it. They attack your ankles the moment you stop moving in the lobby.
But don't let that stop you from having a great room and a GREAT price.
I'd stay here again easily. But I'd put the off on for the lobby check-in,
The American breakfast is included as well it you can pay a little extra for the a la carte. The breakfast was really great here,
It's really worth the price. It exceeded my expectations from the price we paid.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KerryChadA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a very nice stay at The Maria del Carmen and would stay again on a return trip to,Merida.Ourroom was spacious ,clean and the bed was especially comfortable.We had several meals both breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant and were very pleased with the food.Our only issue was the sketchy internet in the room but it was adequate in the lobby.
I would like to thank both Gaby and Jony for being both helpful and charming!
Would recommend staying here when in ,Merida!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Sunday morning travel to home issues stranded us in Merida another 2 days. Truly no way to leave until Tuesday morning.

Using TripAdvisor to find lodging for two nights we chose and booked Hotel Maria del Carmen.

We arrived there around 9:00 am where we met David at the Front Desk and alerted him to our needs. We left our bags with him until the 3:00 check-in time. He stated that he would work to get a room quickly, but the house was full and checkouts were slow with rooms that needing cleaning.
We waited poolside to use the internet and nap. Within an hour he sent someone to take us up to a clean quiet room.

The calm smiling problem solving in the name of hospitality earns great respect from me. Thank you David!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank clboak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed with my wife for 3 days recently.

This is an OK base for exploring Merida. It's a fairly bland motel-like place, but the rooms are adequately sized and completely functional (though note there was only a shower, no tub).

There's attended parking, and a good sized swimming pool. Restaurant serves a reasonable breakfast (not included in room rate though, by the way), which is handy because there aren't any restaurants closer than 4 blocks or so. In fact a point to note is that it IS actually 5 long blocks from the main square, so calling it "central" is just a little bit of a stretch...

We did eat dinner in the restaurant the first night because we arrived late, and I have to say the dinner service was very slow. Could use some improvement there... but of course Merida has so many restaurants that you probably wouldn't normally eat in your hotel anyway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtenkfarpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londrina, Parana, Brazil
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel aceitou reserva para 3 pessoas não só tem quarto com duas camas
Hotel anuncia que tem internet mas não funciona em todos os quartos e não se disponibilizou para trocar de quarto.
Hotel não tem telefone e serviço de quarto limitado
Hotel não fornecia toalhas extras. (3 pessoas no quarto) o hotel toda manha só dava 2 toalhas.
Elevador quebrado.

Hotel reservation for 3 people accepted not only has room with two beds
Hotel advertises that it has internet but does not work in all rooms and not made ​​available to change rooms.
We did not have telephone service and limited room
Hotel did not provide bedding. (3 people in the room) the hotel every morning gave only 2 towels.
Broken elevator.

Room Tip: Escolha outro hotel... Caso tenha algum problema neste hotel eles não irão ajudar Choose another ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merida hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Mirador
Hotel Plaza Mirador
#63 of 104 in Merida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#35 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#28 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#49 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#41 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#59 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria del Carmen

Property: Hotel Maria del Carmen
Address: Calle 63 No. 550 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#17 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maria del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maria del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Del Carmen Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing