We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Maria del Carmen
Nearby Hotels
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel del Peregrino(Merida)(Great Value!)
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$70
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luz En Yucatan(Merida)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$111
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casa del Balam(Merida)(Great Value!)
$51
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Merida Santiago Hotel Boutique(Merida)
$155
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Merida(Merida)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveler rating
181
182
100
46
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
182
100
46
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus stationfront desk staffminutes walkingwould stay here againamerican breakfastroom keyhotel is locatedthe hotel is cleantown centrefew blockspool areamain squarethe air conditioningexcellent locationjonyinternetpesos
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 556 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at Maria del Carmen for a week in late September, 2012. This is not a luxury hotel, but it has many fine features , and very reasonable rates. The rooms are large, and everything seems to work. The air conditioning and the shower were fine. There is a beautiful swimming pool. The food in the restaurant was very good for breakfast , lunch , and dinner, and the service was excellent. Manuel, Johnny, and Adan were always helpful. It is about 4 blocks from the main plaza.
I expect to stay at the Maria del Carmen on my next visit to Merida.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at that hotel, experience I would like to forget. At first we were given rooms smaller then the ones shown to us when we checked the hotel. The hotel smells from insectecides and chlorine. 7 AM we woke up from the sound of the staff shouting and the service carts grating. When asked for another pillow we were asked to wait 5 minutes but got the pillow 6 hours later after 2 more calls. In short, highly over rated and over priced hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with kingsize bed, not in the first floor which is the noisiest.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoshi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff here is amazing! They speak great English and are very helpful. They go out of there way to assist you. And they remember your name! I will stay here again for sure. And it was a short walk from the Grand Plaza.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddiFromOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

In general terms the hotel is good, they have problems with shower, but the personal are very kind, is near to the downtown, but the prices for the travels to go the nearly places to Mérida are expensive.
One of our bad experiencie was in Chichen itza because the woman in the tickets has bad actitute with the tourist, also you have to pay two times to can enter, when you can do it,, the persons that have to check our tickets are very rude, the other problems are the sales persons they are very agressive, but as soons as you can see the place, all those bad experiences are forgotten, is a mágic place, Mérida is a beautiful place

Room Tip: Prefer to ask the suite for the space and sunny
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I needed a standard business class hotel, and got a room with a filthy air conditioner that blew dirt all over the room, a shower with no hot water in the morning (the knob fell off, they sent the plumber, it took quite a while, etc, all while I was trying to get bathed and get ready for a meeting), and a dirty closet (I had to clean it myself so I could put my clothes in). The manager has refused to supply a receipt (although this is illegal) and ignores email from accounting.
Everything that could wrong, did. The staff smiled and promptly ignored all complaints.
The hotel is a little too far to walk to downtown comfortably, as the sidewalks are narrow and all the local buses blast past to the nearby bus stop.
There are many other places to stay in Merida for the same cost and better rooms.
Very unpleasant.

Room Tip: choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dude51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews