We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, magnificent city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Merida
Ranked #17 of 103 Hotels in Merida
California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel, magnificent city”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The Hyatt had all the usuals: most comfortable king sized bed you can ask for, clean room, reliable hot water and air conditioning, etc.

Great location to explore Merida. This city was the highlight of the six cities where we stayed in the Yucatan. Hyatt is right across from Paseo Montejo and a short walk to some great restaurants. There were a lot of police on the popular streets making tourists feel especially safe. Not that we wouldn't have anyway in this magnificent city.

There is a great ATM right outside of the Hyatt with a door that locks behind you - we got a good exchange rate and it was very handy.

The pool is beautiful to look at, but was too cold to use while we were there. The fitness center was top of the line.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    410
    175
    82
    37
See reviews for
277
302
58
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at the Merida Hyatt Regency for 6 nights. The first five nights we used points as my spouse is a 'gold' member and the 6th night we paid for.The hotel was immaculate. The cleaning staff does and outstanding job on rooms as well as public spaces. However I did not find the reception staff very friendly and the price for internet was outrageous at almost 40.00US for three days. (we did find a small internet cafe across the street in the Fiesta Americana property for about 2.00US for an hour) The beds were very hard and did not have a pillow top. I would stay here again if we had points to use, but I've stayed much nicer places for the same $$$'s.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 9th floor and could here the disco one night (thump thump thump) until almost 3 am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PQ1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Ranches, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Very nice hotel very friendly reception and luggage service,very ample rooms with an excellent happy hour with food on the 8 th floor ,executive level,all features such as internet,fax etc... available as well as a beutifull colonial city.one of safest city in Mexico .if not the safest.close to pyramids and good local eateries must eat Panuchos,and Salbutes very typicall and excellent.Sundays in the park are fun full of food and sidewalk shops its incredible the safety in this city of Yucatan,Mexico.10 times better then Cancun and much cheaper and safer. along the Maya Rivera.

Room Tip: High floors ,suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ape22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

buffet really good right next to Paseo Montejo lots of resturants bus routes and easy access to downtown Merida

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

A small but nice club with a lot off petit diner, big suite overlooking to Merida City, as diamond member, I have free high speed internet in all Hyatt

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DharmaCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed 9 days for a conference. Two really excellent restaurants, one Mexican/ international buffet style, one Italian. Nice bar. Bedrooms clean, capacious, comfortable firm beds, well-appointed bathrooms, adjustable air conditioning in rooms. Staff wonderful, most are completely bilingual, efficient and friendly. Great pool area. Fast elevators. Location central, with pleasant streets for walking and shopping nearby. Drawbacks: bathtub surface slippery and single grab bar set too low. Towels very scratchy (Yucatan Peninsula water is hard, but, hey, water softeners exist). Intermittent replacement of bottled water in rooms, had to phone twice for water (2 bottles a day come free with room, there is a charge for additional.) You must PAY for internet access (in-room and in business center). Also you must PAY to use the in-room coffee brewer (I saw no sign advising of this, only found out at checkout). Hotel coffee is so-so. Worst problem: temperatures vary in different areas: main restaurant too warm, main meeting room chilly and drafty; many of us caught colds. Verdict: great for honeymooners and families (especially picky eaters, food choices are great) but would not advise for business people and/or those over 70 with mobility issues.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fivecontinents5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Arrived after 11pm at the Hyatt and tried the "any chance of an upgrade as our hotel experience in Mexico hasn't been the best?" "Would you like the Presidential Suite for tonight sir?" "Yes please!" Off we went to to the Pres which was the size of a football field and almost lost each other in the bedroom. Well done that front desk manager - you made us very happy....but 2 nights would have been fabulous. Night 2 we were back in a standard room and having to contend with dozens of teenagers mooning around the corridors and generally having a great teenage time while we tried to find out if there were any floors of the hotel on which they weren't accommodated. No luck but that's what happens when you time your stay with a massive Mexican youth festival. Had a nice meal in the Italian at the Hyatt and apart from having to get the plumber in early in the morning to repair the shower in our "standard" room all was good.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Merida
Wyndham Merida
#30 of 103 in Merida
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#20 of 103 in Merida
529 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#8 of 103 in Merida
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Merida

Property: Hyatt Regency Merida
Address: Avenue Colon, Esq. Calle 60 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Merida
#9 Luxury Hotel in Merida
#10 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.Seventeen-story Hotel located in main commerical & tourist district, near archaeological sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Merida Hotel Merida
Merida Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing