We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, bad breakfast”
Review of Hotel Reforma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Reforma
Ranked #16 of 82 Merida B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place, bad breakfast”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Clean and good-sized room. Nice pool-area in the backyard. The hotel had a good atmosphere, and was a nice place to come bak to after different activities. The only thing that was not good was the breakfast. We ate late in the breakfast-hours, and there was hardly any food left. And what was left was not tempting...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adeleid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    94
    45
    19
    16
See reviews for
48
85
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Typical bare minimum amenities. Very small rooms, with very high ceilings. Concrete building. Very nice interior courtyard, where bread and coffee are served from 7-10 in the mornings. The doors are comparable to bedroom doors in a typical home, offering minimal security. There are no safes in the room, but they claim there is a safe box at the front desk if you wish to store your valuables there. You will hear every noise that occurs within the hotel. The sound reverberates throughout the building. Very hard, uncomfortable beds.

The maids begin cleaning rooms very early in the morning, they are very loud. Several times, they opened the door to my room without knocking and came in to start cleaning, around 9 am. They do not check with the desk to see if you have checked out yet. They apologize and walk out. The cleaning ladies were very polite in conversation.

The night workers may sometimes call you around 8 or 9pm and tell you that you need to pay $5-$10 USD more than you already paid. I always told them no and I will pay the day time people at checkout, if needed. They say OK and the daytime people say I don't owe anything. I stayed there for 10 nights so I got to really experience the place and observe a lot of details.

If you are looking for bare minimum on a budget, average $35USD/night online or $45-$50 if you just walk in the door, then this is a great little place. Another advantage is the location. Right in the centro next to many great restaurants, bars, clubs, etc... I highly recommend Amaro's right down the street. It has vegetarian food and was my favorite place to go.

Relax and enjoy your stay in Merida.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center. Ask to inspect your room before agreeing to it. Check it out and make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaYucatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Located in the center of Merida, Hotel Reforma is a typical Spanish style mansion with its inner courtyard where you can take your - included in the price - continental breakfast. My room was in the back of the hotel, a huge room with sky high ceiling with 2 double beds for mylself, very quiet and clean. Since it was not fully booked I also had MY terrace! Great for a smoker...

Breakfast was fine: white and brown bread, pastries, bananas, butter/jam and coffee. If you're an amateur, you can indulge yourself with a decent one at Café Habana just in front of the Reforma.

The staff was helpful and nice. Nothing outstanding but it is a regular hotel, not a chilled backpacker hostel.

I would recommend it

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madamelamarquise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

There was a bit of street noise but I could handle that. Unfortunately, the walls are paper thin and our neighbors decided to watch TV all the time. This made for a noisy few days.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentM_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerba Buena, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Reforma. It´s a very interesting colonial building with a solid construction. Our room was very nice but all those with balcony to the street are a little bit noisy (especially because many buses run along 59 st).
Breakfast was not remarkable, just to begin your day.
Ambientation was very interesting.
Location was great, just one block from zocalo, cathedral and all the main attractions of Merida´s downtown.

Room Tip: the best rooms might be backyard front ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alvarochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

My partner and I stayed here for 3 days and were delighted. The price was good. The hotel charming. The room had tall ceilings, big windows and lots of character. The staff was very helpful and patient. The pool is really nice after treking about all day in the heat. The pool was well maintained and surrounded by planters. There was a courtyard just outside our room which we had all to ourselves. (This was due to the lack of other travelers during the swine flu scare.) There was a great breakfast place around the corner , a great dinner place just down the street and the main plaza just 5 minutes walk.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#28 of 103 in Merida
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#27 of 103 in Merida
576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribe Hotel
Caribe Hotel
#43 of 103 in Merida
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reforma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reforma

Property: Hotel Reforma
Address: Calle 59 #508 | Col. Centro CP, Merida, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Reforma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Reforma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing